We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "Excellent" for Elgin´s Southbank Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southbank Guest House
Ranked #7 of 22 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oberasbach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An "Excellent" for Elgin´s Southbank Guest House!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

From our initial telephone enquiry to our departure, Mrs. Reid was a considerate hostess, always quick to meet the individual needs of her guests.
Lovely house, recently thoughtfully and very tastefully refurbished.
Excellent en suite bathrooms. Very comfortable beds.
Quiet location, just a stone´s throw from the town centre.
Breakfasts fresh and tasty.
Thank you, Mrs. and Mr. Reid and staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    29
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
27
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have now stayed at this guest house four times.
Always a great welcome and the staff are really nice.
The owner is lovely and always has time for you.
Great breakfasts, second to none.
Highly recommended.
The rooms are always clean and adequate.
Nicely situated for the centre of Elgin and a few hundred yards from the railway station and main road routes.

Room Tip: Room 1, very spacious, one double and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rddbranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagnacavallo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice place to stay for visiting the surroundings. Comfortable and clean room. New and big bathroom. Private parking. Good and typical breakfast. Great location in the center of Elgin. The owner was very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Arrived later in evening and was asked if I would like to have my breakfast a little later than the advertised hours! Guest house has just been refurbished and refurnished. Absolutely immaculate. Very central yet in quiet street. Plenty of free private parking. Lovely breakfast including fresh fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast choices. Would highly recommend. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 5. Brand new beds, furniture and shower room/toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Academy Street is a perfect location for the town centre. Room was clean but was absolutely freezing as heating set centrally. Came in from a night out and the heating still wasnt on so didnt sleep very well as I was cold. Also the kettle in the room kept tripping, went to the foyer and rang bell twice but no answer so had to go into town to get a hot drink. This is the only bed and breakfast I have stayed in where there was no shower gel/shampoo. Didnt really have breakfast as the waitress got my egg order wrong and by this time my husband was half way through his so her offer to change it was declined as i was already sat watching him eat his, and the sausage was of such poor quality i couldnt eat that either. Therefore for what you got in relation to a bed and a bit of breakfast £70 was quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
hi, sorry you were disappointed, we had just had a new heating system in stalled in the house and we have been having problems with the timing settings but its all sorted now, if you had looked in your cupboard you would of found a spare heater! and you could of used it, sorry about the kettle, these things happen, we have just spent £50,000 refurbishing the guest house and I think you should of given us full marks for that alone and the rooms are spotless and so clean, i remember you sulking at the dinning room table,£70 is not expensive next time you stay in Elgin try a hotel , you will get a buffet pre cooked breakfast, and some where between £90 to £195 a night , there will be a night porter, but then we are only a bed and breakfast, please do not book with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location could not be better, It's only a 3 minute walk to the city center. The building is old but charming, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is excellent with a lot of choice. Parking is no problem and free.
We liked Elgin much better than Inverness, it's not touristy at all and the people are very friendly (like almost everywhere in Scotland).
We would stay here again, hopefully soon.
Thanks Isabelle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VakantieVakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked a room for the weekend, we lived several years in elgin, knowing which hotels are up around ,without much thought we booked the room in Southbank Guest House the breakfast wonderful, kind and friendly atmosphere .very clean in rooms you can see the money invested in this hotel ,Now we live in Manchester and certainly as we will be in Elgin, we will stay in this wonderful hotel again.

Room Tip: room 1A very nice and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.3 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
424 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge Elgin
The Lodge Elgin
#8 of 22 in Elgin
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Guest House

Property: Southbank Guest House
Address: 36 Academy Street | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house, close to all amenities (walking distance) all unsuited shower rooms, tv, coffee, tea making facility, breakfast included in price. we have complimentary Wi-Fi in the annex and main house in all bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Southbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Guest House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing