We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home in Edinburgh”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious double bedroom, linen all included
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious double bedroom, linen all included
Arthur's Seat, just behind the apartment Spacious Living area with gateleg table which seats 4 people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Spacious double bedroom, linen all included
Arthur's Seat, just behind the apartment
Spacious Living area with gateleg table which seats 4 people
Full sized double sofa bed in living room
Wake up to breathtaking views
Fully fitted kitchen
Bright and airy
King sized double bed and large built in wardrobe
Double bed splits to 2 singles
Spacious clean hallway with ample storage
Full sized double sofa bed in living room
Clean and fresh bathroom
Layout as 2 doubles
Layout as 2 singles and double sofa bed
Modern apartment building
Open aspect from the living room and kitchen
View from the bedroom
Edinburgh by Torchlight
Edinburgh Castle, 10-15 minutes walk
Forth Road Bridge
Holyrood House, 10 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Midlothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beautiful...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Edinburgh”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The apartment was great! It was just the right size for myself, my husband and our toddler—it was great to have the extra space that a flat provides as opposed to a hotel or B&B. It was close to the old town in the vibrant Marchmont area. You have everything you could want in easy walking distance. The flat was wonderfully furnished and everything was very comfy. The bedroom also has amazing views of Arthur's seat and you can even see the Firth of Forth in the distance!

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
Thanks for your great review. It was very kind of you to mention those things that are important to other travellers like the amazing view and the central location. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando...
Salamanca, Spain
2 reviews
“Don´t miss this place in Edinburgh! You won´t find anything better!”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have spent 2 months in The Pleasance Apartment and we have no words to describe how well we have been treated!! Susie has been so nice, helpful and understanding with our requirements that she looked more family than a Landlady. Thanks again Susie to make our lives much easier in our first two months in Edinburgh!!
Besides that, what to say about the apartment? It was extremely clean, comfortable, warm, well oriented to the South (Deaconess Gardens) and with astonishing views of Arthur´s Seat (you can be on the top in 45 min!). The wifi works smoothly. The kitchen is very well endowed with everything you could need and bed and bath linen are extraordinary. All the main buses to the City Centre, the Royal Infirmary or the King´s Building are 3 min away. There are 3 convenient supermarkets and fishmongers, butchers, restaurants, newsagents, etc… at short walking distance. The University Sport Centre and Holyrood Park are also really close for those who love sport. And the Festival Theatre, Queen´s and King´s Halls, music bars, pubs etc. make evenings delightful.
We would have been more than happy to stay in there for our next two years in the city, but Susie wants much more people to have the opportunity to enjoy her nice Pleasance Apt. We understand that Susie!
We strongly recommend the apartment to anybody visiting Edinburgh since it´s a more convenient option than most of the expensive hotels in the City.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation, comfort and views
Liked least: To leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2014
It's been glorious having you to stay. Thanks for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrpa2014
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place next to Holyrood Park!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a very nice place to stay in Edinburgh especially if you are a nature's lover cause it is situated next to Holyrood Park where you can have long walks or jog or even climb up to Arthur's hill!We enjoyed our stay there for a week in August although we had some problems with the heating(it did not work the first day)!Susie the owner is very friendly and tried her best to fix the problem..Next to the center on foot almost 20minutes or by bus it has everything to provide you a nice stay..Next to 2 supermarkets cafeterias and with a lovely bed to lie on and everything you need to prepare your meals if you do not wish to eat out(even salt,peper and other stuff)..Excellent connection with the station and city center..Big selection of videogames,movies and excellent view of the hill from the bedroom..Loved it!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view,bedroom bed ,kitchen equipment
Liked least: Was a bit cold cause of heating problems but it was fixed within a day
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2014
Thanks for your great review! You're right, the location is perfect for walkers and shoppers - the best of both worlds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marielyne...
Québec, Canada
2 reviews
“Great flat and location”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed at 134/9 The Pleasance for a week in September. It is well located, easy to reach by foot from the Waverly train station, 10-15 minutes walk from most of the touristy attractions and a few minutes away from a groceries store. The flat itself was great, after a few days it practically felt like home. Quite a lot of space (more than what I was expecting). The view from the bedroom really isnice (Arthur's Seat) and the couch in front of the living room window is the absolute best place to relax after a long day of walking. The flat is nicely furnished and well equipped, even with small things that you don't think you would need on holiday but end up wishing you would have taken with you... like an hairdryer. Great experience overall, I reccommend it and will most certainly be returning there next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: September 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2014
Lovely - I don't think the pictures ever show the airy brightness of the rooms. Thanks for pointing it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cscsnm6
NH
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The location was perfect for us.”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Pleasance was a perfect location. We needed to stay for several nights to get our Daughter situated at the University. Walking distance from the train station, and walking distance to all the sights. Great views of the crag and firth from the bedroom. Neat and tidy. All we needed in the kitchen for preparing meals. Full bath, tv, wifi, and pullout sofa. Easy to pay through Trip Advisor, fast refund of deposit. Easy to get keys in lockbox onsite. Suzie is a great host. A bottle of wine awaited us on arrival, and Suzie even left a moving in gift for our Daughter! - Thank you very much for a perfect stay!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2014
I'm so glad you were able to stay at Pleasance apartment during such an important time. I hope sh'e still enjoying University.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juhani449
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
“Near by city, near by hiking”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spend a nice week here. Apartment was in very good position, you dont need a car to catch the seeings of Edinburgh. Beutiful wiew from the sleeping room to Salisbury Crags and sea. Very large wardrope and storages. It takes only few minutes to walk to the city or Arthur's Seat. We liked this.
Juhani and Marja from Finland

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
I'm so glad you mentioned the views. They impress me every time I see them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad...
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed at the apartment for almost two weeks -the flat was perfect both for work (University of Edinburhg) and walking the city. Susie was simply wonderfully helpful and so kind all through the stay and afterwards -additional paperwork I needed for my institution plus deposit refunded so quickly. Spotlessly clean. The view from the bedroom is stunning, and that from the living room and kitchen was very nice too. The kitchen had everything we needed -even for elaborate cooking I guess, but being a work visit, I did not have much time except for breakfast and light suppers. The living room is ample and was easily adapted to serve as very comfortable lounge, dining room, office ... and bedroom, when needed. Beds are comfortable, with warm duvets, and bathroom was ample with easy handling shower, Plenty of hot water and lovely temperature in the flat. Lots of storage space, plenty of laundry.

As for facilities, all kinds of shops are just minutes away (including Tesco and Lidl, little shops with plenty of fresh fruit, electric appliances -in case you forget your adaptor to British sockets!- the best academic bookshop -Blackwells- in town,...). Good-and-from reasonably prized-to-cheap restaurants are very, very near too (Blonde and Kismott were two of my best discoveries) and nice pubs.

I was almost tempted not to write a review, so that this gem remains hidden!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback. I've loved keeping you caught up with Edinburgh through facebook, too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing