We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion dinner”
Review of Laichmoray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laichmoray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked single, twin and double rooms and a hall and dining area for 67 guests this past Friday 2 May. The hotel assisted us and could not be more helpful. An excellent dinner was served by efficient staff and the chef prepared a delicious meal. The bar stayed open and was well stocked with a wide variety of single malt whiskies. Rooms have been upgraded and comfortable. Good for touring and for a medium to large party

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbreast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 302 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Has character though common areas little bit faded. Recently refurbed room very nice though bathroom small if that bothers you, it doesn't me. Great lounge bar with busy atmosphere during week. Dinner and breakfast good. Staff very friendly and efficient. Overall pleasant stay. Recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank jgraemec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We keep going back for the baked potato and yellow fish mornay it is the best on the coast, I come from a fishing village and know what smoked fish is supposed to taste like and the Laichmoray have it down to a tee brilliant service and great food.
Only down point the last time we were in a gentleman in a wheelchair turned up at the back door and diners helped him in the staff never helped I thought this was in bad taste,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I chose to overnight here as it was easy to walk from the rail station. It's a stately old building, with character - it also has a lot of stairs, so if you have difficulty probably not a good idea. My room was very clean and tidy and comfortable. A nice ensuite though the shower was one of these handheld ones, so my splashes went everywhere as there is no shower curtain or screen. There was a fairly new TV, which I couldn't get to work, but that was sorted out. The annoying thing was the batteries in the remote were probably done as I couldn't change channels. A minor irritation. Breakfast was served in a nice sunny room with a good selection. There are several lounges and I had invited some colleagues to join me for coffee the following morning, which fitted in well with my plans. Compared to the usual budget hotels I use, this was a bit over priced, I felt, but I wouldn't be put off staying there again should the need arise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A quick lunch with colleagues. Short of time but hotel responded pretty well. Good basic food, not especially imaginative but good quality. Service pretty good if a little dated.

Happy to go back but not for a special meal, date or anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DonaldMurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I regularly stay at the Laichmoray hotel when working away from home on business and i cant help but feeling like its a home away from home!
the staff are all very very and accommodating, the staff at the lounge bar will always take time to chat with you and make you feel welcome.
the rooms are modern with flat screen tvs and the wifi is fine throughout the hotel.
The food menu has a lot of variety and i can honestly say i've never had a bad meal from here.
definitely a gem in the centre of Elgin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfindlay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We chose the Laichmoray Hotel as a venue for a small family gathering over Christmas and although it was last minute, Norma could not have been more helpful and attentive. We were provided with our own room off the bar area and provided with a wholesome and well priced buffet including an excellent range of cakes and scones. Our bedroom was very cosy, and spotlessly clean and had everything we required. The breakfast was lovely and on leaving our overall impression was that this family run hotel could give many of the larger hotel chains a reminder in what good old fashioned customer service is all about.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laichmoray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laichmoray Hotel

Address: Laichmoray Hotel Maisondieu Road, Elgin IV30 1QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: $102 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laichmoray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laichmoray Hotel started its life as the Great Northern Station Hotel and the Victorian building has been tastefully and continually upgraded without losing any of its character. Warmth of atmosphere is the priority of the day at the Laichmoray for business guests and those wishing to relax and discover Moray alike. We offer personal attention and a professional service second to none. The hotel has 34 bedrooms which are individually tyled, ranging from single rooms, double rooms, adjoining family accommodation to our superior doubles. Whether it's a romantic escape, family weekend getaway or a quick business stop over, we can accommodate you. All bedrooms are equipped with Tea and Coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries, telephone, hairdryer and a flat screen television with a wide range of digital channels. In the Garden Room conservatory and Restaurant, our menus offer traditional favourites alongside modern classics, cooked to order, using only the best local produce. Our comfortable lounge is ideal for morning coffees and lunchtime snacks. Relax in the evening with a glass of wine from our extensive list or one of our 130 malt whiskies. Our banqueting suite, the Maisondieu Suite, is the perfect venue for weddings, family celebrations and dinner dances. The unique split level design allows us to serve your wedding meal on the upper level and the lounge area and dance floor are available to your guests prior to and immediately after their meal. Here at the Laichmoray we have wide experience in providing quality service for large or small conferences and meetings, we will be happy to discuss your individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Laichmoray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laichmoray Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing