We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked forward to leaving...”
Review of Sunninghill Hotel

Sunninghill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 77 Restaurants in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looked forward to leaving...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently ate here for an evening meal, to say we were disappointed would be an understatement. We waited about 10 minutes for our drinks to arrive ( 2 X coke ). We then sat in an awkward atmosphere, cramped in like sardines waiting for approximately 30 minutes for our pan fried prawns to arrive, which tasted like a supermarkets value range, swimming in some sort of oil sauce. While we were waiting for our mains to arrive, probably another 25 minutes. During the time we waited people that had came in after us where being served their mains and deserts. Once our chef had gone to the shops to buy our food and heat it up, our mains finally arrived. The food again looked cheap and nasty, just like its taste. The male waiter that was serving us looked like he had been running back and forth to the local corner shop all night, as there was a river of sweat running down his face. That finished our magical evening off and we made our way to the till to pay for this delightful food, then straight for the exit.

Helpful?
1 Thank CRLNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I can only apologise for your disappoint mention with your moral at our hotel and I have passed on your comments to our kitchen and waiting staff. As for our waiter he has health issue which he normally deals with very well. He is polite and helpful . Sorry again for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    65
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Treat”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been to the Sunninghill several times and we consider it a treat just for us without the children. The food is top quality and justifies the more expensive cost of a meal here. Staff always provide a high standard of service and know about the food and drink on offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice place, great food, good environment. Been there twice now and it's spot on. Would recommend to others. Enjoy

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Webb1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A visit again restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were most impressed as a group of friends by the welcome we received, the efficiency and speed of service, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, cleanliness. The toilets were clean and well serviced.

The decoration was welcoming. It was clear that someone had been both busy in the garden making up window boxes of small daffodils and other spring plants. Inside were orchids. Even our table had a large waterfilled bowl with an orchid flower. The chairs were confortable and the temperature great.

There was only one slight criticism, my wife found a small chip on her glass when we were coming to leave. It had obviously been missed as the glass was scratched, having been through the dishwasher many times.

It has to be said that we were early and there were few folks in at the time.

On to the food and drinks. We were surprised and pleased by the generous sized drinks glasses we had for ginger beer and lime. Keep that as standard please.

The menu was extensive with a good range of starters and main courses, all at reasonable prices. The food was of excellence by way of presentation, quality, quantity and taste.

Every one had Cullen Skink as a starter which was in good portions. It tasted delicious. One of the other comments I had was "Very Good Cullen Skink". It came with good slices of bread with butter packs to spread.

For main courses, Morrocan Chicken, (from the specials board vegetable curry, fish cakes with a lemon sauce) and fried lambs liver, bacon with chips and side vegetables. All dishes were very well cooked.

The liver came as 3 generous pieces, pan fried. The chips and vegetables were good.
Rice for the Morrocan dish and the vegetable curry was well presented and generous. There were even two types of rice for the vegetable curry. We all felt encouraged to share our food and much enjoyed it.

Over all, a good visit. We would recommend and would certainly visit again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RangerRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food around !”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love this restaurant & visit it as often as possible. Always a lovely welcome from very helpful staff. Nice cosy surroundings & the wee conservatory is lovely to eat in. Food choice is fantastic & the puddings are to die for !

Well worth a visit !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to seeing you again I hope.

Best regards

Winnie Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunninghill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing