We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dog Friendly”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great hotel, nicely situated to enable us to visit relatives in Kilmarnock and bring our dog. Fantastic friendly and helpful staff. Good clean room, warm and cosy and as it had seperate entrance on to courtyard was ideal for our dog.
Good evening meal, but limited choice, lovely breakfasts.

Room Tip: Courtyard room great for pet owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenH966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely positive review.The court yard rooms are always popular with pet owners.Our new heating system is now in place and I am delighted you found it so comfortable. Kidron is only a few minutes away from Kilmarnock so as you say its an ideal base.We look forward to seeing you again in the future.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    68
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
73
93
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Warm welcome, friendly staff and very clean. Excellent value for money especially for families with three children. Lovely breakfast with excellent service. Our next visit is already booked. Look forward to returning to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you Liz for the lovely review.We are a very family friendly hotel and are always eager to please them.I am so glad you enjoyed our food.Please let us know before you arrive with us next time and we shall see if any upgrades are available.We generally like to allocate these to our loyal repeat customers.Many thanks -John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at this hotel on Saturday 30th March 2013 and were taken to our room. At home we only have a shower room and no bath so we were a little bit disapointed that there was no bath in the room. I just mentioned this to the lady in reception and she said she would upgrade us as soon as a room became available and true to her word the next day we were given a superb toom with an enormous whirlpool bath! at no extra cost.
We will certainly be going back to this hotel in the future and woould like to say a big thank you to the staff at Kidron House hotel.
Best regards Graham & Liz Roberts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Graham,many thanks for your review.I am glad we had an upgrade available for you.If we do have availability we are happy to oblige where possible.Its great you enjoyed your Easter week end and we look forward to your return.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great place to stay overall experience excellent. Great room service and breakfast. Highly recommended travelled to numerous hotels and B&B's. Rooms where spotless, showers and facilities good. This site also has an interesting history based on the original building being transported to Japan.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstoni44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you have been kind enough to review us.Its always great to get such positive feed back.As you mentioned the building does have a very interesting background which many guests find interesting.Many thanks once again-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I used Kidron House Hotel to hold a 40th birthday party for my husband in March 2012. The staff were great and helped with the food, they even gave me a hand to put up the decorations as I was 8 months pregnant!! :-D the service was first class and a great night was had by all. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferbertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Jennifer,we really appreciate your review.We are always happy to help setting up for small functions of up to 40 people.I am glad to hear you found the staff helpful and a good night was had by all.We look forward to seeing you all again and especially look forward to meeting the new arrival.Best wishes-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Kidrons executive suite with its own jacuzzi and private sauna. All I can say is its fantastic, amazing, and incredible. The devotion from the staff here is remarkable. I would like to say a very big thank you to Dinesh for his service he is a fantastically hard worker and very polite. Thank you Kidron for a most amazing night. I would recommend this hotel even to royalty

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We really appreciate the lovely review you have left us.The executive room proves to be ever popular what ever the season.I am also delighted you found our staff to be all you expected. We look forward to seeing you again.Best wishes -John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

i stopped here for one night,and i would sooner sleep in my van.
there was a football match on i wanted to watch,but the tv signal was poor ,so i couldnt watch anything,i sat in the room twiddlin my thumbs.
the bed was that cold it was damp,i got up and got dressed ,then got back in.
the milk was sour.i couldnt fill the kettle up because it was to big to fit in the sink.
i asked 3 times for a reciept .,ill put it under the door,he replied.woke up no reciept!!.
i phoned three times the same day for it,and i still dont have it to this day.
i would never stop here again it was dreadful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank vdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to review us.Firstly I am truly sorry you did not enjoy our stay with us.I should like to deal with a few points you have raised.
1-In regards to the problem with your TV signal, we would have been very happy to have someone look at it immediately had we been informed.Also please note the TV room is available for all guests to use at any time.
2-I noted you have mentioned your room being cold.Please note we have individual thermostatic valves fitted to each radiator with in the rooms to allow guests to set the temperature to their individual requirements.
3-Concerning milk being sour it is very difficult for me to address this after the event.Had it been mentioned at the time any member of staff would have been very keen to assist you.I can say in general we are usually very aware of stock rotation and will continue to monitor it extremely closely.
4- I have asked Dinesh who you asked for the receipt about this problem.He informed me he did indeed agree to post your receipt through your door.This was done first thing in the morning at 6 am. It appears you had already left us.I must apologise for this as you should certainly have received it prior to check out.I have also seen you did call and ask for it to be sent on.The email address you have given on your check in form does not appear to be correct as the email would not send.If you could please contact us with the correct address I shall ensure it is sent off to you straight away.
I am sorry your stay was not all you felt it should have been.Still I note £35 was the price paid which i do feel is exceptional value.We are always keen that all guests have a positive experience and I am very sorry you did not feel this was the case.We continue to endeavour to improve our service at all times.Best wishes in the future. kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,004 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
56 reviews
5.6 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Property: Kidron House Hotel
Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidron House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing