We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Greenock Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a few a days in Greenock staying at the Holiday In Express on the site of the former Scotts Shipbuilding Yard where I spent seven years of my life> Having stayed there before I was pleased to see the standard remains high and the staff efficient and helpful. The rooms are clean as are the public areas. The breakfast was as always, very enjoyable. However, the toasters should maybe be put into thee museum....time to replace guys! I strongly recommend the hotel. Clean, ideally situated with efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rear facing rooms can suffer from the fan noise but not a major problem. Didint stop me sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Good Day

Thank you for such positive feedback, I always ensure that my team are aware of the commenets and feeling of our guest, I am pleased that we have managed to make your stay a great experience.

I hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express, Greenock very soon

Thanks and Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

As our daughter moved to Scotland from Norway to work, we had to visit her to see she is ok. My husband followed her and told a lot of you when he arrived home again. Our daughter stayed at your hotel before she got her own appartment, and you were all very helpful. When I came together with my husband, you asked for our daughter and you were so kind and helpful during our stay. We almost felt like home. You were very helpful and smiled and said hello every time we passed by. We stayed for 4 nights and slept wonderful in your clean rooms. When we visit Greenock early next year, we will stay at Holiday Inn again. Thank yuo so much everybody. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vigdis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Good Morning

Thank you for your feedback and postive comments, it is always nice to hear the the team are getting it right and that the guest give us positive feedback to drive us on and understand that what we do daily is noticed by our guests

With Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked a family room at the cost of just under £55. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Upon arrival we were made welcome and swiftly booked in. Our room was perfect for our requirements for a 1 night stay, with a double bed and a sofa bed (already made up) and the usual tea making facilities and television.
Before going out we had a drink in the bar, which I found to be a bit expensive however we were able to get the kids drinks from the vending machine and we were supplied glasses for these. The staff were helpful and efficient. The bar area itself was comfortable and welcoming.

We slept well on our return to the hotel although my daughter did complain that the sofa bed was a little bit uncomfortable.

Breakfast was a bonus as comes included in the room rate and we were pleasantly surprised and all enjoyed a good breakfast before checking out.

The hotel is spotless and any staff we came across all said hello and were friendly, we would defiantely book this hotel again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ggirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us and for giving us positive feedback, which is always nice. I have also taken into account the rest of your feedback and will strive to ensure that your commenets are actioned and changes made were possible, Maybe see if we can do anything with regard to the comfort of the sofa bed.

Thank you and hopefully see you back at the Holiday Inn Express, Greenock on your next visit to the area

Regards

Mr Colin Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We always get excellent service at this hotel.The staff are exceedingly helpful as nothing is too much trouble.Excellent value for money as good variety hot and cold breakfast is provided.The rooms are always clean,with a very good room cleaning and replenishing service.

Room Tip: No problem with any room as there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaz4caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Good Day

Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

an enjoyable experience, very clean warm spacious and staff were friendly. will definately stay here again. there was 15 of us that booked to stay here. The check in process was worked well and very quickly sorted and organised. Breakfast was enjoyed and included in the price. would like to have seen some bananas and maybe muesli. but apart from that pleasent and a decent time for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babylov92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good Day

Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

me and my wife have been travelling round the west coast for the last few weeks and stayed here at the end of August, we wish we didnt,

the receptionist claire was the single most ruddest and unhelpful person we have ever met in all of our travels, all we asked to do on checkin was to extend our stay by an extra night as we had changed our travel plans, but she was not interested and said we would have to change rooms

later the same evening after we had checked in we asked her for an ironing board and her reply was am busy i will get one to you in an, all she was doing at the time was playing on her mobile phone she didnt even bother to look up at us,

breakfast was cold and i think didnt meet the requlations for temperatures when serving food, staff in the dining room obviously didnt enjoy working there,

the rooms was cold and noisy being so close to the main road, i didnt feel safe when we went for a walk at night

all in all a really bad stay and we didnt bother staying for the third night

Room Tip: any hotel apart from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Good Day

I was disappointed to read your comments and the experience that you had on your recent visit.

I have spoken to the staff memeber and I can assure that we take all feedback very seriously and ensure that we learn from the feedback given. Thank you for taking the time to let me know your thoughts.
A customer focus is key to ensure we exceed your expectations and can understand some of the failings regarding your impression fo what took place

As you will see from other feedback my hotel is a warm and freindly place to stay and feedback regarding staff and the guest experince is always postive

Thanks for your feedback and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 7th September 2012 with my wife. The check-in staff were friendly and efficient, it only took a couple of minutes. The double room was spacious and tidy. It perhaps needed decoration though. Had a good night's sleep and in the morning enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the room rate of £55. Can't argue with that being good value for money especially when compared to the nearby Premier Inn. Will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcdonny1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Colin_Moore, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Good Day

It is always good to hear postive feedback and for guests to ackowledge that we are geeting it right

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.4 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
142 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
139 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenock

Address: Cartsburn 4 Main Street, Greenock PA15 1AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range: $66 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenock 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel in the heart of Greenock. this home from home hotel offers a friendly warm welcome to all guests for all visists. Breakfast and Parking included in the rate, Breakfast now includeS hot items all included in the very competitive rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenock Hotel Greenock
Holiday Inn Greenock
Greenock Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Greenock Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing