We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”
Review of Laichmoray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laichmoray Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days as we were up visiting family. Great hotel in a fab location! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size and ammuculate we could not fault it. One of the Receptionists phoned me to see how i was after i hadn't been well the night before, so she was phoning to see how i was and if i wanted anything. I would just like to say to the staff thanks very much for looking after me and sending me something up to eat was very nice of us :-) We would defo stay again next time we are up visiting the family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Laichmoray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A group of 10 of us went for a 60th birthday, we were seated in the "garden room". When we arrived the door was open letting a pleasant breeze through, 2 diners arrived and asked for the door to be closed. We (10 of us) asked for the door to be opened as the heat was terrible and were told the 2 diners wanted it closed so we very quickly gathered up our belongings after waiting on a meal, which quite frankly was not worth sitting through the heat for, paid our bill and left and can quite honestly say we won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhondagirvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

No real problems with this hotel but the rooms were very basic for the price.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Not a bad location close to the town centre. We did not eat here so can not comment on the food.

All reasonably clean but a bit threadbare in places.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a great hotel, staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Kerry. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking at a stay in Elgin. Good food, good service. Room was nice,clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

On arriving late on a Sunday they where able to get us a meal even though we where a bit late, my room was very clean and I found all the staff nice and polite. My room was cleaned very well every day and new towels and tea and coffee available. Breakfast was very nice in the morning everything was made to order in the mornings and didn't take to long. Happy to do wake up calls and room service if it was required.

Room Tip: Room 40 seemed a newer design than some of my colleagues
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Always go here when in elgin, never had a bad meal. Staff always lovely and friendly. Good selection on menu and well priced. Love the Cajun chicken. Nice decor. Also do a lovely high tea as well as the bar menu but better to book as can be busy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a few days of dodgy hotels in the north of our country I had one night where I had a couple of hours before bedtime so relished a nice room, I asked and I received. Staff were brilliant, I had an early start so cheese n biscuits were taken to the room and bill settled at 8pm. Fish n Chips in the conservatory were served ultra fast and it was very comfortable even for a loan eater.
Couldn't fault the rooms cleanliness or comfort of the bed, not the utmost of luxury for a romantic couples night but hit the spot. Perfect for my business trip.

Room Tip: Room 34 was at the front so on the Main Street but I didn't find it noisy through the night. Nic...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
12.6 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laichmoray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laichmoray Hotel

Address: Laichmoray Hotel Maisondieu Road, Elgin IV30 1QR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#5 Family Hotel in Elgin
#5 Business Hotel in Elgin
Price Range: $108 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laichmoray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laichmoray Hotel started its life as the Great Northern Station Hotel and the Victorian building has been tastefully and continually upgraded without losing any of its character. Warmth of atmosphere is the priority of the day at the Laichmoray for business guests and those wishing to relax and discover Moray alike. We offer personal attention and a professional service second to none. The hotel has 34 bedrooms which are individually tyled, ranging from single rooms, double rooms, adjoining family accommodation to our superior doubles. Whether it's a romantic escape, family weekend getaway or a quick business stop over, we can accommodate you. All bedrooms are equipped with Tea and Coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries, telephone, hairdryer and a flat screen television with a wide range of digital channels. In the Garden Room conservatory and Restaurant, our menus offer traditional favourites alongside modern classics, cooked to order, using only the best local produce. Our comfortable lounge is ideal for morning coffees and lunchtime snacks. Relax in the evening with a glass of wine from our extensive list or one of our 130 malt whiskies. Our banqueting suite, the Maisondieu Suite, is the perfect venue for weddings, family celebrations and dinner dances. The unique split level design allows us to serve your wedding meal on the upper level and the lounge area and dance floor are available to your guests prior to and immediately after their meal. Here at the Laichmoray we have wide experience in providing quality service for large or small conferences and meetings, we will be happy to discuss your individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Laichmoray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laichmoray Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing