We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Night's Stay”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As a part of a celebration of my husband birthday I decided to book the Mansion House when I found a special offer on the Hotel.
We had to travel four hours from South Scotland to get here and were far from disappointed.
We stayed in a room with the biggest bed I have seen~a sleigh bed~of the most stunning design and was so comfortable we did not want to get out it~with both loved the bed so much!
The bathroom was stunning and had a bath with overhead shower~I loved the bath and wanted to take that and the bed home with me!
The food was excellent, the staff almost like old friends~nothing was too much trouble and smiles all round.
We loved our stay and have every intention of spending two days here next time.Thank you for a perfect night!

Room Tip: Go for the room with Sleigh bed~as long as you are five feet and over you will get on to bed easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent short break. It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, we appreciate all your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you both soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 449 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here on my own on business in late January 2013. I received a friendly welcome, had a very large room with a wonderful 4-poster bed, a huge bathroom with separate bath and gigantic shower, good sized TV and kettle/tea mking facilities. Free wifi was a bonus (though it didnt work very well in the lounge). Dinner was good (the scallops starter was divine and the rest of a good standard). The gym was adequate though the pool was tired. Overall, a lovely stay and better than anywhere else Ive stayed in Elgin. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HillwalkerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Many thanks for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that on your next visit to Elgin you reside with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a lovely night at the mansion house - lovely little pool and jacuzzi which was not over run by children either. lovely traditional furnishings and some beatiful antique pieces. The staff are fantastic - true professionals, and the dinner and breakfast were outstanding. my only negative point is that some things are in need of a tickle up or fix, ie the radiator in our 4 poster room was a bit rusted looking down the front and some of the public areas need reviewd - that being said, we would definitely go back - very very comfortable..and food excellent! and the best hotel bed I have ever slept on!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you had a great time. We realise that there are certain areas of the hotel requiring some attention and this will commence in the next few months. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here last night and all I can say is everything was fantastic. The room was lovely, very clean and could not fault it. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The meal was out of this world, I haven't had such a great meal for a long long time! Already planning our next visit....

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lols91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at the weekend. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will pass your lovely comments on to all the staff concerned. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

4 of us have just been for a meal here, it was gorgeous! The meal was stunning, I had the haggis starter then roast chicken for main then sorbet for desert and every part of it was delicious! Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jaz3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your dining experience. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent dinner and hope that we may have the pleasure in welcoming you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

once again escorted my mum to her diagio xmas meal at mansion house . As usual the meal was delicious and hot , i love the silver service , waiters and waitresses were very quick at service but it didn't feel rushed and also they were very pleasant . Roll on to next years dinner

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding the recent Diageo Christmas Lunch. It's great to hear that you and your mum thoroughly enjoyed your meals. It is always a pleasure to serve the Diageo parties. Have a good Christmas and see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Myself, husband and 2 friends ate here on a saturday night.. We are all locals and had never eaten here before. The food was amazing. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the staff really could not have done more for us, they were all very polite, friendly and professional. We will definately be eating here again. Our only reccommendation would be some light background music whilst you eat...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 919Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent dining experience. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and compliments will passed to all concerned. We are sorry that the music volume was too low and will make sure that it will be at a correct level in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
13.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
0.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: $127 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing