We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back to my past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 22 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Quite simply the best B&B I have ever stayed at
Quiet location
Lovely staff
Great hygiene and cleanliness
Faultless food and menu
Great atmosphere from the outset
A special place I have recommended to many people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boonboon212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ardgye house was booked for my daughters wedding, for a party of around a dozen. The luxury Edwardian mansion is a perfect wedding setting, giving an intimate atmosphere - although it is only five miles outside Elgin on the road to Inverness. It is dificult to put all the excellent features in order, but firstly Kerry who lives in the grounds was magnificent in the planning stages and during the two days as well. We had a couple of meetings prior to the wedding taking place, so that everything went smoothly on the day. On the day itself we were piped in by Kerry, and walked down the sweeping staircase to the registrar. The setting in the hall with a roaring log fire was perfect, we then had champagne served and paused for some photos - and more champagne, before having a splendid meal. We had the full use of the mansion and had a terrific time both during the meal and afterwards in a huge sitting room, which was very tastefully furnished. We had six rooms booked for the evening, and every one was enormous, immaculate and very well appointed - certainly up to five star standard. The breakfast was also superb, and finished off the weekend. I would highly recommend Ardgye House, for a wedding or a similar party, it is without a doubt the class leader in the North East of Scotland. Go on, treat yourself - it was after all exceptionally good value. There website is very informative and should help stimulate your imagination.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, with different layouts -immaculate and enormous.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It would be hard to find better. Rooms enormous beds extremely comfortable I slept like a baby. Bathroom spotless and again huge. Breakfast delicious and lots of it. And owners just so delightful. My reason for stay was the weather conditions for the road from Aviemore to Elgin was due to be very icy and as had to be in college for 9 it was better to stay in Elgin over night. So glad I chose here. AMAZING

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mingmong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Ardgye House for two lovely, restful nights. It is a magnificent Edwardian mansion,
with magical gardens teeming with wildlife, lots of birds, red squirrels and deer.

The rooms are really spacious, and as it was cold when we were there the owners kindly put additional heating in so we would be nice and warm. It is so quiet you will be guaranteed a good nights sleep.

The breakfasts are excellent, plenty of choice with locally sourced ingredients. My husband loved the Dingwall blackpudding which he rated above our local Bury ones!

The location is very handy for exploring the Spey valley and surrounding area. I can't recommend this B & B enough it is brilliant value for money, clean, friendly and has delicious food too. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

WOW! Where do you start with this beauty!
The building is absolutely fantastic and the photos do it no justice. The rooms are huge and are decorated in keeping with the age and beauty of the house.
It is set in the most amazing ground which you can gaze upon over a lovely breakfast, watching local wildlife (red squirrels and a woodpecker!).
Staff are very professional and really cant do enough. I was given honey and lemon in my room after having a cold during my stay - nice touch, and my breakfast request was unusual but catered for without question and presented beautifully.

Come here for any reason, you dont need an excuse but certainly if you are here as a couple, romance is on the cards :)
We wont stay anywhere else now in Elgin after staying here.

Room Tip: We have a corner room with windows on two walls, and a huge walk in changing room. Also fab views o...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have stayed twice at this accommodation in the last few months and could not fault it in any way. Very welcoming owner, beautiful and spacious rooms and the best breakfast choice I have ever come across even in 5 star hotels. Despite all this the price is extremely competitive. I would recommend Ardgye House without any hesitation and would not stay anywhere else if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreabricknal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A visit to Ardgye House is a fabulous "must do" experience.This beautiful family home was a pleasure to stay in.Very friendly with spacious, spotlessly clean rooms and a superb breakfast that will set you up for a days sightseeing in this picturesque part of Scotland.There is a huge sitting room that you can relax in at any time while warming yourself at the log burning stove and the wonderfully preserved staircase in the reception area is reminiscent of Downtown Abbey.The grounds of the house are stunning with lots of wildlfe including deer and red squirrels which frequent the feeders outside the breakfast room so there's never a dull moment at breakfast time.If you are ever in the area I would highly recommend booking in to Ardgye House,I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
4.0 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
294 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
140 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
457 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lodge Elgin
The Lodge Elgin
#5 of 22 in Elgin
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast

Address: A96, Elgin IV30 8UP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: $92 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast is a gracious Edwardian mansion house centrally located in Moray (2.9 miles from Elgin town centre). Twin, King and Family en-suite rooms are available with generous free car parking facilities. All rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished in the period style with quality modern finishes. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television and free wi-fi. Enjoy a traditional Scottish or Continental breakfast in our stylish breakfast room. Children are welcome and there is opportunity for exploration in the spacious grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgye House Bed And Breakfast Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing