We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

very friendly and welcoming staff. the room was clean, spacious and homely. the evening meal was top notch and breakfast was amazing. their new bar was nice and relaxing place to sit and enjoy a few drinks. the atmosphere of the hotel was calm and peaceful. overall a very nice hotel will surely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Julie,thank you for your very positive review.We are so glad you had such a pleasant stay.We always want all our guests to feel relaxed and well cared for which it seems you have experienced
We look forward to seeing you again soon and wish you all the best- The Kidron Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    68
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
73
93
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband took me to Kidron House for my birthday as someone had recommended it to him. I was very surprised by the cleanliness and the quiet ambience, you just feel right at home here. The staff are very friendly and nothing was a bother, they were very attentive. The menu was limited but it was explained to me that they have just started catering for the wider public and are testing the waters, which is very prudent of them. The meal was beautifully presented and very pleasant on the palate so 10/10 there. The room was well decorated and clean, the bed was very comfy indeed and really felt at home, and breakfast was just how I like it . I am looking forward to my next weekend break in May and I'm sure I won't be disappointed. I would advise anyone to try out this little Gem you won't be disappointed . Well done to the staff at Kidron . Mrs Riddell

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riddellbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Madge,firstly we would like to wish you a belated happy birthday.We are delighted you enjoyed your meal so much and I have passed your compliments on to the chef.As you mentioned we have just opened our new bar and restaurant area which is proving to be very popular with our customers.We are in the process of expanding both our lunch and evening meal menus which we are very confident will be a success with our clients.I am glad you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms too.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is my opinion as a traveller.Thank goodness I only stayed 1 night.the room was very small and without any drawers but there was a makeshift space to hang coats on.The bedside lamp did not work.There was no internet connection despite that being advertised .No writing materials in the guestbook,I went out for the night to a business meeting thinking i could have a drink at the bar later as the bar was open till midnight.When I arrived at 10-50 the bar was in darkness and the room locked up.After ringing the bell for 5 minutes a gentleman arrived and advised the bar was not busy and he was going home.Charming!! what kind of customer service is that.Unbelievable!!.

Room Tip: In my opinion,not a great place if you require a high level of customer satisfaction.If you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear guest,we appreciate you have taken time to review us.I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as our aim is always great customer care and a positive experience with us.I would however like to address a few points you have raised.
1 The room you booked was a single room and as such is one of our smaller rooms.The furniture is not makeshift but has been designed for purpose.There are drawers at the right hand side of the bed with 3 drawers.
2 We checked the bedside lamp and found it was unplugged but working perfectly.Free high speed broadband is available 24 hours.This does require a code which was given to you on arrival along with all other details of your stay.We are always happy to assist if any problems are found entering it but no problem was mentioned to us.We did however find that there was not a pen in your guest folder and this has now been rectified.
3 We believe the issue with the bar is where the real problem lies.I have checked footage from the CCTV and found you arrived at 11. 31PM .We also have a note in our incident book which explains service was indeed refused to you.The reason being the member of staff on duty found you had consumed a lot of alcohol prior to arriving with us and thought it unwise to serve more.Also it was noted you did not want to purchase anything from our bar area but asked to bring a bottle of your own whiskey and for the bar to be left open after midnight.This is not permitted within our licencing laws as we open from 10am till 12pm.We did offer to take glasses an ice to your room and this offer was refused.I do feel under the circumstances we did everything reasonable to accommodate you while acting responsibly within the licencing laws.The member of staff dealing with you that evening lives in house and the hotel is his home.
We apologize that your stay was not all you expected and wish you the best in your future.
Best wishes John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We came for one night for a wee break and had a fantastic stay.everything we needed plus sauna and spa bath a bonus. The man at front of house was lovely and couldn't be more helpful if he tried, the chief great also , breakfast was a treat . Will certainly come back and will recommend to friends .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anchorage24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and taking time out to review us.As always the executive room is a hit with our guests.We are delighted you enjoyed both your room and food so much.We look forward to having you again in the future.Kind regards-The Kidron Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Spotless rooms, very comfortable beds and really friendly staff. Excellent dinner In the restaurant in the evening and staff adjusted restaurant hours for us after we explained that we had to eat early to allow us to make visiting hours at the nearby hospital. (3 adults/mother-82 and daughters). Ample parking and great location for the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and very reasonable rates for the standard of rooms, breakfast and service. Chose this hotel because of the previous great reviews on tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed as it lived up to it's great reputation. Keep up the good work! Will definitely be back if we are in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Dorothy,thank you very much for your extremely positive review.We are always happy to hear that guests are enjoying our new improved facilities. Our restaurant staff are keen to accommodate whenever possible and i have passed on your feed back.We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I booked 4 rooms, for 2 nights, at the Kidron for a family wedding on 22nd Feb, 2014. It is the second time that I have stayed and on both occasions I have been more than happy with the rooms and the service. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the staff are more than happy to help and very friendly. The food was great and the bar area very comfortable and we will definitely be visiting again, very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Dawn,it was lovely to have you with us again .We really appreciate the great comments you have posted in your review.We always like to hear of guests enjoying their stay with us.Rooms and restaurant area are all newly done and I am glad they seem to have met your expectations.See you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here the first night on our way to Tenerife and also when we came back. On both occasions everything was above our expectations and we were made to feel very special. The staff were excellent and we had the opportunity to meet the owners John & Danielle who made us feel right at home. This is an excellent place to stay the food was great, the staff were extremely courteous and helpful and the accommodation was first class. We would certainly consider staying there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Richard,we really appreciate you have taken time out to give us such positive comments.It was a pleasure to meet you both.We are delighted you found the accommodation and food to be of such a high standard.We always try and make our guests feel as welcome as possible and are pleased you found our staff so friendly.We look forward to your return.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,004 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
56 reviews
5.6 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Property: Kidron House Hotel
Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidron House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing