We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and welcoming!”
other travelers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bexyboobo...
1 review
“Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved The Bothy!
Fiona was fab prior to arrival, gave lots of info before we arrived and responded quickly to emails.
On arrival, we were greeted with fresh milk and biscuits which was a lovely touch.
The cottage was warm and very clean with everything we needed for a weekend away.
Kitchen and bathroom did what we needed them too, kitchen fully equipped and bathroom warm for a morning shower!
Came away for a weekend skiing, Fiona and husband were very helpful in helping us plan routes, best slopes in the area, time it would take to get there and phone numbers to contact ski places directly to make sure they were open. Even lent us their AA route planner (thank you!)
The overall experience was very relaxing and peaceful. Perfect for a get away break from the city.
Will warn anyone though, in this techy-world we live, 3G signal is low but we were expecting this based on the location.
Well worth the price, would definitely recommend this little gem!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Thank so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to help you out with any info you needed - that's what we're here for! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us. We would be delighted to welcome you both again. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kat D
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the bothy whilst up visiting my boyfriends mum before Christmas. Our stay was absolutely perfect, we couldn't have asked for anywhere better! And our dog, Chloe, was very pleased to be able to watch the birds through the glass on the front door! We had everything we needed and Fiona was extremely friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay so much so, that we decided to stay another 2 nights!
We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to the Elgin area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that Chloe enjoyed the wildlife on offer! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and we really look forward to seeing you again soon. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby0108
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Been Better”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

An absolutely lovely spot and wonderful accommodation. Fiona was fantastically accommodating of the late arrival and had left everything ready. Perfect for the short time that we had, but would have stayed longer. Will definitely be back again. Thank you once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2014
I'm so glad that you had a good weekend with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm thrilled that you will be back - I will look forward very much to welcoming you again! Merry Xmas and all the very best for 2015! Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turktrace
coaltown of wemyss . fife
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As above , a wee gem of a place !!
Loved it , 5minutes from Elgin and the area itself directly around this bothy is so gorgeous .
Everything in the bothy is at hand and available , Fiona was lovely and gave us a warm welcome.
The bed was so comfy and main room in bothy spacious and warm .
We will most certainly be back and use again . Only issue we had was that we didn't stay longer .
Loved it !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and comfy bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you! I'm delighted that you loved it and our location. I shall look forward very much to welcoming you both again, hopefully in the not too distant future! With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
115tennen...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The "Bothy" is such a Peaceful place to stay....On our arrival Fiona made us feel very welcome.The cottage is lovely and cosy and very clean and comfortable, Especially the memory foam mattress on the bed . Lovely place to visit and plenty to do.
Anything about the area you need to find out about. nothing is to much trouble for Fiona ,She was more than happy to inform us .

Highly recommended and will be back again sometime.

Ps.Especially for the Pear tree .Yum Yum

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in our Bothy and that you found everything you needed, including the pears! You are always very welcome and I look forward to seeing you both again, perhaps with your dogs next time! Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny277...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice small Bothy, Fiona the owner very friendly nice woman,give it a go but it is small but clean and peacefull

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and thank you for choosing to stay with us. However The Bothy is advertised as suitable for 2 adults and perhaps a small child so I would always advise against 3 adults as it would be a bit of a squeeze! Many thanks again & kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaandham...
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect for a couple or small family.
Ideal for my Wife, our Husky and I whilst on the Speyside Kiltwalk.
We stayed for two nights and felt very at ease there. Lovely location, lovely welcome.
Would definitely stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a lovely review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt so at ease in The Bothy. It was lovely to meet you both and of course, Mila! And we look forward to seeing you all again. With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing