We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend”
Review of Sunninghill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunninghill Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Faultless from start to finish, Warm, fresh and clean, very relaxing. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and professional. Lovely conservatory for a nice relaxing drink after dinner. Food was great, the breakfast was brilliant. Room facilities were very good, hairdryer, iron, ironing board and all the tea/coffee stuff with loads of biscuits. Would definitely recommend and stay again

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank markandtrish2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed on two separate occasions and can not fault the rooms which were very clean with large comfortable bed, plenty tea/coffee in the room, immaculate bathrooms, television and wifi. The staff are efficient friendly and make you feel very welcome.. I ate evening meals on both occasions and would say "compliments to the chef" on both occasions, the specials were lovely, my husbands steak was cooked to perfection. The whisky collection was also impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsbkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Reliably good hotel. Room clean, great flat screen tv. Free in room wifi and fab breakfast. I've stayed here many times and would always choose here when in Elgin. A warm welcome always awaits and nothing is too much bother. The owners and staff are very attentive and keen to meet the needs of their guests. I have no problem in recommending the Sunninghill.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tywitops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Sunninghill hotel is not the most modern hotel I have ever stayed in, but it compares well with other small provincial hotels. My room was large and clean with well supplied tea/coffee facilities. The bed was king size and very comfortable.The food served in the busy dining room was very,very good. Service was prompt and the staff were all very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irenedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights and have no complaints. It's in a good position, easy to find and within easy walking distance of the town centre.
The room was clean had everthing you need - plenty biscuits to go with the cofee & tea - and a decent hairdryer, which is always a bonus. Nice bathroom & shower.
The breakfast was good, plenty fruit and cereals and a decent choice of cooked options. Didn't eat in at night, but there always seemed to be quite a few people eating in the bar dining area and some regular locals in the bar of an evening, which is always a good sign.
If I have any negative things to say it is that first impressions on entering are that it is a bit dated, the main hallway/reception could do with an update.
But other than that as I said - no complaints. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetoholiday2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Room and en suite clean and fresh. Despite being busy staff very friendly and helpfull. Only had breakfast but this was served promptly with ample choice.. Best Bit - MASSIVE choice of malt whisky in the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CreelBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This attractive, well-kept house was on a main road in Elgin within 5-minutes walking distance to 'downtown'. Room 10 was a twin and ran us 88 pounds total including breakfast, which we skipped for no particular reason. Decent size and clean, though the shower was small. Beds were too hard. We did not eat dinner here either, but the bar had a very large selection of malts. Free parking. Not sure about internet availability.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mansefield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunninghill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunninghill Hotel

Address: Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elgin
#3 Business Hotel in Elgin
Price Range: $169 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunninghill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunninghill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunninghill Hotel Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing