We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inns consistent again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Llandrillo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Premier Inns consistent again.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at Premier Inns before and they are very consistent with price, value and the room furnishings. Location is something that is not always high on the list and quite right... They cater for short stays and do it well.
I arrived on the last day of November and stayed here for one night to break up a long journey up to the Isle of Skye. The reception was the usual good standard and the view of the Clyde was very nice.... If you don't want a car park view then be sure to ask in advance and not when you arrive as the computer allocates and no doubt takes into consideration things we never think of.
The great thing about Premier Inn is the rooms... They have wonderful big comfy beds with a choice of pillows and blackout curtains for a good sleep.
The restaurant is next door and it's a lively bar well furnished and welcoming. The beer was good and the food was just average and priced accordingly.... The buffet evening meals could be okay if you catch them at the right time otherwise get something off the menus.
Breakfast was better and help yourself to as much as you want. A lovely view of the Clyde and a hearty breakfast after a good sleep tipped this from average to good, but not four star very good.
Not much to do in the area other than go into town for some shopping... A walk along the 'promenade' at the back of the hotel gives you an appetite.
So... Good place for an overnight stay or two at a trusted brand hotel... You won't go far wrong.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Clyde....It's one of the few good things about the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    121
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
140
142
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Greenock Premier Inn was where we stayed for our Ruby Anniversary this weekend. Nice clean place, Room took a while to get warm though. Room looked over the clyde and scenery was fantastic. Saturday night buffet at The Point was good. Sunday was a carvery, again enjoyable. All staff in Premier Inn and The Point really helpful. Would stay again. If staying here would recommend a trip to Largs it is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

nice clean place friendly staff. local to glasgow. book early to get it cheaper. comfortable rooms. quiet. ideal for a short break or holidayl would recommend. would stay there again overlooks the clyde.nice breakfast next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stay with premier inn a lot as a family - we have stayed in around ten at least for varying lengths of time over the last year, however, this unfortunately has to be one of the worst I have ever stayed in.

We arrived after a long journey in the afternoon, and there was no one to greet us at the desk, After 10 minutes I ambled over to the restauarant and found someone over there. She came back and had to climb over the desk as she could not get in - not terribly professional (especially in a skirt). She gave us our keys, but there was no mention of the good night guarantee, no mention of when breakfast would be, or any other information.

When we got to the room, we realised we wanted to know about breakfast and went to ring down to reception, but there was no phone in the room which was slightly strange as we wondered how we would contact reception from upstairs in the event of an emergency or fire etc as there is no direct dial number we were given.

We had a family room with a double bed, and two single beds for the kids. After staying in other premier inns with king size beds, when we went downstairs to enquire about breakfast, I did ask if they did any king size beds and the receptionist said that "none" of the premier inns had king sized beds as they didn't do one (I had obviously dreamt about sleeping in one in premier inn preston the night before then!). Our room was a good size, although the room and the whole hotel were in desperate need of an upgrade as the paintwork was a bit shoddy as was the rest of the decor. I gave the kids a bath, pulled out the plug to let out some water, and the plug and drainage part it is attached to came away in my hand, putting lots of black scum in the bath and leaving an exposed pipe which meant I had to get the kids out of the bath sharpish. Our biggest bug bear was the tv - which only went up to "30" - a barely audible noise, especially if anyone talks, and especially when you have two small children in the room. I can understand that the tv shouldn't upset the neighbours, but their volume was barely audible and actually ruined our night's viewing as with two small children, we were in the room a lot in the evening but couldn't really watch the tv . My biggest bug bear was the bed - it was the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on and I woke up in agony with a back ache every day for 5 days. The restaurant next to the Greenock premier inn was very good, the breakfast was delicious with a big range, the food at dinner was piping hot and very tasty, the staff were polite and friendly, and they were very good with the kids, and most of the hotel staff bar a couple of the receptionists were also very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: choose a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theveggieexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Greenock Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the quality of the food received.

Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by our Customer Services Team and the Management team at the hotel.

Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
214 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Regular visitor but first time since the change to the next door pub/restaurant.

Overall view is a positive for breakfast, costa machine meaning decent frothy coffee available and good quality self service breakfast compared to the previous cook to order.

Opposite for dinner I am afraid, the all you can eat buffet approach (not sure I have everts even pie and fish/chip buffets before) are not really my thing.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for rooms facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Premier Inn is the best I have stayed in with excellent staff who were interested in customer service and going the extra mile and the Breakfast was something to die for only matched by the evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location on the Clyde - Staff were friendly and very accomodating. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Have spent a few long week ends there and will always return. Would highly recommend this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: This depends on personal preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
1.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
121 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Greenock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Greenock Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Address: 1-3 James Watt Way, Greenock PA15 2AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Greenock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views across the Firth of Clyde from this dockside spot, five minutes from Greenock Central ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Greenock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Greenock
Greenock Premier Inn
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing