We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not easiy pleased.”
Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

For me, the delight of Kidron House Hotel was its warm and friendly staff. Not plastic-friendly but canny. I am always pleased when my foibles are detected and reflected. I had a good night's sleep - the ultimate test of a room. I really needed a master class in space-age toasters, but perseverance paid off. The toast was excellent. Should I pass that way again, I shall return.
Thanks Kidron.

Room Tip: Only tried one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aydnehu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Aydne,thank you for your review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so attentive.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We needed a reasonably priced room which would fit our family of five for just one night. I'm delighted to have chosen the Kidron Hotel in Irvine. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the manager. The room was very clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. It's a small and personal place in a nice area and close to the main route from Glasgow to Cairnryan. The food was good, but it really was the friendliness of the staff which sold the hotel to our family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CMLFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.We really appreciate your positive feed back and hope to see again soon.Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have stayed several times at Kildron House, usually just overnight, and have found it to be excellent value for money. We have stayed in various rooms, usually with our dog. The rooms vary quite a bit in size and style but all rooms that we have stayed in have been warm, comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Wifi connectivity is pretty good too, and free! We like being able to order our breakfast the night before as to means breakfast is served very promptly and is freshly cooked. I would recommend Kildron House to anyone who wishes to stay in Irvine in a small hotel that has some individuality.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the old house because they suit us with our dog. The courtyard rooms are also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Hi Alison,many thanks for your comments.It was great to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit here at Kidron.Our court yard rooms are always popular with pet owners and we are happy to accommodate in any way we can.All the best from The Kidron Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spotless room, lovely breakfast, friendly and courteous staff, parking on site. Our family room was a little cramped with a small en-suite shower but this did not detract from the stay. Recommended if you want a location close to the sea with easy access to Glasgow, 45 minutes. Thank you guys.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank LordofManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear,guest thank you very much for taking time out to review us.We do appreciate guest feed back.I have passed on your comments to our staff who were very happy with your comments.We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 13 th june untill the 14th June. Hotel from out side is lovely, we walked into the reception and a man came to the desk , my husband says hello,we have a booking. No hello or response and the VERY first thing he did was pick up a payment machine ans said " how are you paying ". Husband said card and paid. He then proceeded to take us to our room, we left the hotel (?) to a house over the road,climbed a curved stair case to the top of this house, which reminded me of a hostel,even tho the house ie lovely. The room was extremely small, and the smell was disgusting, a smell of sweaty bodies. I am usually quite accepting but I could not stay in there, my hubby went to spak to the staff,who, in all fairness said they would move us but not untill tomorrow to a family room. The hotel is lovely, clean. Small details should be seen to as they don't take a minute. On leaving this morning, not a word from the staff just took the keys off us, very rude, but would I stay there again, no. It was our wedding anniversary most unpleasant and To rude

Room Tip: Take a chance, they cook food in the kitchen,just behind the reception desk, door left open and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanajanet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear guest,thank you for taking time out to review us.I would however like to comment on some of the issues you have raised.
1 The staff member you described as cold towards you is the same person you had hung up the phone on earlier that day.In fact 3 different staff members complained to me about the manner they were spoken to and treated by yourself.While we will en-devour to accommodate all our guests as much as we possibly can I would like to point out they are not there to be abused.I believe you were annoyed before even arriving at the hotel as you were looking for a discount on the room which was not possible.I also was contacted by the booking agent who also was very unhappy about the way he was spoken to.
2 i am very surprised you have described our traditional sand stone annex as like a hostel.I would have to totally disagree with you.It is a fine Victorian building which has just been fully refurbished.Other guests reviews concur with our own opinion.Our executive suite is located next to the room you had and this is the most popular area of the hotel.
3 I note you said that the smell in your room was disgusting.That seems strange in light of the fact you later say the hotel is lovely and clean and you have marked us 5 out of 5 on both rooms and cleanliness.I have been informed you brought an Indian carry out in with you.Perhaps this may have infused the room but that apart I am at a loss to address this point.
All said you did not enjoy your stay and for that we are truly sorry as we always want all guests to have a positive experience.We do wish you all the very best in your future.Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

stayed at kidron on thursday, 12 june, could not fault anything, lovely clean room, with everything you need, iron,hair dryer, cofee making tray, etc,etc. had a superb evening meal served by very attentive and courtious staff, and a very appetising full scottish breakfast, would recommend kidron to anyone seeking good value!
mr and mrs coyle and mr and mrs scott

Room Tip: room 14, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seamusdog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hi Seamus,thank you your your kind comments.It was a pleasure to have you all staying with us.We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.We hope to see you back with us again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Read in the local paper that they have started doing lunch and diner so since it was local decided to give it a shot for lunch and must admit we were impressed. At lunch they do two courses for £9.95 or three for £12.95, but it was more something light we were in for so I opted for a baked potato with chilli. For only an extra pound you could add a small soup and this was a great offer and the lentil soup was delightful. The chilli had a bit of a kick to it so might not be for everybody and had plenty of kidney beans through it, but I had it served with the homemade coleslaw, which helped and I really enjoyed it. Service was a bit slow to begin with, but it may be that they are simply getting used to serving food. The toastie was also really nice and you can add chips to this for only a pound. My latte was really nice and overall a really nice visit and I could only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi Mark,thank you for taking time out to review our new lunch menu.I have passed your comments onto our chef who was delighted you enjoyed the food so much. Apologies lunch was a little slow.We now have an extra member of staff on.We would love to see you again soon and maybe you could review another of our dishes as guest feed back is very important to us.Kind regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: $62 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kidron House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing