We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average as in OK”
Review of Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tontine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average as in OK”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Overnight stay on business in December 2013. Nothing to dislike but nothing to recommend it either. Room was clean and warm. Shower was spacious and hot. TV was small and restricted in choice of channels. Wi-fi didn't work for my Mac. Standard breakfast. The locals were all friendly, but I couldn't get out of Greenock fast enough. Went for a stroll before dinner and on the High Street I recognised every single (chain) store, every shred of individuality has been scoured from this town. Glasgow is a fun, vibrant city, but the surrounding towns are grim, Stalinist even.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    113
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
75
100
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Nice hotel. Polite and helpful staff. Food very good. Recommend the Haggis, Neaps and Tatties ! Good sized room. Prices reasonable. I will definitely stay again when on business in Greenock.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanChes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

During a house move we stayed at the Tontine for 4 nights. The room was very clean and reasonably spacious. The breakfast was very good, and having had dinner on a number of previous occasions, we were not disappointed. But the most important comment is that the staff were all very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I go to the Tontine for food fairly regularly. I enjoy the food. I only ever eat in the Lounge as the restaurant menu is rather limited. It's not possible to book a table in the Lounge, however we have always managed to get a table.

My main gripe, and this is really unfortunate that sometimes the service is lacking. I visited twice in October, and both times it was very difficult to get the attention of staff. It's quite annoying having to go up and get more drinks, ask for the bill etc, when you know they are standing chatting instead of checking on people. Also a missed opportunity to sell additional drinks, desserts etc I would think. It's a shame, because it's not always the same service. Some of the staff are good at coming back and checking on you, and it seems that other staff just stand at the bar.

Please please improve this, and I would give an 'excellent'. As i say, I do go fairly regularly because I enjoy the food and atmosphere, and it's local.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wonderful clean bathroom and bedroom, great location and friendly staff, only thing I could maybe mention would be that put room was a little noisey as I think we were next to the boiler room? Overall, very reasonably priced and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Such a gem of a hotel!! Booked in for a wee night away and absolutely loved it!! There was a wedding on in the hotel on the Saturday night but heard no noise at all from it which was great!!
Stayed in room 9 which overlooked the road and the bowling green but heard no noise at all from traffic. Lovely spacious room and bathroom, great touch having a DVD player as the telly was rubbish :p and the bed.....oh wow!!! So comfortable that we slept in and missed breakfast!!
The young lad on reception could not have been more helpful (didn't catch his name sadly) and the bar prices were very reasonable!!
Overall a brilliant place to stay and I certainly hope to return!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh_Elder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After a long road trip we arrive at the hotel at lot early than check in time. A change of allocated room allowed us in 3 hours early. We enjoyed and great bar meal and love our room which overlooked the rear garden and private parking area. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew_paulgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
2.4 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel

Property: Tontine Hotel
Address: 6 Ardgowan Square, Greenock PA16 8NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tontine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Greenock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing