We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your money on bring a party to a party!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My work book to go here on saturday for our christmas night out and i certainly will not be going back! Yes i do understand they are catering for alot of people, but when you get a cold turkey, vegetables which were rock hard and the gravy that was like warm water. The desert was awful and was like eating cardboard. And the wine was like paint stripper....

The meal was £30 a head so you would expect a half decent meal but we were all still hungry after it.

The disco at night time was good enough....

Maybe think twice about going here for your works night out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank scotsquine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your review, we served nearly 120 meals on Saturday and our staff continually checked that guests were satisfied, we received no negative comments on our food or any other aspect of our party night. Please can you advise if you discussed with the staff on the evening? I look forward to hearing from you so we may resolve this.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
gm.eightacres@crerarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 832 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Reception reasonable. Room large and well presented but electric heating inadequate for the size. Hotel generally chilly. Food ~ Dinner and Breakfast terrible. Unimaginative soup, Ravioli inedible creme brulee should have a "crusty" top but didn't. Inattentive waiting staff. Breakfast orange juice was coloured water, inedible gloopy porridge, rock hard poached eggs. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuckingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Many thanks for your review. I am shocked by your comments as we normally receive excellent comments on our food and waiting staff. Having investigated with the waiting and kitchen teams on during your stay, we received no negative comments at all and served over 40 meals at each service, can you advise if you made the staff aware of your issues at the time?
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager
gm.eightacres@crerarhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Myself and my husband booked this hotel for a 3 night stay last month and we found it a strange combination. Our room door and the corridor which lead to it were really run down infact the door itself was all chipped paint and scratched. Then once in the room it was very nicely done nothing amazing but very clean and quite modern and the bathroom was very acceptable as well. Dinner on the first night was from the set menu and was quite nice however they had this thing about serving 3 potatoes. The second night they also served dinner with 3 potatoes and at this point I wanted to ask the chef if that was how many potatoes he would cook for himself in his house!!!! the meal itself consisted of good ingredients and was well made however I am very glad that our dinner was inclusive as the actual price was utterly ridiculous. Breakfast was nice as well and again was included in our stay but if you just wanted to have it non inclusive you would find yourself paying over £17 pounds!!!!!! I kid you not!!!!! Myself and my husband have travelled all over the world and this was so utterly ridiculous that we find ourself telling everyone about it. I mean parts of the hotel was quite run down and other parts ie the bar very nice but in no way shape or form does the hotel reflect a £17 breakfast!!!!! The potato thing has also gotten right on our nerves especially as there is no need for it. The staff were nice and the breakfast and dinner staff were especially nice. All in all this hotel is a bit of a carry on and gets some things ok and the all inclusive deals are good value especially as it includes a bottle of wine etc, However other areas are to be quite frank comical ie the prices of the food!!!!!! We wouldn't come back however we also wouldn't talk anyone else out of using it as a base just DONT go without including the dinner and breakfast you will choke on your meal as it is good but doesn't reflect the price oh and feel free to take your on bag of potatoes,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayve17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments and feedback and will pass this on to the departments. We are part of a group and menus and pricing are standardised throughout the company, I will ensure our head office is aware of your comments. We have a rolling maintenance programme operating throughout the hotel and the bedrooms and corridors will be refreshed over the winter period. Thank you once again for the review.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Can't believe the previous review of Eight Acres, as we have just returned after a 3 day break booked through Easy Breaks and thought it was wonderful food and excellent value for money. Breakfasts are simple, but more than adequate and plenty choose from, evening meals, quality and presentation could not be faulted. We have eaten in a la carte restaurants throughout the world and the food served is excellent.

No complaints about noise either, we were in Room 23 which is close by the stairs, door and had no complaints and as there were hardly any other guests in the hotel this weekend, noise levels that you expect in a hotel were low. Excellent value, excellent food, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you book through Easy Breaks.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from two nights dinner bed and breakfast, booked throu easybreaks. The staff at this place were wonderfull, helpfull, and very polite and chatty, the hotel itself was clean and tidy but the walls were PAPER THIN(probably due too the era of construction). The breakfast on the first morning was the poorest we have ever had in any hotel or b+b we have stayed in, the meal on the first evening was also of poor standard, mabye the chef just had an OFF day or two. Wouldnt rush back. A tip if you ever book this hotel, DONT STAY IN ROOM 39! Its at the junction for all the other rooms and you hear everybody passing, no matter how silent the other guests try too be.

Room Tip: Dont get room 39,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scunnercampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for your review. I was surprised to read your comments on the quality of our food, I wonder if you could email me with more specifics regarding this on gm.eightacres@crerarhotels.com so that I may address the issues with our kitchen team? I am however delighted that you found our staff pleasant and helpful.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night DBB stay with Easybreaks ( £150 a couple including a bottle of wine each night!)
All staff were very friendly and welcoming.Room quiet,warm and comfortable.Meals well cooked and presented with good choice both for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay, all feedback is important to us, its great to know how we are doing. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, we have some great deals coming up over the winter months.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent the last 3 nights at Eight Acres and had a very relaxing time. We have visited numerous 3, 4 and 5 star hotels and must comment on the excellent standard of housekeeping there which we found to be superior in every way. All the staff provided a very courteous and friendly service. The food was also excellent and well presented. We look forward to revisiting very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are delighted everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.5 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
144 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: $84 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Acres Hotel And Leisure Club
8 Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Crerar Eight Acres Hotel Leisure
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing