We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm, friendly and comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Mills Garden Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mills Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 24 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bellshill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“warm, friendly and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

stayed with Wendy for two nights whilst I was working up north and I had the double room on the ground floor near the kitchen and dining area. When I arrived I noticed that the house was gorgeous set on a quiet road just off the main road into Elgin, Wendy herself is lovely, warm and friendly who met me at the door and showed me my room which was fantastic, tea and coffee was available whenever I liked, bed was lovely and soft and the shower was fantastic, when I left the next morning I even noticed she had some chickens - the only downside is that reading previous reviews apparently her breakfasts are fantastic and with my working hours I was always away before breakfast started so I blame my company for that but when working up north again I'm going to try and stay with Wendy again - excellent for my entire stay

Room Tip: only seen the one room so they might all be just as nice, I know Wendy's favourite room is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busterbroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Wendy has been very busy since my last visit 6 months ago - there is a fantastic new shower in the triple room and the the decoration and furnishing have been updated. Outside the car parking is easier, which is very helpful. What hasn't changed, though, is Wendy's warm welcome & breakfast fit for a King (or Queen). My little princes certainly look forward to staying as Wendy makes a "the best breakfast in the world".
Thank you Wendy, for another fantastic stay - I leave you feeling 100x better than when I arrive, can I book again for May, please?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night in October, I think, and we selected this establishment because of the reviews here. They were not exaggerated. Wendy, herself, is delightful; very welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Everything about this place says ''quality" and I mean everything. From the building and gardens themselves, the internal workmanship and decor throughout and the breakfast - made to order and at a time that was suitable to us. The bedroom wasn't desperately big, but was perfectly adequate with a lot of storage space and as we had free access to the kitchen and dining area to cook, make tea or whatever, we didn't spend any time in there other than to sleep and wash - which is exactly what an en-suite bedroom is for anyway! Having a free rein to use the kitchen meant we were able to make our own evening meal, eat it in comfort, bottle of wine, it was just like being at home - only better! We will definitely return to Old Mill Garden. It was exceptionally clean, wonderfully comfortable, oozed quality, extremely welcoming, delightfully inexpensive. Well done, Wendy.

Room Tip: Ground floor double room with doors out onto decking and garden. Its adjacent to kitchen and dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princeoftheyolkfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wendy's breakfasts (I was there for 3 days, my longest stay, and I always wish it could be longer) kept me going all day. Wendy's bacon and 'home made' eggs from her hens are superb, and her coffee is delicious. Our room was spotless, comfortable and warm and nothing is too much trouble for our fantastic host. I would never dream of staying anywhere else. Thank you Wendy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laupheim, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wendy is so nice and the B&B is lovely. A very nice garden and the rooms are also very comfortable even they are not huge. The breakfast choice is enormous and it is really tasty. In walking distance to the town center but also very quiet and secluded. We can definitively recommend to stay in this B&B!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

really great stay, wendy makes you feel at home, we had the former granny flat attached to the kitchen with patio doors with a few hens and a duck running around the garden which were entertaining.
We were here 2 nights and it was great with fabby breakfasts. We much prefer the personal touch of these wee b & bs than the mundane chain hotels.
You are only 10mins walk away from the town centre but it seems like you are in the country as you are next to a field with friendly horses in it (take some carrots with you).
We will definitely stay here again as we are frequent visitors to elgin and all for £60 a night

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was my third stay and I have booked in again in August. I didn't think Wendy could improve on her warm and caring welcome and accommodation, but she did. 'My' room - the superb patio room has had a makeover and is even more comfortable. I had a lovely shower when I arrived and when I had finished Wendy had made me a welcoming and very delicious cup of tea - thank you so much Wendy.

Old Mills was as peaceful as ever, yet still as convenient for the many facilities of Elgin. Someone else has written 'home from home' - I completely agree and cannot put this fantastic b&b in better terms. Do stay - it is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elgin hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
1.0 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moraydale Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mills Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mills Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Mills Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: Oldmills Garden Jock Inksons Brae, Elgin IV30 1QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Old Mills Garden Bed And Breakfast Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing