We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Looking to 'get away from it all' for a night somewhere between Inverness and Aberdeen, Ardgye House ticked all the boxes for us. Lovely Edwardian house and quiet location, Not only was the bedroom huge and beautifully appointed with panoramic window from which we could watch red squirrels in the trees, we also had a dressing room as well as ensuite. Also, comfortable resident's lounge and lovely breakfast. Finished off with a lovely wander through the extensive oak woodland grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurraRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 215 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Ardgye and Staff fully deserve 5 Star recognition.
We spent 3 nights there in March 2013. It was our second visit to Ardgye to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to allow me to recover from a small operation.
We were welcomed into the Ardgye on a very cold afternoon and sat by the lovely log fire and served tea and delicious cakes. Simply lovely!
The room was beautiful and very spacious, spotlessly clean and well serviced.
The breakfasts are a real treat, served in the beautiful dining room where you can sit and watch the Red Squirrels and all kinds of birds enjoy their seeds/nuts from the bird tables in the garden.
Many Thanks to the Staff of The Ardgye who make our visits so special.
My Husband has already booked his next visit for May when he will be back in the area for his RAF Reunion.

Joyce and Alan,
Ayrshire.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jopa1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked last minute for three nights with family. Late arrival was no problem and roaring wood burning stove still on in the reception was very welcoming on a cold and snowy evening.
Breakfast was excellent and watching the red squirrels, pheasants etc etc was great fun and a great fascination to granddaughter. Had a lovely walk in the snowy grounds in the morning and would love to see them in the Spring. Rooms were spotless with two double beds and bathroon was enormous. Fully deserves its No 1 position as Elgins best bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: keep a look out for the small bed and breakfast sign as could be easily missed,,,,but who wants ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Quite simply the best B&B I have ever stayed at
Quiet location
Lovely staff
Great hygiene and cleanliness
Faultless food and menu
Great atmosphere from the outset
A special place I have recommended to many people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boonboon212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ardgye house was booked for my daughters wedding, for a party of around a dozen. The luxury Edwardian mansion is a perfect wedding setting, giving an intimate atmosphere - although it is only five miles outside Elgin on the road to Inverness. It is dificult to put all the excellent features in order, but firstly Kerry who lives in the grounds was magnificent in the planning stages and during the two days as well. We had a couple of meetings prior to the wedding taking place, so that everything went smoothly on the day. On the day itself we were piped in by Kerry, and walked down the sweeping staircase to the registrar. The setting in the hall with a roaring log fire was perfect, we then had champagne served and paused for some photos - and more champagne, before having a splendid meal. We had the full use of the mansion and had a terrific time both during the meal and afterwards in a huge sitting room, which was very tastefully furnished. We had six rooms booked for the evening, and every one was enormous, immaculate and very well appointed - certainly up to five star standard. The breakfast was also superb, and finished off the weekend. I would highly recommend Ardgye House, for a wedding or a similar party, it is without a doubt the class leader in the North East of Scotland. Go on, treat yourself - it was after all exceptionally good value. There website is very informative and should help stimulate your imagination.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, with different layouts -immaculate and enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It would be hard to find better. Rooms enormous beds extremely comfortable I slept like a baby. Bathroom spotless and again huge. Breakfast delicious and lots of it. And owners just so delightful. My reason for stay was the weather conditions for the road from Aviemore to Elgin was due to be very icy and as had to be in college for 9 it was better to stay in Elgin over night. So glad I chose here. AMAZING

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingmong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Ardgye House for two lovely, restful nights. It is a magnificent Edwardian mansion,
with magical gardens teeming with wildlife, lots of birds, red squirrels and deer.

The rooms are really spacious, and as it was cold when we were there the owners kindly put additional heating in so we would be nice and warm. It is so quiet you will be guaranteed a good nights sleep.

The breakfasts are excellent, plenty of choice with locally sourced ingredients. My husband loved the Dingwall blackpudding which he rated above our local Bury ones!

The location is very handy for exploring the Spey valley and surrounding area. I can't recommend this B & B enough it is brilliant value for money, clean, friendly and has delicious food too. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
443 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
145 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
17.9 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast

Address: A96, Elgin IV30 8UP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: $93 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast is a gracious Edwardian mansion house centrally located in Moray (2.9 miles from Elgin town centre). Twin, King and Family en-suite rooms are available with generous free car parking facilities. All rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished in the period style with quality modern finishes. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television and free wi-fi. Enjoy a traditional Scottish or Continental breakfast in our stylish breakfast room. Children are welcome and there is opportunity for exploration in the spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgye House Bed And Breakfast Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing