We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, one of the best guest houses I've stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pines Guest House
Ranked #10 of 23 Elgin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The location is handy as it's on the main road to Elgin and easy to find. The house is within it's own grounds which is lovely and the entrance is very impressive. The proprieters were very friendly and accomodating. The family room was superb, and spotlessly clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom had some nice extra touches. There were even chocolates on the hospitality tray! The breakfast was abundant and very very tasty. I am a visitor to Elgin visiting famlly, and I have told them to recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting in the future. It's highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selstonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 97 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

Our son has moved to Elgin and we chose this guest house as it was within easy walking distance of his flat. What a great choice.

The location is ideal. Being set just off one of the main roads it is easy to find. The car park is well surfaced and there is ample parking. Although just off the main road our front facing room was double glazed so no problem at all with any road noise. It is just a 5 minute walk into town.

Our room was well appointed. It was a big room with a king size double and equipped with tea and coffee, Flat screen TV and en-suite shower room and wc. It was very clean.

Both our breakfasts were great and our hosts were happy for our two grown up children to join us on one morning. The black pudding was fantastic and I would go back just for the scrambled eggs!

There was a mass of information on the local area. Free wifi is offered throughout the house which was easy to access.

We were made to feel very welcome. Staying in Elgin - this is the place to choose! We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

My wife and i recently stayed in the pines guest house for three nights as a base to stay for a dolphin watching experience we'd had paid for, and what a great choice! Upon arrival we were greeted by this fantastic looking building with beautiful, immaculately kept gardens. Inside was also fantastic, lovely large reception area with a very grand looking staircase. The collection of African artifacts and photographs was very interesting to see. We had a fantastic bedroom with a four poster bed, antique furniture, ensuite shower room and tea/coffee making facilities. The attention to detail was one of the best i've ever seen. The breakfast was fantastic too! all freshly cooked local produce, and plenty of it ! Wendy was a fantastic host, who was always on hand with local information and ideas for places to visit!
Our stay at the Pines really added to the enjoyment of our break and we would have no hesitation in returning here or recommending it to someone else!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helmarCo_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

I have stayed at The PInes several times now through being in Elgin with work. The owners Wendy and Colin are friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. I have stayed in 2 different rooms, both large, comfortable and with lovely comfy beds. Both rooms have flat screen tv's, tea and coffee making facilities, thick towels and high quality bed linen. There is a good choice on the menu for breakfast and I can recommend the scrambled egg and smoked salmon. The Pines is easy to find and just minutes walk into town for a good choice of restaurants in Elgin. Elgin is a good base to explore the area and there is so much to see and something to keep everyone happy. Good selection of information in the hall in the house or ask Wendy for ideas.
The Pines is a great house and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for high standard accommodation at a value for money price.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeoniona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

The Pines is a beautiful, historic villa with a lovely garden. The house and grounds are so well cared for and retain splendid architectural detail and charm. Absolute gems. As is the most gracious and charming hostess, Wendy. A delightful lady! One is made to feel welcome. The Pines is very clean and comfortable and the rooms are beautifully decorated. Delicious breakfasts! Everything is of fine quality: Furnishings, food, linens, towels, etc. A deluxe Guesthouse at a most reasonable cost. Very convenient to the town center, as well as a good base for exploring the surrounding areas. Complimentary parking too. The Pines is perfect in every way. We are so glad we stayed. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_E_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This B&B is a gem! Waking up in a four-poster bed and looking out over the views was lovely. The gardens were full of colour and interest even in November. Breakfast was tasty and abundant, the room was a good size with everything you need, and the whole B&B is roomy and welcoming with tall ceilings and an impressive staircase. The location is also great. It was really easy to find and only a short walk into town where there is a good selection of restaurants and bars. It is also close to Elgin Cathedral, a beautiful ruin with restored viewing towers that offer great views over the town. The owners have made finding things to do very easy with a large selection of brochures for local tourist sites - and menus for local restaurants, what a treat! We're looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

A most excellent stay. Exceptionally large, well equipped and tastefully furnished room with good linen and fluffy towels. The en-suite was a good size for a B&B. Owners were helpful, and welcoming throughout my stay. Most hotels I stay in aren't his good.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hopeman
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#3 of 23 in Elgin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Guest House

Address: The Pines East Road, Elgin IV30 1XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: $90 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Guest House is a small family run B&B in an impressive Victorian mansion in historic Elgin. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, be it in the comfortable, spacious ensuite rooms to the hearty breakfast with locally sourced produce and home baked bread. Private parking. WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Guest House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing