We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mix of homelieness and luxury”
Review of The Lodge Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge Elgin
Ranked #6 of 22 Elgin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect mix of homelieness and luxury”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Having never reviewed a hotel before, I feel that I need to recommend this delightful place. My husband and myself stayed in October as part of our honeymoon travels, and I must say that we were extremely impressed!

When we arrived we were struck by how nicely situated the house was in lovely gardens. The owner, Marilyn, was very helpful in recommending resturants and taxi firms and was generally friendly. Even congratulated us on the wedding!

The room was large, warm, spacious, deep carpets and fluffy towels - scottish chic. But the best part was the breakfasts! The Lodge Special was to die for! We even got to sit in the turret. Lovely feeling of sitting in a castle!

Would return in a flash to this hotel - the best of our travels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
40
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My husband and I are not really B and B people, but we had a lovely night stay here, and wish we would have made this our base for touring Speyside instead of the hotel we stayed at in Aberlour.

I picked it for the reasonable rate and location within walking distance of the train station. We were in a lovely room on the 2nd floor which was a good size, had a comfortable bed, and a decent (though instant electric) shower. Breakfast was tasty.

The proprietress was extremely helpful in advance of our stay, just really going above and beyond helping us with some arrangements we were struggling with. Unlike other places we stayed in Scotland, there wasn't always someone around, so there were some questions that went unanswered and things we muddled through on our own. But that might have been due to the proprietress being on a mini-break.

You can walk to the town center, the cathedral, and Johnston's. Although some of it is a longer walk. We highly recommend Ashvale Fish House for lunch or dinner. The meal we had there was second only to Three Chimney's on Skye, and a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_in_Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lysaker, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The breakfast itself more value than the rate..
Facilities up to expectations. Hosts (mrs and mr)
helpful and very friendly - came up to our rooms
just to tell; taxi is waiting. Clean and tidy. Quiet
neighbourhood but close walking distance to the
center. If returning to Elgin - we know where we will stay.
Best 50 years celebration my nephew ever had..

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 2500daysontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had an excellent short break at this hotel and will certainly return.
The owners gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. The room was spacious, well presented and clean. Although summer, the weather was a bit chilly but the room was lovely and cosy as the heating was on - not something all B&Bs do in summer!
The bed was comfortable with fresh cotton sheets and good pillows and we had a good nights sleep.
In the morning we had a delicious breakfast with top quality local produce. There was a great selection of fresh fruit, cereals, etc and a choice of hot food including fish as well as the traditional options. The bacon was particularly delicious!
Walking distance from the centre.
Very good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

My grandson and I stayed for a week and could easily and happily stayed for longer, judging from breakfast I just wish that they still did dinner as well! I personally appreciated the range of fresh fruit offered but everything we had was freshly cooked and perfect.Try the Buckie kippers! The room was spacious ,comfortable and spotlessly clean ,the shower room had everything you could need for a longer stay and the house is in a lovely area which is also convenient for the town itself.We had an absolutely lovely stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone.My 13 year old grandson also appreciated the Wi-Fi

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAZZA1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Have been staying at the Lodge B&B for a few times a year for 2 years, always in the same room - used to stay at Burnside B&B but believe this was sold. Owners lovely and breakfasts scrumptious, Bed very comfortable. The only drawback is the bathroom, the water seems to dribble out the shower. The Lodge is perfect for my needs when visiting children at boarding school.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singapore_expat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California U.S.A.
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

actually I was there twice, first time was Sept-Oct of 2006 (didn't give that option on dropdown :) ) second time was April 16 2007, among other reasons i was there to take flowers to the clan stones at Culloden. Coming back to the Lodge was like being home again. I missed breakfast (magnificent breakfasts!! ) several times because i just wanted to snuggle down in that bed forever! Always fresh roses, everywhere. Beautiful sitting room with comfortable couches ( i know, i had to sleep on one when i locked my keys in room late at night! ) Lovely lawns and flowers everywhere, but the very best part, other than the price, were the wonderful people whose b&b it is! I think of the Lodge and Scotland all the time, and wonder if I will ever be there again. ....AND Elgin rocks!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank throughthestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#4 of 7 in Elgin
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#3 of 22 in Elgin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Elgin

Property: The Lodge Elgin
Address: 20 Duff Avenue, Elgin IV30 1QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Elgin Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing