We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint little pet friendly bothy”
other travelers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rebecca T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quaint little pet friendly bothy”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Sitting in gorgeous countryside but close to Elgin so was perfect for us. The bothy sits at the bottom of the owners huge garden but it is private and we didn't hear any noise from the owners. Perfect communication from Fiona and most importantly my dogs were allowed to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for leaving a lovely review for my future guests to read particularly as guests may be concerned that The Bothy is situated in my garden, so for them to read that it is quiet and very private will be very reassuring for them. As I say to all my guests, 'we won't disturb you but if you need me, then you know where I am'! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W
1 review
“Great place, great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is an ideal venue for 2 people looking for peace and tranquility but not too far from amenities. The Bothy has all you need for a lovely holiday and is very cosy. There are plenty of attractions within a short drive, but if beaches is your thing Roseisle is fantastic. A beautiful sandy beach with forest walks behind provides a good mix of scenery. If forest walks are your thing, then don't drive. Walk for 5 mins down the road and you have a forest on your doorstep. We walked halfway into it and back and did 8 miles so no excuses for it not being big enough. The Bothy is a great place, in a great location, with fabulous hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
I am always so thrilled when my guests take the trouble to write a review - and what a lovely review, thank you! I am delighted that you both enjoyed your break with us and I hope that we will see you both again soon. Thank you also for giving our future guests a 'taste' of what is on our doorstep as it makes a difference when they are planning their holidays to know what's on offer locally. Thank you again, kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie C
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

delightful location for peace and quiet. Close to town for shops but far enough away to be in the middle of nowhere in perfect tranquility. We only booked for a couple of nights but will definitely be back to enjoy a longer stay shortly.
Short trip to several beaches- Lossie, Findhorn or Nairn(Culben Sands) offering miles of clean open sandy beaches and clear water. Lots of fishing opportunities - both river and sea. An area steeped in history - sites all well sign posted. Culben Forest walks hold many interesting features. Hosts close at hand for any assistance required but never intrusive. Well equipped both inside and outside(BBQ and outdoor table and chairs)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay with us - we are delighted that you enjoyed it enough to consider returning and we look forward to welcoming you both back again! Thank you also for giving our future guests an idea of what is on offer locally. Hopefully see you again soon. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
I am always so grateful to my guests for taking the time and trouble to write a review so that future guests are able to get a 'feel' for The Bothy and I'm so pleased that you found it a peaceful haven after a busy day. I hope that the rest of your trip goes well and if you ever find yourselves in our area again, please come and see us! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WILLYENOC...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs and Mr”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Loved the Bothy. So private and peaceful. Jock, our wee dog, loved the huge garden. Elgin, and especially the beach at Lossiemouth were fantastic and surrounding wee towns well worth a visit. Really managed to relax and Fiona made sure nothing spoilt that for us. Her husband even stopped cutting the grass when we came home even although we said it didn't bother us. So many lovely forest walks too. Very sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet you all. Thank you for describing it so that our future guests are able to get a 'feel' of what's on offer. I'm glad that you were sad to leave as hopefully that will mean you will be back! Thank you again for taking the trouble to write a review - very grateful. Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plockwood...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfortable,well equipped little cottage in the owner's quiet peaceful garden”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We felt that we had total privacy. the bothy is well equipped and charming with excellent facilities.You have a part of the garden for your own use, and a sitting out area with barbeque. Welcoming milk and biscuits. Nice that fiona gives a written assurance that she can be called on if needed.Complete peace and quiet, no noise except the breeze and birdsong.This cosy little cottage has everything you need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for your very kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of The Bothy. I hope that we will be welcoming you back if you are in the area in the future. Thank you again. Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmaferg
Broxburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Bothy is a an amazing place to stay.We loved this cottage so much so that we have booked it again in July. Our dog Buddy loved playing with his stick in the garden.
Fiona was so nice and welcoming

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Returning guests are always the greatest recommendation of all and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you all back next month and will keep our fingers crossed for good weather so you and Buddy can enjoy the garden once again! Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing