We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary gift”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Husband and I , stayed here for one night , after receiving a gift from our daughter and son in law.We had a lovely afternoon in the hotels facilities , we had hot stone massages in Balance the Body, Hopi ear , swimming pool , only downside of pool was the changing area lockers , the sauna was great . Our bedroom was gorgeous , very clean , lovely bathroom , couldn't fault it . We ate at the hotel restaurant , food was delicious, and reasonably priced , our breakfast in the morning was also great , plenty to eat . The staff at the hotel were fantastic , went out their way to help , and gave us a fantastic day . The hotel is beautiful inside and out , would love to go back .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davejeanmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay on the occasion of your Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff were excellent and we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Room was well below that expected. Above the pool area it was hot, stuffy, smelt of damp and pool and, despite us being very used to hotel rooms, hindered a good nights sleep. Yes to the hotel. No to the room - number 17 I think.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear that Room 17 did not meet your expectations. Admittedly the room can be on the warm side on occasions as it is above the pool area, but we have never been advised of a damp smell from any guests or housekeeping staff. We hope that this has not put you off and that you return to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

lovely rooms, service good and very friendly staff. We did not have dinner but breakfast was first class. Public areas such need attention as carpets very worn and paint / wallpaper coming away from walls. We would return but only on a discounted deal as rack rates are not representative of the property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in September. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay but understand that some areas require attention, which are earmarked for early 2014. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was well appointed and much larger than we expected. I couldn't have asked for anything more considering the location and price. We were in Elgin for a wedding and we wanted to stay somewhere unique and this was it. The food was outstanding as well. Staff was helpful and the hotel was centrally located to all of our events and local sight seeing. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyinStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding and what a lovely building. Beautiful inside and on very lovely grounds. Stayed from the Friday till the Monday and got full use of all the facilities. Great pool facilities and really clean. Although not owned by the hotel there is a beauty and hair department. I didn't have an appointment to get my hair down for the wedding and the hairdresser fitted me :). Recommend!

However there is small negatives. Personally I felt that there was a lack of variety of alcoholic drinks that suit non- whiskey/spirit drinkers. Also though our the stay whilst in the wee bar whenever we wanted a drink we had to get the receptionist to serve us as there wasn't a permeant bar tender( understandable).

Staff couldn't do enough for us though so friendly and happy. Apart from one. A night porter we found quite rude and treated us as children. He came to us at 1.59 and said bar closes at 2, out of respect he could of said would use like a drink before the bar closes . And then stated when we asked for ice "now no carrying on and throwing about. We're in our 30s and wouldn't dare.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malibu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you felt there was a lack of variety of alcoholic drinks apart from spirits, in our opinion we have a very large selection of various alcoholic beverages and very rarely we would be asked for something that we do not stock. The wee bar is not manned as it works mainly as a dispenser bar, reception being located opposite so they can serve any guests who go in to the bar.

We are very sorry to hear that you were offended by our night porter, he has got a dry sense of humour and would not have intended to cause offence by his comment.

We sincerely hope that any of the points raised did not spoil your stay and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to the Mansion House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A lovely, romantic, Victorian B&B located in Elgin which is surrounded by Scottish whiskey distilleries. Perfect location if you are doing a tasting tour. The en-suite rooms are spacious and individually well decorated. The staff is very helpful and professional and the restaurant provides excellent Scottish food, although the wine list needs improvement. The snooker table was lots of fun.

We look forward to returning to this charming B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will pay a visit to the Mansion House Hotel on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was given a couple of nights stay as a surprise for my birthday at the beginning of august and really had a relaxing time.
The hotel is beautiful and you would not know that it is minutes from the town once you are in the grounds of the hotel.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the service at both dinner and breakfast was good and attentive.
Made use of the swimming pool and saunas, which was a nice way to end one of the day's relaxing, before going for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. It's fantastic to hear that that you had an enjoyable and relaxing time during your surprise Birthday stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mansion House in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
13.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elgin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#4 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range: $120 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing