We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to play”

The PlayBarn at Greenfields
Ranked #13 of 35 things to do in Elgin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The PlayBarn is just what parents have been looking for... A premium children's soft indoor play centre, combining fantastic play facilities and a cafe on site, with a wide range of teas, coffees, refreshments and healthy food options. Here at the PlayBarn we offer a safe, clean, and stimulating facility, where we believe in interactive family play, giving adults the opportunity to play alongside with their children in a safe environment. We offer a wide range of services and facilities including.... Soft Play Structure Toddler Section Colouring Area Servery Games Room Birthday Parties Free WiFi So why not join us for some fun and adventures?
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to play”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent soft play area. Food and service good. There is a free entry offer on at the moment. Adults pay too which does increase the overall cost!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    21
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fochabers, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interactive Play”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I read the previous review with some incredulity as it seems to portray parents who play there with their kids as bordering on the negligent. I therefore feel compelled to provide an alternative view which more accurately reflects Playbarn and the play experience there for adults and kids.

Firstly let me state an interest; I am one of several parents in the local area who are frequent users of Playbarn, all of whom value the facility which compares favourably with other children’s play options in Moray (it is not in Aberdeenshire) and beyond. The author of the review below raises 2 main issues with Playbarn; child protection and child safety. With 25 years of experience in security, safety and risk management in both the RAF and civilian life and holder of a PVG clearance for sports coaching IMHO the security in the facility is more than adequate in terms of child protection. Staff-controlled booking in/out and entry/exit systems seem to work well (although they can lead to access delays at peak-periods) and there are at least 10 CCTV cameras visible (and probably more hidden?) around the interior. This is better than most play areas, swimming pools, laser quests and other facilities where families play in close proximity to each other but, as with all such facilities, it cannot reduce the risk to zero – which is where parental responsibility and supervision steps in. We all wish to keep our kids safe! So what is the problem? Well if you substitute the word “adult” with “men” in the text below then I think the agenda of the review becomes clearer and, as a father of 4 and the primary carer for the 3 kids who remain of (pre-) school age, I find that attitude fairly insulting. (Recent high-profile cases in England have shown that PVG cleared females can also be a protection risk to children). Nuff said!

In dealing with child safety the author is slightly disingenuous as to the engagement with RoSPA by stating only that they “agreed” with and “confirmed” what may well have been somewhat leading statement-questions posed by the author. It should be remembered that RoSPA and H&S organisations look to prevent any accident (clue is in the name) and look at worst case scenarios and near-zero risk. Quite right, that’s their job! However, in this case they are commenting on the severity of a hypothetical accident and not the likelihood of it occurring. An adult falling on a child may indeed have more severe consequence than a similar accident between 2 children. However, the likelihood of this happening is much reduced as the adult has greater coordination, awareness of risk and common sense and is, therefore, able to manage risk to his/her child(ren) and others in the play area. I would contend that the accident risk is therefore reduced by the presence of adults and that it is safer to have a child under close adult supervision than playing alone in a space with some children up to 8 years older than others and where some areas cannot be directly observed from the seating area; I have seen a fair few child-on-child impacts but no incidences of adult v child accidents in the play frame. In addition, the presence of adults can have a calming effect on the behaviour of the more “rowdy” older children. I would agree that it does become crowded in the play frame at peak times but it is up to parents to risk manage sensibly to ensure this remains a safe environment with no risk to the robust structure. I would assume by the good condition of the play space that there are regular and comprehensive maintenance and safety checks.

So what is Playbarn actually like? It is a clean, well-equipped and as safe-as-is-practical play area with challenging and fun areas for all ages and plenty of parking. Peak time / holiday prices are not cheap but off-peak is very good value and pre-1200 off-peak is a bargain. The staff are very friendly but can be swamped at busy times when table service suffers. The food is good with reasonable sized portions but the main meals are fairly expensive; best value is the all-day breakfast rolls or toasties/paninis and jugs of squash for the kids. The olive bowl is a tasty nibble for adults. It can get very noisy and messy at peak times and it is certainly not risk-free at any time but what do kids learn from a totally anodyne play experience? In sum: if you like your child to play in a kids-only area while you drink coffee, chat and watch them enjoy their own company there are other very good facilities in both Moray and Aberdeenshire as listed in the review below. If, however, you like to rediscover the inner child, actually play with your kids, enjoy their learning experience and have some boisterous fun then Playbarn is a good option.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank doug1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for kids.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is a great service offered at green fields.lhanbryde, it's missed by loads, and I don't know why.
Taken my son several times, he is secure, can't get out because of the secure entrance, so even when I am chasing him around he is safe. Visitors require children to enter. It's got a fantastic climbing frame, with a slide that you have to try. I would never admit trying it, but it is fantastic.

You can sit in the generous sitting area having coffee, or as I do, I meet a friend and have breakfast (ask for beans to be added, it's worth it) and we can watch our children play happy.

So if your children have some excess energy, it's not a crèche, but it's great. Enjoy a coffee while they run off all that energy. I have been to a few in Perth, Inverness, and Edinburgh, and have to y I am glad I live close to this one.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ccg186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Child protection policy???”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited this PlayBarn quite recently with our 6yr old daughter and it was extremely busy with lots of children and adults. I was alarmed to see lots of adults in the actual main part of the play-frame. All the other soft play centres that we have been to throughout Aberdeenshire do not allow adults within the playframe, except for the small part for the very young children. Given the fact that the adults have not been PVG checked, it is very concerning that they can freely roam around in the soft play area. This PlayBarn claim that they have an interactive, safe and friendly environment but I would question this because quite possibly, some adults could 'interact' with someone else's child/children whilst in this centre. There could be some adults who have convictions in relation to child protection matters. The other playbarns we have visited have signs up stating NO adults in the main part (where the older children play) and their reasoning behind this is mainly for child protection. There were adults far too close to our daughter and they came into physical contact whilst she was in there. It became so concerning that we left. I have since contacted Rospa who have advised me that their should be a child protection policy in place and that they strongly advise NO adults to be allowed in the playframe, except for the small part for young children. They also said that there is a huge danger of adults falling on top of children so the risk is far greater where adults are allowed in. Rospa also confirmed that the playbarn should limit the amount children into the playarea when there are numerous adults in because it could have an impact on weight/structure. They agreed that there could be any adult in there with child sex abuse convictions and that unsuspecting parents should be very concerned about this. When I spoke to the manager, she compared it to 'taking your child to the park'. I disagree with this. A 'safe' environment as stated on their website cannot be guaranteed when they are allowing adults in along with children. There did not seem to be anyone monitoring the amount of adults going in. Personally, I feel safer going to Tons of Fun near Turriff, Hoodles near Oldemldrum or Kool Kidz near Insch. Not only do they prevent adults from accessing the softplay, it is cheaper and none of them charge the adults an entrance fee to go into their cafeteria!!! I did not feel at all comfortable with my daughter sharing the play experience with so many adults.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fun but gets busy quickly”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recently visited this soft play with friends, on Monday - Friday, out with school holidays, if you go before 12 noon then only the adults pay, the price of which was £1 each. Not bad value £2 for 4 children and 2 adults! The food is fine and reasonably priced but the service is slow. It was a great place for the kids to run around and let off steam on a wet day but it does get busy quickly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The PlayBarn at Greenfields also viewed

 

Been to The PlayBarn at Greenfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing