We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have just spent three nights at kidron house,it's a charming privately owned hotel with the personal touch,we were met on Friday by Stephen who took our bags before checking us in,our stay has been made very special by the staff who go out of there way to make your stay as good as possible ,Dilip is an absolute star he is pleasant courteous and very friendly ,he is allways on hand in fact, i don't know when he sleeps.we will definitely be staying again .

Room Tip: I stayed in a front room and due to me sleeping with the windows wide open it was a bit on the noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 32jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Jenny,firstly let me say it was a pleasure to have you all staying with us.They are a great group of kids.We are glad they enjoyed their sporting event at The Magnum.We are so glad you had a good stay with us and I would like to thank you for writing such a positive review.I will pass on your comments to both Stephen and Dilip .We look forward to seeing you all again.Best wishes from all The Kidron Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    68
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
73
92
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Nice welcome to the hotel who carried the bags to the room which were more than adequate. Supply of tea/coffee, hairdryer and ironing board/iron. Shower in bathroom. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Went for dinner, all freshly cooked and delicious. Pleasant music in background. Staff were amazing, so helpful.
In the morning, tea/coffee, brown/white toast and cereal and cooked breakfast available, all very tasty.
Car parking available. Even though the hotel is about mile and half out of town, taxis were readily available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HWallace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.Its always great to hear when guests enjoy their stay so much.I have passed your comments about the food onto our chef.We like to help our customers with their luggage as often at the end of a long journey it helps make them feel at home and appreciated.We look forward to your return.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Me and my wife had an amazing night in the executive double last weekend with truly outstanding facilities. The personal sauna was amazing and something I have never encountered before and likewise the enormous spa bath (which could have easily fitted 4 people) was another fantastic unique experience. It was very much well worth what we paid for it, having apparently being significantly reduced in price (per booking.com anyway).
We were a little worried about the restaurant in case it was really expensive, but it was actually very reasonably priced and decent food. Staff were also friendly and accommodating. Anyway the bath & sauna makes the place an easy five star rating.
Only room for improvement is that there is no towel rail in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the exec room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Stephen,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.The executive is very popular and is well worth the upgrade.Best rates can always be secured by booking with ourselves direct.We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for this excellent review.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for two nights on Business in Irvine. The hotel is a couple of miles out of the city and set in a lovely location. The hotel is immaculately clean from top to bottom. There's a variety of rooms to suite every need, singles, doubles and family rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there's a real relaxed feel to the place. There's a small bar serving a couple of draft beers and a wide selection of bottle and canned alternatives. The breakfast is comprehensive to suit all tastes and is of very good quality . If I was giving this hotel a star rating it would be 4 +

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Antony,many thanks for your review.It is always appreciated when guests take time out to share their experience with us.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much.We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for your comments.Best wishes from all at Kidron House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries,scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay at the Kidron House Hotel. As soon as we arrived, we had a very warm welcome from the front of house staff.He was very polite and friendly and gave us all the information we needed.
Rooms were spotless and very comfortable.Plenty of tea/coffee etc. The radiator didn't give off a great deal of heat,so room was a touch cool. but to be fair we weren't in the room that long.
Breakfast sheet was filled out the night before and you filled out a time you would be down, which I think was a great idea, this meant you weren't waiting ,especially since it was nearly fully booked when we were there.
Breakfast itself was spot on, and plenty to choose from.
We would have no problem booking this hotel again and would definately recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popart8266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to send us your review.I am pleased everything was to your liking.It is always nice to receive such positive comments.The breakfast sheets have proved to be a great success with our guests and ensures everything is served at your preferred time freshly cooked to your individual requirements.I have looked at the radiator in your room which we found needed a slight adjustment which has now been dealt with.We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you once again..Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

very friendly and welcoming staff. the room was clean, spacious and homely. the evening meal was top notch and breakfast was amazing. their new bar was nice and relaxing place to sit and enjoy a few drinks. the atmosphere of the hotel was calm and peaceful. overall a very nice hotel will surely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Julie,thank you for your very positive review.We are so glad you had such a pleasant stay.We always want all our guests to feel relaxed and well cared for which it seems you have experienced
We look forward to seeing you again soon and wish you all the best- The Kidron Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband took me to Kidron House for my birthday as someone had recommended it to him. I was very surprised by the cleanliness and the quiet ambience, you just feel right at home here. The staff are very friendly and nothing was a bother, they were very attentive. The menu was limited but it was explained to me that they have just started catering for the wider public and are testing the waters, which is very prudent of them. The meal was beautifully presented and very pleasant on the palate so 10/10 there. The room was well decorated and clean, the bed was very comfy indeed and really felt at home, and breakfast was just how I like it . I am looking forward to my next weekend break in May and I'm sure I won't be disappointed. I would advise anyone to try out this little Gem you won't be disappointed . Well done to the staff at Kidron . Mrs Riddell

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddellbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Madge,firstly we would like to wish you a belated happy birthday.We are delighted you enjoyed your meal so much and I have passed your compliments on to the chef.As you mentioned we have just opened our new bar and restaurant area which is proving to be very popular with our customers.We are in the process of expanding both our lunch and evening meal menus which we are very confident will be a success with our clients.I am glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms too.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Fenwick Hotel
The Fenwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fenwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kilmarnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Property: Kidron House Hotel
Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidron House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing