We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Greenock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Greenock”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Premier Inn at Greenock for 4 nights in the middle of September 2013. It has been a while since I last stayed in a Premier Inn and Whitbread have certainly hit the nail on the head with this hotel.

One of the best features is the view, if you are lucky enough to have a view of the Clyde then the rooms are truly wonderful. The hotel has recently been refurbished and it is done to a very high standard. Whether it is business or leisure then you will not be disappointed.

Every member of staff that we met were lovely, and would do anything to help you. If you are in the area then I would recommend staying here.

This hotel is great value for money, great views and a great team. Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments expressed in your review.

The staff work hard to make the guest feel welcome and feedback like this is very rewarding. Our recent refurbishment has of course helped to make our guest experience more positive, and I’m pleased you were sufficiently impressed to recommend us to future guests.

Whilst we do have some advantage with the scenic view our standards are those of all Premier Inns and I hope your experience here will perhaps encourage you to consider Premier Inn as a place to stay in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    122
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
140
143
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Premier Inn Greenock when we travelled from New Zealand to Scotland for our daughter's wedding. Over the two weeks were were there the Staff were amazing - helpful and obliging, and their friendliness made us feel very much at home. Everything else this hotel provided was just fine, but the Staff were exceptional. Thank you !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 741ChristineMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We consider the staff’s role in making all our guests feel welcome to be of paramount importance, and it is perhaps even more important when the guest is staying for more than a few nights. I am pleased it helped make your stay with us pleasant after such a long journey and for such an important occasion - Many thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Can't fault this one at all... The room (and hotel in general) was spotless and well furbished, modern and up to date. The bed was lovely and the purple strip light behind the headboard was nicely relaxing at the end of the day or for a nice easy start to the morning.
Staff were really friendly and very helpful. The view was stunning!
While we were there work on the extension is going on, even through this there was no disturbance at all to our stay.
We will definitely be staying in this one again and I can't wait, top marks premier inn!

Room #12

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencerspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you very much for this review, both for your comments and for taking the time to upload the pictures taken in your room.

Having recently completed the refurbishment of our existing rooms we are as you say extending to add a further 20 rooms, and every effort is being made to ensure disturbance to guests is kept to a minimum during these works.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigton, cumbria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent two nights in the Greenock Premier Inn and were absolutely delighted with our stay. The place itself is a delight sitting nicely on the banks of a lovely stretch of the Clyde. The rooms are large and airy and have obviously been refurbished recently and have all the usual high standards of furnishings and (most importantly) a comfortable bed.
The staff were a delight - all withpout excpetion were helpful, friendly and good humoured even in the bad weather.
We certainly intend going back for a longer visit ourselves and will be recommending this hotel to all our friends and family.
Well done Premier Inn - you have maintained the high standard that customers want.

Room Tip: Try to get an even numbered room between 100 - 110 or an odd number above that as they are the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denniskath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I’m pleased you found we came up to your expected standard for Premier Inn. Our refurbished rooms are attracting favourable comment from most of our guests, but of course the efforts made by our staff to make the guest feel welcome are necessary to complete the picture.

The river view is very attractive and whilst we make every effort to allocate a river view room to those guests requesting it, this can never be guaranteed.

Your intention to recommend us to friends and family is appreciated, and we hope you do make it back for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Premier Inn, Greenock on a number of occasions and always found it spotlessly clean and the staff so friendly and helpful, but this last stay staff and manager really went out of their way to sort out a problem for us that they really didn't have to do, and turned around what could have been a real nuisance into a most enjoyable mini holiday. The room for disabled that we stayed in had just been re-furbed and staff asked us for feedback on the change and any improvements still needed. Premier Inn Greenock never lets you down.. and the Continental breakfast in The Point next door, is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katesgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and restaurant. We encourage our guests to let us know if they have any problems in the hope that we can help. I am pleased that on this occasion it was within our power to do so and thus let you enjoy your holiday. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed over christmas and the service was great, the beds were nice and the room was spotless. This hotel has nice views of the Clyde.

The kids beds were made up ready for us to arrive and the cleaners came in every day to clean, make beds and change towels.

The breakfast is pricey but its huge and really nice.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - Premier Inn room servicing is of a very high standard and we will always have beds made up for the number of children booked to arrive.

Glad you enjoyed your stay, especially since you were away from home at that time of year, and hope we can welcome you again sometime if you are back in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent last weekend at this Inn. With our grandchildren's allergies, the "just completed" paint job where the upper floor rooms had just been refurbished, gave us a problem. In addition there were no spare rooms and, furthermore, absolutely none in the surrounding district.

The finish to the rooms and corridors was excellent and the hotel spotless. However the smell of paint was beyond what we were prepared to risk. An hour later the staff had "miracled" a ground floor room and the day shift housekeeping returned to clean the room for our grandkids....amazing and above and beyond the call of duty.

The restaurant is comfortable, well laid out, excellent menu and first class staff. There is an option of the buffet "special of the day" together with a wide menu gives the Brewers Faire an excellent supporting role when you stay there.

The ground floor overhaul starts this week and an extension is planned. A stones throw from where I served my apprenticeship makes it a very special place. Add to that a first class staff both in the hotel and the restaurant makes it one of the "must stay" places in the area.

A very much belated thanks to one and all.

Room Tip: River view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, and indeed for your forbearance when you arrived. Refurbishment is always a challenging process, and I am so pleased the staff were able to resolve the situation to your satisfaction, so that you could enjoy your stay in a place which meant so much to you. There is indeed a wealth of shipbuilding and marine engineering history associated with the site.

Under the circumstances, your recommendation of our establishment as one of the "must stay places" in the area is greatly appreciated, and I hope we will see you again when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
1.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
121 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Greenock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Greenock Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Address: 1-3 James Watt Way, Greenock PA15 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Greenock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views across the Firth of Clyde from this dockside spot, five minutes from Greenock Central ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Greenock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Greenock
Greenock Premier Inn
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing