We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best by far north of Glasgow”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best by far north of Glasgow”
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We have used many hotels north of Glasgow over past 5 years while visiting family - and finally - found a gem worthy of note for all travellers expecting excellent standards of ; cleanliness, customer care, quality food and table service, and everything else one would expect from such an establishment.
If in the past you have found Scottish hotels in this star rating ( or higher) a dissapointment - then here is the antidote!!!
Take note Scottish Tourist Board - these people know how to run a hotel and do it with pride. Many many thanks to all the staff - bcause knowing your staff provide the service you wish your clients to recieve is essential to success... your staff were top rate - including the housekeepin g staff too . We are in our late 50's - but anyone any age would enjoy their stay here/ Rand M Pattison

  • Liked — cleanlieness, attention to details, hygeine standards, food, comfort, service
  • Disliked — nothing was only good.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank russell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    33
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
25
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed two nights at the Elgin. Our room was very clean and spacious. Good view from balcony. Excellent, helpful and friendly service. Meals in the restaurant were fresh and tasty. A small bar off the the dining area is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

great hotel, very clean, friendly staff, hot tasty breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Liked — friendly people
  • Disliked — near a busy roundabout
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifeFifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Stayed at the Royal for the weekend with my wife and friends and we were all absolutely thrilled by our experience.
The guys played some golf at Elgin (wonderful parkland course ) and the girls did some shopping and also had a day trip to Inverness. The railway station is directly over the road from the hotel and the journey time was about 40 minutes.
The hotel is immaculate and well placed for everything and expertly run by Alan, Gwen and their excellent staff. The breakfasts were superb!!
All in all, a tremendous experience and ,in my opinion, the best hotel in Elgin that i've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesteadingbrodiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

Loved this hotel, staff all very welcoming and always happy to help. Very clean, spacious and everything you need for an overnight stay - including an ironing board and iron - very handy! We had a family room for just myself and my son so had loads of space, including a double and 2 single beds in the bedroom AND a double sofa bed in the HUGE bathroom! Breakfast was lovely and overall service excellent. Stayed for lunch the next day and this too was excellent. Very handy for the train station/Asda and a short walk to the town centre. Would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Elgin.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2006

My family and I travelled around the Highlands for the first time on a self driven car. Driving on the other side of the road, navigating through countless roundabouts can be daunting for a first timer. Our not so reliable GPS could not locate this hotel. Thanks to my temporary T-Mobile Number (Get a UK Mobile Number, truly handy in one's travelling toolkit) I phoned the hotel and they were patient in gving me directions. We stayed in the Executive Rooms which were located in a separate building from where the front desk is housed. Found the rooms very comfortable. Breakfast food was good, Dinner selections were excellent. Must try the Cullen Skink (delicious) and the Chicken stuffed with Haggis. Staff were very eager to help. Scottish Hospitality very much made manifest. There's an ASDA across and Glen Moray is within walking distance or roughly a 2 minute drive.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2006

I stayed in the Royal Hotel for 3 months due to work. Alan, Gwen and staff made our stay very enjoyable and like a second home. The food was always first class and served promptly as well as the drinks in the bar area. We made really good friends with many of the staff that work in the hotel.
I would not hesitate to recomend anyone to stay in the the royal hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scousepab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
241 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
194 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Hotel Station Road, Elgin IV30 1QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#3 Family Hotel in Elgin
#6 Business Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family run hotel was built by a whiskey baron as a private residence and dates back to the middle of the last century. Ideally situated for the Speyside whiskey trail, golfing, the Speyside way, fishing and we are a few minutes walk to Elgin's town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing