We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed 30/813 - 2/9/13”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Irvine B&B and Inns
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
“stayed 30/813 - 2/9/13”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we had a wonderful time at the marina inn just had what we needed rooms where very clean and tidy would definatly use again we ate in and we ate out having fridge and microwave was a great asset was nice and quiet just what we needed and had a great view of the harbour shops just down the road an plenty to choose from well worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mo19606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    16
    0
    7
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On arrival we discovered there was no reception and couldn't get in as were never given a code for the secure entry pad on the main door. We tried phoning one of the mobile numbers on the notice but this went into voicemail. We eventually went along to a sister hotel and were given the pin code, room number and informed that our key was in the room door. The room was not of the standard we expected. The bed linen was unironed but hopefully clean, there was no complimentary tray as described but worst of all there was no carpet only what appeared to be a dirty, water-stained underlay. The room was only £35 but we have managed to stay in better quality surroundings for the same price and cheaper. The only good thing about our stay was our visit to the Ship Inn where we had a lovely meal and enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdansgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Irvine hotels

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

1st floor twin room with nice harbour view. Have stayed in this hotel quite a few times, clean and well positioned for eating out but fridge and microwave provided in rooms so can easily eat in. Not a five star establishment but not five star prices either at £35
most definitely cannot complain and will definitely be back

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view on first floor advised
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited for an overnight stay before travelling to Arran. Room was clean, good variety of amenities with the microwave and fridge. Bathroom clean too, the town itself is a little bit bare but there's a good pub near by so for a passing visit I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location by the harbour with lovely views and promenade down to the beach and an ancient gastropub and modern art centre close by. The pub was pricey but the menu was interesting, the ambience lovely and the food excellent thought hey don;t have any cask ale. See other peoples reviews on The Ship.
The Marina Inn is a budget price, £35 for an ensuite room is the standard price. That includes TV, DVD player. free wifi, hot drink making facilities, a fridge and microwave. So no breakfast but the wherewithall to have what you want when you want it which is great.
There are no staff on site and the emqail I had ben sent misinfomerd me about how to get into the property meaning we lugged our luggage round the back and up some stairs only to find the number I had been given wasn;t right for that entry. However a quick call to the mobile number soon clarified that we were actually on the ground floor and the number was correct for the main entrance. Not a big problem for us as it wqas still light and we are ablebodied but it could have been more of an issue for others.
A group of young people on some kind of group holiday were very noisy till midnight and then on their departure around 7am, with a lot of coming and going and door banging. We were unlucky in that respect. I didnt think it was too bad but my partner didnt find his bed very comfotable and the fridge made a lot of noise periodically throughout the night so neither of us slept very well. Earplugs might be a good idea.
The brown towels having bleach stains was a bit disconcerting. However we weren't expecting 5 stars and the location and facilities exceeded expectations. I doubt we would stay gain tho due the bed quality.

Room Tip: Room 4 was on the front, lovely view but near the front door which made the noise prolbem worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in family room on first floor which is a double room with adjoining twin room. Great value. Super view of harbour. Liked being able to come and go without passing via a reception. Good size tv in both rooms. Rooms cleaned daily.
Bad points: toilet small & inefficient plumbing, although shower worked well.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stopped here on a business trip. As such, I tend to arrive, drop my stuff and head out for the evening. The room was nice and clean and it's obviously not long been converted. The disadvantage of stud walls are that they don't hold the heat too well (evident in the bathroom) and noise can be heard. With respectful guests like those sharing the place with me, this wasn't a problem. That said, the room itself was warm and cosy and I had a good night sleep. What more can you ask for for £35?
I was a bit surprised not to see a reception but a later chat highlighted that it was in a building not far away (that was more an oversight on my behalf) but they came to collect my payment so I wasn't put out.
The location is great, overlooking a peaceful harbour with plenty of nice places to walk nearby. I'd definitely recommend the nearby Ship Inn as well!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room upstairs, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjgclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,003 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
293 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 110 Harbour Street, Irvine KA12 8PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing