We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view from back of hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Greenock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely view from back of hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

What can you say, that hasn't already been said about Premier Inn's? I still cannot understand why Holiday Inn Express and Travelodge struggle to match this best practice model of what a good budget hotel should be like.

A easy to find location, with friendly staff. Whatever you do try and insist on staying at rear of holiday over looking the Clyde - it is stunning at sun rise or sunset.

Only negative was very poor water pressure in the showers. Also wish Premier Inn's would have showers where you can take head down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truecelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Owner at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for your positive comments about Greenock and Premier Inns in general.

Safety considerations have influenced our choice of fixed showerheads. I am sorry you experienced low water pressure though, and we are looking into this. I am pleased that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope the problems you experienced will not deter you from future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    118
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
134
135
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought that the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a comfortable and quiet hotel, which was easy to find. We would recommend that you should have a meal (we had pre-booked breakfast) in the Brewers Fayre restaurant (which is just next door) as the view of the River Clyde is breath-taking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_puddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and restaurant I am pleased that your stay was made more pleasant by the conduct of the staff, and your kind comments will be passed on to them. Perhaps we will see you again if you return to Scotland next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a trip to the Scottish Highlands to break the 525 mile journey from home. This is the second time we have stayed at this particular Premier Inn and I am pleased to say that the service and friendliness of the staff, not only in the hotel but in the Brewers Fayre restaurant next door was impeccable. Service was quick and the food hot and superbly cooked and presented. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the River Clyde if you don't want a view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
I am pleased you found both Premier Inn and our adjoining Brewers Fayre restaurant to your liking, and hope we can continue to meet your expectations on future visits. Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Room beautifully clean and tidy. Spectacular views. All of the staff were so friendly, welcoming, helpful and hardworking. A credit to Premier Inn as an organisation. It is a shame that the dreadfully cold and windy weather spoiled the weekend somewhat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view cos it is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments which our staff will be pleased to read. It has been particularly cold of recent weeks and it's a pity this spoiled your stay, but hopefully we'll see you again sometime when the weather is being a bit kinder.

The view from the riverside of the hotel can be spectacular as you say. Unfortunately only half our rooms face in that direction and whilst we will try our best to provide a river view if requested we cannot guarantee it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights, overall the room were nice and clean, front of house staff were cheerful and very chatty and very helpful, overall the room was really good, clean and tidy, just a lovely place to stay

The restaurant next door was a marked improvement on the other one i had just come from, the food was of a good quality, well priced and great staff. I would wstay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Get a room to the back with the views of the river and mountains, just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review - I am pleased you enjoyed your short stay in the hotel and that you enjoyed your meals in our adjoining restaurant. We hope to see you again on either a business or leisure visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had booked for two nights but we enjoyed so much we added an extra night. Though not as good value as the nearby Holiday Inn Express the setting was preferable and the separate Brewers Fayre made it more interesting than just being in the hotel. Staff were exceptional, food really good value, rooms spotless and taxis were always readily on hand. We even had a bit of sunshine!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Clyde is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandparentsontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was kind to you. Whilst we have no conteol over that, it is rewarding to know that you found the staff exceptional and the restaurant to be good value. Our rates may be a lttile higher than those of our competitors but we do feel thay reflect what Premier Inn has to offer.

Thnak you for your review and I hope you will visit us again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel at a very reasonable rate. Staff very helpful, reception happy to order taxis and make recommendations. It is rather on the outskirts of the town but taxis are cheap and efficient. It's worth asking for a room overlooking the Clyde.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhimsicalTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERNADETTE_D0CHERTY, Manager at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I am glad you found the staff helpful and the hotel rate to be good value.

We are as you say on the outskirts of Greenock but as an alternative to taxis I would recommend, weather permitting, taking the pleasant 15 minute walk along the riverside walkway to the town's main shopping centre.

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
1.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gourock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Greenock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Greenock Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Address: 1-3 James Watt Way, Greenock PA15 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Greenock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views across the Firth of Clyde from this dockside spot, five minutes from Greenock Central ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Greenock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Greenock
Greenock Premier Inn
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing