We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Somewhere I will be renting again”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chelona

Chelona
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chelona
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Chelona
Kitchen
Living room
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Rear view of cottage
Dolphin Centre in Spey Bay
Dolphins in Moray Firth
Chelona
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Doreen017...
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Somewhere I will be renting again”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked this cottage for my brother and his partner and am writing a review on their behalf' Chelona is a wonderful cottage set in a lovely area with so many places of interest on your doorstep.
The cottage was immaculate and was well equipped. I will definitely return for another visit.
A big thankyou to Ian the owner of the cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinkyDavr...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I'd thoroughly recommend this cottage. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped. I'd say the photos don't do it justice. It's a lovely mixture of traditional and modern. It is very cosy and welcoming. It also has a huge garden with seating. It's very well placed for sea, city or surrounding countryside. The owner, Ian, was very obliging with his flexibility on time. He kindly left flowers, biscuits and tea/coffee. It was nice to know he was always at the end of a text but was completely unobtrusive. This is one of the best rentals we've stayed in and we definitely will return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilda D
Perth australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bogmoor's Breath Taking Cottage”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We did not want to leave this fabulous cottage.
The owner Ian is a gem, everything was well thought out to make our stay comfortable.
Ian had the fridge stocked up with essentials for us.
We would never receive this excellent service in Australia.
We will hopefully return one day,and stay longer.
Thank-You Ian

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan H
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

we had an amazing time at Ian's place, and we are really thankful to Ian for having this opportunity, to use this place as a base for wonderful trips around in that area (lovely Beach at Lossiemouth, Noch Ness to mention just two). We stays with 2 kids for one week. The cottage is equipped with everything you need for a stay (from barbeque to dishwasher and and and). We didn't miss anything. More than enough places around to buy food and anything. The kids had fun playing football in the large garden in between. The cottage is really cosy with its rooms and of course the oven.
Thanks again Ian.
from all us 4 the best wishes
Stephan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scotland
Liked least: weather...
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louise443
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb cottage ideal for spey bay dolphin watching.”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage exceeded our expectations. It was very clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Better than some 5* cottages we have stayed in. Very good value and flexible with dates. Ian checked everything was ok and even called round on his way home from work. There is also a very big garden with outside seating. The dolphin centre is just down the road. Lots of seals a few minutes drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexander...
1 review
“Memorable break on Speyside”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have spent a lovely week on Speyside, mainly thanks to Ian's very comfortable and fully kitted out cottage, Apart from all mod cons including Wi-Fi our host had also stocked us with necesities like milk, tea coffee etc to help us settle in. The cottage is in a nice quiet corner near ample walking trails and wildlife....................brilliant. This cottage is a little gem and we will be back as soon as time allows. Thank you Ian.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonesy
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
“unmissable!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Beautiful little cottage - pictures on line don't really do it justice. Stocked with everything you could possibly need. Owner never intruded but was on the end of a text when needed. Really do recommend for a peaceful holiday - we absolutely adored it!! Really hope to come back!! It's most homely and not at all like a rental - honestly - you are so comfy - Didn't want to leave. Wish I could have given it 10 out of 5!
Want to recommend but also want to keep it a secret in case i can't get it again when I want it. FANTASTIC!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing