We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southbank Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southbank Guest House
Ranked #6 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked to stay 3 nights in the family room with husband and 2 kids, lovely room. We needed a place to rest on a whirl wind tour of the Scottish highlands and Isobel and her team gave us a lovely warm welcome. A lovely fresh cooked veggie breakfast was served to us every morning in the comfortable dining area. Parking was easily available.

Good location for what we wanted to do:
Lock Ness
Dolphin watching on the Moray Firth
Horse riding - Cramloch Farm (2 miles from Elgin)
Ben Nevis - Bit of a drive but great not to be missed visitor attraction

We were going to go to Lossiemoth but ran out of time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fauzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
thank you for your nice review,isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
24
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights, was very nice, only 2 mins from town center and train station is a very short walking distance away, breakfast was really good, alot of choice, all staff were very friendly, good atmosphere, would defo recommend!! A**

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked on line, paid £75 per night for B&B. Disappointed from the very beginning, although the room was clean it had aged decor, shower was pitiful, shower socket light didn't accept vanity light, a couple of 2nd hand pieces of soap in the soap dish, no light bulb in large cupboard, windows disgusting with broken sash rope, staircase carpet threadbare.
The whole place could do with a makeover and lacks a friendly welcome. Breakfast was tasty, and service good.
Rather expensive for a B&B of this standard.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbankelgin, Owner at Southbank Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
sorry about the soap, southbank is over 200 years old and not modern ,maybe you should of stayed in a 5* hotel, as our rooms are reasonable in price we do not have a receptionist ,we have to leave the guest house for shopping ect, as lots of people check in early as you did with out notice, we leave keys out, check in is between 4pm and 8am unless you phone and then we will be there to greet you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here again after giving up my house to guests for my recent birthday. Can't fault the rooms or the breakfast. Isabel and Malcolm are great hosts and they have recently refurbished the garden which is a lovely place to sit and chill with a drink and a book.

Room Tip: The Annexe is still my favourite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoatsElgin_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lovely stay , clean rooms , veggie breakfast, fresh fruit salad ,we will stay here again.the guest house is in the centre of Elgin , but in a quiet street, easy to walk and the same back to the train station , nice shops and restaurants with in a couple of minutes walk, garden has a bench set so you can sit in the sun and read your kindle. Like I did

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffiebee12445688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent guest house with very clean rooms. A friendly and attentive hostess will welcome you. It is right in the centre of the town, three minutes walk from the main square. They serve delicious and various breakfasts, which can feed an elephant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viacheslav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked an overnight stay at short notice. The room was spotless with fresh decor. Beds were comfortable and an excellent, hot, freshly cooked breakfast. Excellent value for money.A warm and friendly greeting. the guesthouse is located in a quiet side road but close to the town centre. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erniew087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.2 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Guest House

Property: Southbank Guest House
Address: 36 Academy Street | Moray, Elgin IV30 1LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house, close to all amenities (walking distance) all unsuited shower rooms, tv, coffee, tea making facility, breakfast included in price. we have complimentary Wi-Fi in the annex and main house in all bedrooms, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Southbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbank Guest House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing