We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is amazing...”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Myself, husband and 2 friends ate here on a saturday night.. We are all locals and had never eaten here before. The food was amazing. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the staff really could not have done more for us, they were all very polite, friendly and professional. We will definately be eating here again. Our only reccommendation would be some light background music whilst you eat...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 919Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent dining experience. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and compliments will passed to all concerned. We are sorry that the music volume was too low and will make sure that it will be at a correct level in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 460 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here on business and really enjoyed it. Room was beautiful and staff very helpful. Was leaving before breakfast started but was brought a tray to my room, with toast, juice and coffee. Very good indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwifraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had ceased to use this hotel about 5 years ago as it was 'tired'. Having recently stayed again (November 2012) I was delighted to find that after a change in ownership the hotel has been given a facelift and that the standard of accommodation has greatly improved. Well done to the new owner for retaining all the splendour of this beautiful building with a very tasteful redecoration. The refurbishment of the rooms has been excellent providing a high level of comfort. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the prices are reasonable given the standard of accommodation.
The hotel is centrally situated in Elgin with ample free parking.

Room Tip: If you are staying a few nights go for one of the superior rooms. There is a pleasant lounge area bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpeyoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. Many thanks for your very complimentary comments regarding the upgrading of the bedrooms and public rooms, they have indeed been done to a very high standard whilst in keeping with the building. Also thank you for commenting on our excellent team of staff. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Girly spa day.
I was married in this hotel and was lovely 9 years ago. Some of the hotel areas need some attention and TLC especially the spa area. This is a high rating hotel, we were given robes and plastic over lay shoe protectors (something a workman would use) to walk up to the beauty salon and used in the allocated lunch area. This hotel used to provided slipper type of shoes this was disappointing! The spa area could be cleaner!!! There was 3 of us and only one table with 2 chairs when we were not using the facilities plus no other seating areas for the other guests.
Just make sure the price is confirmed, was told £70 for 2 treatment plus lunch but it was only £7.50 towards the lunch menu.
Had a nice day but was planning back to this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary but told my husband maybe not or will view areas before booking.
Staff lovely and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Did not stay over on this occassion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your recent review regarding your Spa Day. Firstly I would like to point out that our Beauty Spa, although located within the hotel is actually a seperate business, who uses the hotel facilities for their clients so the £7.50 food allocation for lunch has nothing at all to do with the hotel. We will be speaking with the beauty spa to make sure that this is made perfectly clear in the future. With regard to the overshoes, these are kept at our pool area for customers to walk throught to the gym area, we have never offered slippers, maybe another beauty spa issue? We have noted your comments regarding the hotel itself and can assure you that it is on a constant roll of refurbishment. We hope that this experience has not put you off your intended stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for a few days as I was in the area on business and was thoroughly impressed throughout. I was given room number 24 which is on the lower level of the building, an absolutely gorgeous sizeable room with a beautiful four poster bed (a little creaky however) and very well appointed indeed. (Loved the large tv - I stay in hotels often and that's got to be one of the biggest I've had the pleasure of viewing in a hotel room).

The staff were all very friendly and always willing to help, I ate in the restaurant on my first night , and whilst the staff again were great I wasn't overly impressed with the meal itself. It was pleasant enough but certainly not memorable.

I visited the Spa area on my second night and really enjoyed using the pool and Sauna. The steam room however could do with a little bit of TLC as it looked a little dated and dirty - same for the changing rooms. The gym was surprisingly well equipped considering it's small size and had everything you could ever need for a proper cardio & weight workout.

If I am ever in the area again I will certainly be back as there really isn't anywhere in Elgin that comes close to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papac1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, but a little disappointed that your meal was not memorable, hopefully we can change that on your next visit! The leisure facilities are earmarked for refurbishment in the New Year. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 night, Bed & Breakfast, we where turing the area.
We were told at the time of booking that there were some works going on around the hotel (flood defence) but as it was the weekend so no noise or affect our stay at all.

The House itself is imposing in old baronial style.
Service at reception was superb with friendly and helpfull staff, shown to the room right away.
The room was glorious with a huge sleigh bed (think it was the old lairds room as it had a stone coat of arms within the wall). Great nights sleep !
Getting back to the hotel after driving all day, it was great to relax in the lounge for pre dinner drinks, waitress will take your order and take you and your drinks to the table, again food was superb, plenty of choice from the food menu and a great wine list too, again can not fault service from all the staff, it was quick and no fuss, we ate there both nights and would recomend even if your not staying there, after dinner retire to the "wee bar" where you can get whisky, both local and from around Scotland.

Both Friday and Saturday nights there was weddings on but we didnt hear a thing in any other part of the hotel.

Amazing Breakfest too service was quick and friendly polite staff.

A friend also stayed here and told me of the ghost LOL but no bumps in the night but to be honest it added to our stay.

We really enjoyed this hotel and we will definitely recomend it and if possible stay again, many thanks to your friendly team.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rj_watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Many thanks for your very complimentary review, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent weekend break. Your lovely comments will be passed to all of the staff concerned. We hope to see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed just one night on a tour to the north coast. From the moment we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly with the reception having a traditional Scottish feel but without the usual tackiness. Our room was excellent with a large sleigh bed and well appointed bathroom, although it lacked a light over the wash basin. The evening meal and breakfast was also excellent with faultless service and overall was great value. We were sorry to leave and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerryRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
13.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: $131 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing