We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Church of Urquhart
Ranked #2 of 22 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary place to stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a really exceptional place to stay. I was there for two nights and loved everything: the great food, a unique mix of Polish and Scottish cuisine cooked by one of the owners, the great place, the wonderful scenery and the very familiar atmosphere. The meals are served at one table for all guests at the same time, so you can't avoid making new friends. Very good, very recommendable. No five star standard, but good enough in all respects and perfect in some.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtom_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    34
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
146
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a very warm and friendly welcome and this is also how the overall atmosphere can be described. The hosts were kind and gave a tour of the complete building. As churches use to be, it was a little cold and I was glad when the heating was turned on (although being in the middle of July). Anyway, our room was clean, tidy and cozy. Unfortunately there is no TV in the rooms, only in the big living room and there is no wifi either. The beds and the bathroom are very comfortable. Breakfast is served for all guests at 8am. It is very delicious (recommendation: church porridge, even for porridge haters) and you'll have the time for a nice chat with other guests (sitting at the same table).
The church is located in the fields which makes the stay very quiet and relaxating, yet Elgin is not far and there are many distilleries to see. Secret hint: Lossiemouth - only 8 miles away from the church it has a wonderful beach with sand. The Wildlife Centre in Spey Bay is also worth a visit.
A place recommendable for everyone looking for something very special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dania D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrandier, Owner at The Old Church of Urquhart, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
The Old Church of Urquhart on top of its own wee hillock is advertised as an 'island of peace' and as part of this -as mentioned on our website- '...we have - in respect to other guests - a SAT-/Digital-TV in the main lounge available but 'TV & Co' are not part of the bedroom entertainment...'

Also, WiFi is part of our offer and has reception for guarantee in the main guest lounge (depending on equipment used by guests it might be as well in bedrooms, in 2nd guest lounge and even in the apartment).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oensingen
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Church. Especially to mention is the delicious food cooked by Chris and the excellent travel advises we received from Andreas. Thanks to you two for this!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here this week, & loved it. The building is beautiful, set is a quiet field about 10 minutes from Elgin. Hosts are friendly, the room was clean and neat (and best of all, we were in the apartment portion, so we had an actual bathtub!), and the church has been carefully converted. The common room was large, with a wood stove & a great selection of whiskey. I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeltgirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It's the lovliest and nicest place to stay! Friendly and generous staff, clean rooms, quiet place. The old church is somewhere in the middle of nowhere, but that's extactly the point. If you look for something unusual outside the big touristic cities and monuments, go there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Studi722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We returned for our third visit to this wonderful and unique place at the weekend, this time coming with our three children. The Old Church is a calm and welcoming oasis and the hospitality that Andreas and Kris provide is very special - just the right balance of attentive presence and space to do your own thing - a good mingling of being there when you need them and an awareness of when you need to relax on your own. The Old Church experience embodies calm efficiency in seeing to your needs and a feeling of peace, openness and space. We arrived in the late evening. It was lovely to see the Church again, majestic on it's hill on the outskirts of Urquhart. Andreas met us at the door and showed us to our beautiful room. It is so good to have a place where TV doesn't dominate. Then we settled in the lovely lounge and Andreas brought us drinks. Next day we woke to a delicious breakfast all cooked and served by Kris, and all with a smile! The children were all completely full and happy with all the food so that was great! We can recommend the 'Church Porridge'. After wandering for a while in the beautiful Church gardens and grounds we left for a full and exciting day exploring the Moray countryside. The Old Church is an excellent and special place to stay (a bit of a retreat) and we would highly recommend it (in fact we have recommended it often!). Thank you once again Andreas and Kris! Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taucha
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had our wedding a few days ago in this extraordinary and wonderful B & B. It was our first trip to Scotland and it is unforgettable. Andreas, the proprietor was very helpful in preparation of the marriage. Both owners, Andreas and Kris, presented themselves to the ceremony as witnesses. An ascent of the tower and the ringing of the bell was a highlight of the day. The self-prepared Wedding-Dinner was excellent.
Our daughter missed this lovely place and the church-garden since we were away from there.
The rooms have their own charme, because it´s a church! We slept peaceful every night, the bathroom was perfect for preparing us for the wedding-ceremony. The breakfast was rich and varied. We were asked for personel wishes.
The next Trip to Scotland is planned and the Old Church is on of our destination.


The 3 nights at Andrew and Kris are both memorable and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
5.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
4.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
291 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
135 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
243 reviews
5.8 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Church of Urquhart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Church of Urquhart

Property: The Old Church of Urquhart
Address: Parrandier Meft Road | Urquhart, Elgin IV30 8NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Church of Urquhart 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your own little island of peace in this comfortable converted scottish church on top of its own wee hillock!The church is ideally placed inmidst Malt Whisky Country close to both, The Grampian Highlands and the sea shore of the Moray Firth with white sandy beaches and its residents, The Moray Dolphins.Dinner available at 7.00 pm under the original church ceiling; please book latest same day in the morning giving advise of any dislikes/allergies you might have because of the 3-course set menu.We are as well licensed to serve alcohol and for civil marriages (also religious, humanist and interfaith ceremonies are as well taken place here!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Church of Urquhart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Church Of Urquhart Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing