We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here a few times in the past. Nice, clean hotel, rooms are tidy and spacious. This stay was for one night on business so I wasn't too fussy about where to eat or getting a drink after dinner, just as we'll really, as on sunday the restaurant shuts at around 6pm and the bar was closed when I got back from eating in town at around 9pm. The hotel website indicates wifi throughout, not in room 11, though, I ended up using the wifi on my phone to get Internet access. The cooked breakfast in the morning was very good, as was the look of the buffet. All in all a nice place to stay, friendly and courteous staff, good service, but you'll have to walk into town for a bite to eat and a drink.

Room Tip: Room 14 is a little on the cozy side, all others that I've stayed in are quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpe554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
25
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

First time me and my friends went for lunch. Food and service first class. Jan looked after us very well. Definitely be back. choice on menu very good presentation and quality second to none. can't wait to go back for diner.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a beautiful meal with lovely friends on Sat 9th Feb. service was first class and all the staff are so nice and friendly. All courses came beautifully presented and tasted fantastic. Have now been twice and cannot find fault with anything. Will definitely be back and would say its probably the best place to eat in town.

Room Tip: I live locally so do not know what the rooms are like, but I'm sure that they must be of a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been using the restaurant at the Royal now for family meals for many years. I have nbever stayed at the Hotel. If anyone in Elgin wants to go out for a meal, this is the place toi go. It is superb. Don't bother with the bar meals, or the bar, book for the dining room. You will receive high quality service and superb food. I regualry seem to be asking for my compliments to be passed on the to the chef. Menu is imaginative, and changes regularly. They use a reliable local butcher for all their meat requirements, so you can't go wrong. The seafood is equally good. Presentation is excellent. On my last visit I had the most excellent bottle of Rioja wine, that was just fantastic value at £13.00. My advise is - Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had booked a surprise meal just before xmas for my mums birthday. There were 16 of us in total inc my 2 small children and every single person said how fantastic the meal was.We had eaten off the xmas menu which has loads of choices, somwthing for everyone. The staff were very attentive, regularly going round topping up wine glasses, even wishing my mum a happy birthday. My daughter didnt want her dinner so i asked for sausages for her instead and teh response was " not a problem we will take it out asap" and 5 mins or so later she had her sausages.

The owners are very "hands on", very proffesional indeed. They both help to serve our meal and then laterserved us drinks behind the bar.

I couldnt have asked for a better place to have my mums surprise birthday meal and i would highly recomend it.!!!!!

Big thankyou to the Royal Hotel for making my mums birthday special.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnElginQuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Was a very nice room i had at the Royal Hotel,price was very good as well.Would recommend it to my friends and family.I did not eat at the restaurant,but other guests said the food was very good.will try that next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruickshankwelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went there wice during our stay in Elgin. Enjoyed the food very much. Perfect atmosphere, a real treat. Lot's of choices on the menu, good fish, good haggis, and sumptious deserts. We only went there for dinner, did not stay, but if ever again in Elgin, this would be a place we would try to get accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Hotel Station Road, Elgin IV30 1QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#3 Family Hotel in Elgin
#6 Business Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small family run hotel was built by a whiskey baron as a private residence and dates back to the middle of the last century. Ideally situated for the Speyside whiskey trail, golfing, the Speyside way, fishing and we are a few minutes walk to Elgin's town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing