We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine here, you wont regret it!”

Delhi Deluxe Indian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Delhi Deluxe Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Greenock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Skegness, UK
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dine here, you wont regret it!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

After reading the many positive reviews on Trip advisor we decided to dine here whilst on a short visit to Greenock.
It is within a 2 minute walk of the Holiday Inn express where we were staying and as other people have noted from the outside the restaurant looks very plain but once inside the décor is modern and contemporary. The staff were very welcoming and the food was outstanding, one of the best Indian meals we have had in a long time. All the ingredients were freshly cooked and they even make their own yoghurt for the Raita. The curries were not swimming in ghee as some Indian food can be.
The prices were very reasonable both for the food and drinks. After our meal we had a nice chat with the manageress and she told us that she plans to change the name of the restaurant in the very near future and hopes to train the staff to a high standard. We wish her good luck for the future and hope she succeeds.
Don't be put off by the plain exterior. Go through the door, if you love fresh tasting Indian food with friendly service in contemporary surroundings you will be pleasantly surprised!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abbafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    33
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was one of my second visits with my girlfriend and as last time, the experience was good. The flavors have remarkable depth, food is always fresh too. Always a treat to visit as their food is excellent and plenty to choose from to suit every taste. The restaurant itself is both clean and tidy with lovely decor. All the staff members there greeted me and my companion with warm smiles which made us feel very inviting. The restaurant is located behind tall buildings which does make it quite easy to miss.

The only negative feedback I would like to share would be the restaurants appearance however I know I'll certainly be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic, a real hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to Saffron for a birthday meal with all the family (16 of us). The mangeress helped me organise everything in advance, on the night everything was as we had expected it to be except the food which far exceeded all expectations. The inside is beautiful with contemporary lighting etc. It was really great and I would highly recommend this place if you like Indian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cjmc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Wonderful Food - Best Indian Outside India!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate here while in town for just one night - our hotel staff had recommended it as without doubt, the best Indian restaurant in town.
We were not disappointed - the food was authentic and fresh - no frozen ingredients or microwaves here - this was really decent, tasty, reasonable food.
Food was plentiful, and very attractively presented.
The staff were friendly and attentive, and were happy to chat - we felt valued and that our custom was appreciated.
The décor was understated, and everything was spotlessly clean.
If we return to Greenock, this will be our first port of call!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank itsmarkanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem and worth the trek out from Glasgow”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited Saffron tonight as a result of finding it via Tesco vouchers and the recent comments
Food is excellent and worth the trip out from Glasgow city where we were staying on holiday
Friendly staff, clean restaurant and reasonable prices means we would definitely return for more.
Only slight downside was there was only three tables occupied max whilst we were there so no great atmosphere, hoping that changes as word get round as to how good this Indian/Asian cuisine is.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMrsMoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Deluxe Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 

Been to Delhi Deluxe Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing