We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
$121
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel(Elgin)(Great Value!)
$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lossiemouth House(Lossiemouth)
$107
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stotfield Hotel(Lossiemouth)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastbank Hotel(Rothes)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramnee Hotel(Forres)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveler rating
252
257
172
108
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
257
172
108
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitieschanging roomsset menueasy breaksspa breakcrerar hotelbar menupublic areaslounge arearestaurant stafffirst morningshort breakbit datedbreakfast and dinnerfirst classbed and breakfastexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
449 - 454 of 865 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

just returned from a weekend break at eight acres. very pleasant helpful staff throughout the hotel. and that includes the pool and spa staff also. rooms good size and well furnished . bed very comfy, shower very good. when we seen the menu for dinner, i thought it was alittle bit fancy for my liking. although i must admit the food was first class. the menu also featured tasters, which was a small portion of various selections which included smoked venison, crayfish, asparagus velloutte( i admit i didnt know what it was, turned out it was a soup which was very good). each taster was delicious and very well presented as was each of the mains. there is a bar menu if you wish to choose off that. i honestly couldnt find fault with the eight acres at all. we will return.

Room Tip: our room was facing the front of the hotel, just above the reception area, but did not hear anything or anyone, so the sleep quality was excellent
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is the second consecutive year my family have spent Xmas at the Eight Acres Hotel, and once again our stay was excellent. This hotel offers very good value for money, especially over the festive period.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridges5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Many thanks for your review, we were delighted to welcome your family back again this year. We hope you have a great 2014 and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Decided to break with tradition in 2013 and spend Christmas away - no cooking, no washing up, no frenetic activity, etc. Selected the Eight Acres four night Christmas Break, which turned out to be a very good choice.
We arrived on a wild, wet and stormy 23rd December after a long rail journey, our initial impression was that the hotel, including the room. was somewhat cold. This was soon remedied in the room when we got the hang of the electric heater. The warmth of the staff who, without exception, were friendly, helpful and efficient more than compensated for any chilly spots around the hotel.
The room (24) was a little dated, but comfortable and spotlessly clean, with the cleanliness being maintained over the holiday period.
The food was really good, great buffet style breakfast choice, and wide choice for dinner.
The Christmas Lunch deserves special commendation, the food was superb, the service excellent and the dining suite was beautifully and tastefully decorated, quite a magical festive atmosphere which must have taken a lot or work in preparation.
Because of rail connections we had to leave early on the 27th to get 0533 train (ouch!).
Our send off, the Night Porter preparing and serving a lovely continental breakfast, set the seal to an overall wonderful stay.
The WiFi is free of charge, but quite slow and unpredictable.
Hope to vist again one fine day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AncientMariner1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review of your Christmas break with us. We do operate a rolling maintenance programme so will be sure to address your comments on room 24. As always your feedback helps us to move forward. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Absolute disgrace to charge £90 for a single room which was barely 5 x9 ft, furniture was drastically tired, only channel that worked on the TV was BBC2, shower area was standard to say the least, Bedsheets had holes in them, no work space and very little space to hang clothes and toiletries. Food and drink was ok but again overly expensive and only had eggs available for breakfast despite the price entitling to a full Scottish Breakfast. Extremely disattisfied with my one nights stay and will never be back.

Room Tip: No idea what double rooms are like but stay well clear of single rooms unless of midget size.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DumbartonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We charge £64 Bed and Breakfast for our single rooms, I am unsure where you are stating £90 from, as your account states you actually paid less than our standard rate. This rate is excellent value for money in our local market as it includes an ensuite room, full breakfast, free parking, free wifi and complimentary use of an extensive gym and swimming pool. All rooms have all freeview channels, if there were issues during your stay a quick report to reception and this would have been resolved immediately, likewise with any bedding however as our laundry is outsourced to a professional laundry company your comments are highly unlikely. With regards to breakfast we have a fully comprehensive breakfast menu available at all times during service, this includes not only the full Scottish cooked breakfast but also items such as Finnan Haddock, Smoked Salmon and French toast at no addtional charge.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at the Eight Acres for four days over Christmas. The rooms were small but spotlessly clean. The evening meals were good and the Christmas Day lunch was excellent. Only two complaints that we had was that the breakfasts were cold (it would help if the plates were kept warm), and the public areas need more heaters. Apart from that it was a good value for money break and all the staff were very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186527Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us over the festive period. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will use your constructive feedback going forward. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews