We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Elgin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Scottish Tourist Board 4 Star Property Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Scottish Tourist Board 4 Star Property
Lounge
Kitchen/Diner looking towards lounge
Kitchen/Diner looking towards utility room
Bedroom 1 as double
Bedroom 1 as twin
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2 as double
Bedroom 2 as twin
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3 as double
Bedroom 3 as twin
Bathroom 3
Utility room
WC off utility room
Lower patio
Upper patio
Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
eilzybobs
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent location beautiful house would love to go back! The house was clean and tidy and everything was in great condition, very friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. Come back again someday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experienc...
L.A.
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“5 Star accomodations at 3 star prices”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Recently spent a week at this lovely property. We travel extensively all over the World and since this was my first time in Scotland and was with a group of people, I looked for an appropriate lodging to accommodate all our needs. I was touring the Speyside whiskey country and decided to base out of Elgin. I contacted Sheila Robertson and her husband Roger and finally settled on this property. It consists of 3 bedrooms and 3 separate bathrooms with a WC also located in the utility room area. The property is fairly large and easily accommodated our 5 person adult group. One bedroom also has additional bedding area for families with kids. This property is well maintained and you can certainly see a "pride of ownership" theme throughout. The rooms are immaculate and clean, and well provisioned. The kitchen is a full kitchen with a lot of well provisioned kitchen utensils to prepare many foods and meals. Although we primarily had breakfast every morning, we also had one evening we cooked a full on rack of lamb dinner. Bought some great meat at a local butcher shop. Kitchen has a dishwasher for easy cleanup and also has coffee and tea pots. Sheila is nice enough to see that you have a basic minimum of spices and other items for your convenience. The beds were super comfortable to sleep in and each room has it's own heating radiators for comfort level. Although we were late in the year I noted the nice backyard patio with BBQ grill which I am sure gets used in summer months. The living room is large and comfortable and has a nice flat screen TV set. Kitchen area has a music setup. I can't think of anything we would have needed as Sheila has basically thought of everything to make your stay both comfortable and memorable. She even had a nice arrival note for us and a bottle of welcome wine. She is always available to answer any questions or recommendations. Only one small negative item we experienced was the WIFI was out for the last 3 days and unfortunate that we did not have email capability at the cottage to contact Roger for the fix, until our day of departure. So in closing if you come to Elgin, please try this property. It is not only clean, spacious and centrally located, you will not find a better property at her asking price. We will certainly stay at this property again on our next trip to Whiskey Country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything that a proper cottage should include
Liked least: WIFI problems
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2016
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that you would stay in the house on a reurn trip! The WiFi has been sorted and I apologise for its failure. I do hope that you will stay with me again if you come back to Speyside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqui b
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had the most wonderful surprise as we arrived at the house in Elgin. There were 6 adults and a baby in our party and we had so much room! 3 beautifully appointed large bedrooms, all with bathrooms and the living areas immaculately clean and equipped with absolutely everything we could have needed. The quality of the furnishings and equipment is of such a high standard...They have paid attentions to the finest details of this house, The owners have been attentive from booking onwards, and we felt we could have asked them for help, if we had needed it. I hope we will be able to stay there again, it represented amazing value for money too. A friend was quoted more for just 2 rooms at a local Premier Inn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We have tried to think of everything that visitors would want and appear to be doing it right! We look forward to welcoming you to the house again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: liked everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
I look forward to seeing you again - so glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NINA M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I can express enough how we have loved staying here.shella from the start was pleasure and joy to deal with.The photos do not do it justice to how beautiful,clean,modern, spacious this cottage really is and we miss being there already amazing find and our cottage as we like to call it,made our holiday the perfect break it was !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you'll come back and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIMOScotl...
SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a fantastic house - very spacious, 3 generously proportioned bedrooms (2 en suite) with a great dining kitchen and large gardens. Ideal for a large group could sleep 6+ or alternatively 3 middle aged guys on a golf trip to Morayshire! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house & garden & very spacious bedrooms,maintained to a very high standard
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay, though a little puzzled that you say only 2 of the bedrooms are en suite, as I would have said that all 3 rooms are! However, that aside, I am glad that it suited your purpose, and that you would highly recommend it to others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing