We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Birthday Lunch”
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansion House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My family and I enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch yestarday at the Mansion House to celebrate my mothers birthday. The food and service was simply brilliant. Beautifully cooked, tender meat and perfect accompaniments to compliment the great service and friendly staff! We will definitely be returning to sample the dinner menu!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moray_mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your Mum's Birthday Lunch on Sunday and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    114
    46
    14
    23
See reviews for
63
198
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

The good bits:
This is a lovely hotel with a great location for the town centre. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger room which was very impressive with an extremely large bed and a separate living area with large plasma TV and sofa, they had also placed a cot in the room which we requested. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and the hotel overall had a nice feel to it.

The not so good bits:
The pool area, especially the changing rooms are very old and tired looking and in desperate need of upgrading. Also in the morning we were up early (joys of having a 2 year old) and when we went to use the pool area the pool was fine although the sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room had only just been turned on and we were unable to use these – surely they should have been switched on earlier and be useable when the place is open.

Wi-Fi was advertised however did not work in our room, when I called to ask why I was told that there were problems in some rooms. Also there was no mobile phone signal on Vodafone (I know there is not much the hotel can do about this!).

Overall an expensive but enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethcampbell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Thank you for your recent review regarding your shortbreak.

We are aware that we have a problem with the wifi connection in certain rooms and are working with our IT engineer to have this resolved by the end of this week, we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you on your stay. We also apologise that some of the leisure facilities in our health club were out of use first thing, it was due to our cleaning and sanitisation process which we have do in the quieter times, which is first thing in the morning and last thing at night. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope that we may welcome you back to the Mansion House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We have just returned from our 5th short break at the hotel.The staff are always so welcoming and friendly, the rooms are beautiful and the food and service superb.Although in a busy part of Elgin, the hotel and grounds on the banks of the river Lossie are a perfect haven of peace. Thanks again for a great 2 days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arachova27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review, thank you for your lovely comments, we are indeed ideally situated, although central, it is very peacefull and relaxing! We look forward to your 6th visit, see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Described as a hotel and country club we were quite surprised to find that the hotel is actually neighbours with a giant 24 hour Tesco and a 70s housing estate! We thought it very odd that the owners don't at least put up a big fence or hedges to disguise their unattractive neighbours as otherwise the hotel building has a lovely appearance.

We received a warm welcome and first impressions were good - the entrance, lounge and our room were nicely and I think newly decorated.

However we were very disappointed by dinner.
We had chosen this hotel based on the menu available to view online.We had taken the deal where you get 1 night free when buying 1 night dinner, bed & breakfast. The a la carte menu sounded delicious and we had already chosen what we wanted to eat from it before we came down for dinner! However once downstairs we were handed a menu which was just basic function type fayre - salmon, chicken or roast beef. My husband let the waitress know that this wasn't the menu we were expecting. She was very defensive and said that this was the residents menu. When we said this wasn't clear when we booked she said, 'That's not my department'. Hardly the most helpful response. My husband asked if we could see the other menu and we were willing to pay the extra to have it.She brought the a la carte menu over but then snatched it away, saying that as there was a function that night she wouldn't be very popular in the kitchen if she took in an order from the a la carte menu. We were very unimpressed.

We ordered our very ordinary dinner - the atmosphere in the restaurant was rather stiff and formal. The room itself hasn't had the make over that other parts of the hotel had and the decor is rather dated/tired.

On principle we decided we wouldn't eat in the hotel on our second night.

This hotel is pleasant enough as a base for exploring the Moray Firth but be wary when booking about what the menu is. Also be aware that Tesco will be your very, very close neighbour!

With some clever use of hedges, or similar, to create a more secluded feel and clearer details about the menu offer this hotel could easily be rated 4 out of 5 but as it is I can only rate it as 3.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homesweethome_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
Thank you for your recent review. With reference to the houses you pass on the driveway, I think that you may have to take in to account that on our website it states that we are only a few minutes walk from the town centre of Elgin, so a few houses may be expected? Our rooms either overlook the lawns or have river views. Any hotel that has a Dinner Bed and Breakfast Package will offer a specific Dinner menu for that rate we have never had any problems with this in the past as the quality of food offered is of an excellent standard (please refer to other trip advisor comments) . From the review it sems that you were happy with the hotel as you said you would have given us a 4 - 4.5 rating, I am sorry that we did not meet your full expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Just back from a lovely weekend celebrating parents 60th birthdays. The staff were super friendly, nothing was too much bother. Rooms were very clean and well attended. Food on both nights was first class along with the breakfasts. Toast, coffee etc in huge supply. Special thanks to Shirley who seemed to do just about everything!! Already planning next trip back. Bonus too was the swim on the Saturday, just what was needed after walking into the town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your fantastic comments! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your break with us. Yours special thanks has been passed to Shirley who is indeed an asset to our first class team. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed here as a 2 day mid-week anniversary break. Upgraded to a Superior room and couldn't have done better. Free included use of the leisure facilities and the food was first class. Only slight criticism was the length of time it took the hot water to reach the room. This is a common complaint for older Scottish country house hotels and something we have got used to. Other than that the accomodation was spotless and newly decorated to a high standard. Large flatscreen Freesat TV.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent break. We try to upgrade guests where ever we can and hope that this contributed to making your Anniversary even more special. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed at the Mansion House for four nights in a nice, quite perfectly clean and furbished large room.
The hotel is very nice, historic, yet with modern facilities. It is within a small park with parking right in front of it.
A large swimming pool and jacuzzi open until after 8 p.m.. Robes and towels were provided by the hotel
Every day tea, coffee and biscuits were providedin the room.
Breakfast was delicious with everything we could ask for ordered and freshly cooked. We had dinner both at the restaurant and at the bistro.
Delicious food, nicely prepared and served in a quiet, sophisticated atmosphere. Prices both for the room and dinners in line with the hotel.
A special mention to the very nice and helpful staff from waiters and waitresses to reception, etc, who were extremely kind and helful
and went out of their way to assist. Thanks to previous Tripadvisor reviews, overall it has been a completely positive, wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassodonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mstyson, Manager at Mansion House, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Thank you for your review regarding your recent four night break. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we really appreciate all your lovely comments, especially regarding our first class team of staff who are indeed a credit to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Property: Mansion House
Address: The Haugh, Elgin IV30 1AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elgin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elgin
#4 Family Hotel in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion House Hotel is nestled on the banks of the River Lossie within beautiful grounds,yet only a few minutes’ walk to the historical centre of Elgin.We are the perfect destination for business, pleasure or special celebration. Our 23 bedrooms and public rooms are decorated in elegant country house style.Enjoy fine dining and traditional Scottish cuisine in the surroundings of our elegant restaurant or a lighter snack in the hotel’s bistro. We only use the finest of fresh local produce.We can cater for weddings and functions up to 180 people, with menus to suit every taste and budget.Our professional team will look after your every need to make sure that your day is truly memorable.Whether it be a relaxing break or exploring trip we are ideally situated in the heart of the “Whisky and Castle Trails”. Elgin also boasts an abundance of excellent golf courses nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Elgin
Mansion Hotel Elgin
Mansion House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing