We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out for early evening dinner”

The Point Brewers Fayre
Ranked #28 of 65 Restaurants in Greenock
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family friendly restaurant situated on the banks of the Clyde. Great for kids with our indoor play area and large outdoor seating area for those sunny days.
Port Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“out for early evening dinner”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

visited on thursday 5th sept , friendly welcome and shown to table. good menu, and yet again very good service from the hard working staff well done !
would and will go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoops-Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    27
    33
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland Uk
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great food and staff once again (well I thought so)”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Its only scored 4 out of 5 this time because one of our party got a chicken burger that he said was very dry and didn't taste nice at all. The rest of the party thought our dinners where wonderful but we all went for the Sunday carvery. The staff as usual where first class and a manager came over when he seen the chicken burger had not been eaten to see what the problem was infact the kids insisted he ran out from the kitchen I never saw had my back to it lol. Will go again soon we visit here regularly

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkieplug24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a meal”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Was at the point last Thursday for the first time found the place very clean and tidy excellent food and service staff very pleasant and attentive a credit to there manager who I met on the way out and took time to chat I will use the point more often as it ticks all the boxes

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Unfayre”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a truly awful establishment. The food is cheap and nasty, cook and chill stuff and depending upon whose turn it is to heat it up, it is either barely edible or execrable.
These places used to be good value for money but just like every other big catering company, their portions are reduced and quality is barely a concern.
The staff are demotivated and one young woman is insolent and felt moved to abuse us for failing to sit where she ordered us to. The fact that her directions were given with a derisory wave of her hand cut no ice with her but then, at minimum wage who can blame her?
I know that these places market themselves as family friendly but dear oh dear, must every child on the premises be allowed to run amok amongst waiting staff with hot food and beverages. It seems as though most parents leave their brains at the front door and expect the staff and other diners to deal with their offspring.
If you are someone with a brood of untamed children and want to avoid the happy meals at McDonald's, this might suit you, for anyone else who wants properly fed and calm nerves, give this place a miss. It is nothing more than a crèche.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank roomless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited the point at the weekend,not been there for a few year,service we received was first class ,John looked after our table could not have asked for any more will be back.Food was good value as well

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Brewers Fayre also viewed

Port Glasgow, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
Greenock, Inverclyde
 

Been to The Point Brewers Fayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing