We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Nearby Hotels
$121
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel(Elgin)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lossiemouth House(Lossiemouth)
$108
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stotfield Hotel(Lossiemouth)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastbank Hotel(Rothes)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramnee Hotel(Forres)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveler rating
252
257
172
108
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
257
172
108
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitieschanging roomsset menueasy breaksspa breakcrerar hotelbar menupublic areaslounge arearestaurant stafffirst morningshort breakbit datedbreakfast and dinnerfirst classbed and breakfastexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 865 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We arrived at hotel on Monday 28th March, girl at chichi in was very friendly, turns out she was the manager. Our room was clean and of adequate size, and had a great deep bath and shower, the lounge and dining room is run by a young man called Tom, who is a very good host, nothing appears to be any trouble to him at all, the food in the restaurant is first class and portions very generous. Overall we had a fabulous time in this hotel, and will return.
A3Doh

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A3DOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I can only say our stay for three nights was outstanding. I moved away from Elgin in 1986 having been born and brought up there this was a fond return
On arrival we were met at reception by Melissa who gave us an excellent briefing on what was available to us Meal times, Bar Menu. and the use of the lesure Club. She answered several questions we had and resolved quickly a problem i had encounterd on pre-booking.

The bedroom was bright and clean, the bed was very comfortable, it was a cosy room with tastefull decor.
We heard nobody in the surrounding rooms in our three nights, and we know people were resident as we passed in the corridor. The Television had a variation of free view channels ,tea and coffee facilities in the room,hair dryer, Iron and Ironing board was available. WiFi was excellent
The bathroom was of a good size very deep bath after a day in the mountains eased the aches, the shower was invigirating.
The restaurant over our three days was supervised by a very enthusiastic young man called Tom he took time and interacted at breakfast and during the evening meal with everyone he was dealing with. He was discreet but very accomadating to our needs, this of course made it easier to enjoy the experince in particular the 3 course evening meal we were served each night with local produce which was served to an excellent standard.
We went for one swim during our stay the pool was small in size but adequate for what we needed the changing rooms were of the highest standard good sized lockers, showers and changing locker.
I was proud to return to Elgin and thanks to the the Eight Acres Hotel and the staff they made this break a memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlz who do holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at Eight Acres Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, especially Melissa and Tom, contributed to your enjoyment. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Having visited several Crerar hotels before, we decided to venture further north to try the Eight Acres.
We had received vouchers through the post so decided to use them for a valentines weekend. When online the booking would not process after several attempts so we phoned the company who said they would take the booking over the phone. We asked at this point if it was still OK to use our vouchers and they said yes and just to hand them over on arrival. When going to book our treatments we were told there was no beauty therapist that weekend (valentines) but we could get a treatment on the monday when we leave. So much for a hotel and spa.

After a 4 hour journey we arrived to be told our total amount was £310. At first we discovered they had booked us for 3 nights instead of 2 and then they had not charged us internet rates as originally agreed. After getting the person in charge, this was changed on our bill.

Room was fine, very cold but heated up once we put heater on for an hour.

We decided to book dinner at the hotel as we had a steak and wine voucher. When we went for dinner we were handed a menu with a choice of 3 starters mains and deserts. The bottom of the menu said to ask for the A La carte menu but when we asked we were told there was no A La Carte menu.
As nothing appealed on the small menu we ended up ordering the hot food from the bar menu. Fish n Chips. when looking around I could see a lot of miffed couples who also asked for an a la carte menu. Only one bar staff at night also running the reception. Cocktail menu at bar then was told they didnt do cocktails despite all the ingredients for a mojito being right in front of my nose.

Our treatments on the morning of departure were fantastic. A french therapist who was very professional and did not try to sell us any products. Enjoyed swim and jacuzzi however the ladies sauna and mens sauna were in the changing rooms so we had to have a sauna separate.

When we went to pay for our weekend, the lady at desk again tried to charge us the full amount despite being assured on arrival that this was sorted. The girl went to speak to her manager who said that we had to pay the full amount. After 10 minutes they eventually charged us the initial agreed amount, making us feel like they had done us a favour.

I am not put off using Crerar Hotels as Loch Fyne and Isle of Mull are both lovely and id recommend them to anyone but I wont be returning to Eight Acres.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jen7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel regarding your recent stay. I was extremely dissapointed to read some of your comments and can only apologise for letting you and ourselves down on this occasion. It is extremely important for us to receive such feedback as we will now use your comments to learn from this. I can only assure you that this is certainly not to our usual high standard, and all staff have been fully briefed and further training has been instilled to ensure that there are no more occasions like the experience you had.

I hope you will come back and visit us again soon and we can exceed your expectations next time.

Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

my stay at this hotel was not enjoyable at all due to the disappointing rooms and under staffed breakfast and dinner services. Myself and my partner complained several times to the staff while we were at the hotel but realise now that the staff were not the ones at fault they were merely working with what they had. I requested several times to speak to the general manager myself but even though she was in the hotel she was apparently unavailable for four days to speak to her guests. What kind of manager is unavailable to speak to her guests. management need to take responsibility for their hotel and be on hand to help their staff where they could clearly do with the help not in an office. i will not be returning to this hotel until the management issues are dealt with.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OOPSy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. I would appreciate it if you could contact me direct on gm.eightacres@crerarhotels.com to discuss.
Kind Regards
Carolyn Robertson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We have stayed in many Crerar Hotels in the past and have always been impressed by the chain but theres always an exception i suppose. Ok, lets start with the positives of this hotel:
1. the leisure faciliites are superb, the machines are all well maintained and the staff were always available for support and assistance with your exercise program. The pool in a good size and temperature and is more that adequate for an after gym dip.
2.The reception staff were excellent and very accomodating. When i requested a change of room to one that was in a quieter location in the hotel it was sorted out extremely promptly with no fuss. They were also always willing to provide local information on directions, buses, etc.
3. the housekeeping staff were also very good and made an excellent job of the room tidy and provision of any required item such as plenty of clean towels and were always very friendly.
4. The room was well decorated and comfortable size although the original room we were shown was tiny so this is obviously variable throughout the hotel. Unfortunately this is where the good points end.
The restaurant was a joke both for breakfast and dinner. Although there were never any more that 5 tables in use at ant time we were in the dining room the one member of staff on seemed constantly overwhelmed and service as a result was slow and seemed very unprepared. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet affair, which i don't usually mind but when we arrived at 8 am (breakfast is served til 9) the buffet was practically empty with those hot foods left on the hot plates looking like they had been marinading in their own fat for the best part of an hour and these were never replaced during the whole of the remaining breakfast time. A lady came out of the kitchen (assuming breakfast cook) and said she wasn't going to put out any more eggs as "they wouldn't keep!" (keep for what i can only imagine!) The selection was woefully poor and not even close to the standard of other crerar hotels, as a result i left the breakfast table hungry on two of our three days there. There was cutlery, side plates and cups missing from our table at over half of the times we were sitting in the dining room, and when the cup and cutlery was replaced they were dirty-there was actually rice stuck to the inside of the tea cup!! Evening meal was slight improvement but again service was slow and on two occasions i had to request the bread rolls and drinks despite ordering them when we were originally seated-as a result our first course arrived before them! But my biggest compliant was the dessert on our second night-supposedly chocolate bread and butter pudding. It was obviously made with the cheapest bread imaginable and had turned into sludge on the plate. This was then covered in custard and microwaved!! The outside was soggy and cold but the middle was scalding, and the custrad had started to curdle around the outside of the bowl. Obviously this was not eaten but when i looked for the waitress to take it away, she was gone and despite sitting in the restaurant for a further 30 mins to finish drinks she never materialised. Not good customer service!
If your planning a trip up this way avoid this hotel, For me dinner is a very important part of a winter break away and i was sorely disappointed. This does not live up to the expectation set by the other hotels in the Crerar chain and was definately not good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_eightacres, Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel. I am sorry that we did not manage to meet your expectations on this occasion regarding the food and service. This has been something that we have been working very hard to improve and have a good level of consistency. As I am sure you will appreciate, we have hundreds of guests eating in our hotel every day, and the overall level of quality and service is first class. It is unfortunate that this was not the case in your experience and for that I am very sorry. The reasons for this have been investigated and all staff have been made aware of this situation to ensure it does not recur. I hope on your next visit to Elgin you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves and assure you that our food and service levels are to the highest standards.

Kindest regards,

Fraser Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews