We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic friendly B&B - couldn't have asked for more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tullochard Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Alness B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly B&B - couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Two of us stayed here on a mountain biking trip, and felt extremely well looked after. Shelley and Roy went out of their way to help us, offering us the enormous garage for bike maintenance and then to lock them up in. I had a wet tent from an earlier camping trip, and hanging this up was no problem either.

The breakfasts were delicious, and the room was fine too, with and excellent shower.

The location is perfect for Golspie and the Kyle of Sutherland trails (Balblair and Carbisdale).

We've already booked up for a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LordSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Our group of cyclists were extremely well looked after here. Shelley phoned to check on our arrival time and could not have been more helpful. The rooms were top class, very clean, well appointed and comfortable which is all you need after a long days cycling. Shelley offered to do some washing for us which was very much appreciated when you are on a 12 day cycling tour. However the size of the mountain of clothes must have worried her! Three full loads of washing and drying (she even paired up the socks) later we were all equipped once more for the rest of the trip. Add on to this another good breakfast and you wonder how she can provide such a service for the low price. Highly recommended and if you find better value in the UK let me know.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MangoChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth Valley Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

With a certain criteria of standards in my head for booking guest houses, Tullochard ticked all my boxes. I had struggled to find accomodation in the Invergordon area so looked along the road to Alness. I was attending a course in Invergordon for 4 days and Alness is only a 5 minute drive away. Very easy to find off the A9 at night with plenty parking space at front and back, I was warmly welcomed by Shelly who showed me to my room upstairs. Being at the front of the house facing the main road was no problem, traffic noise at a minimum with little disturbance through double glazed windows.
Comfortably sized bathroom with super clean facilities, flatscreen freeview tv, desk space to work on laptop, very comfortable bed with cotton bedding and all important free wifi was all I needed.
I only take cereal and toast for brekkie but full cooked was on the menu and it looked tasty. I ate out in Alness and Invergordon in the evenings.
Shelly is a wonderful hostess and does her very best to make sure all her guests are looked after. She even offered to dry my wet gear from the course. Fantastic!
If you need accom. in this area, book Tullochard Guest House in advance. I will be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fhorchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Level Contributor
431 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Got this place off Travel Advisor on the first place and agreed with all of the comments. This place is just off the main A9 Inverness to Thurso road and ideal as a stopover. Tullochard is very clean and comfortable although the bedrooms are perhaps a bit dated. However, Shelley is very accomdating to enusre you have a great stay. Couldn't fault this place although make sure you check if you have an ensuite room or not when booking. No hesitations in recommending this Guest House to other users.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed here in mid July 2009 and found it perfect. They agreed for our West Highland Terrier to stay as well. We arrived late, grabbed a drink or two in town (try the chinese for spicy chips - delicious!) and then left really early, so I can't comment on breakfast. The room was perfect for our needs. Warm, clean, comfy bed, lovely en-suite, friendly welcome. This is a marker for all other b&bs to live up to. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Absolutely agree with the other reviews. I had a couple of nights in Alness with work and was looked after really well by Roy & Shelley. A fantastic find and far and away the best place to stay in the area - don't go anywhere else !!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bignessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

After being delayed going around John O'Groats, Dunnet Head to Ullapool, we were late arriving at Alness. Shelley very kindly rang to make sure we were fine. Upon arriving, she showed us into the Consulting Room, our room for the evening. Beautifully decored with a sensational ensuite. Dinner was served, which saved us from going downtown after travelling about 400 miles in the day. Food was GREAT. Service was very friendly and also GREAT. Room wasGREAT. Bed was GREAT. Shower was GREAT. We were also able to access wifi without any problems. (First time this trip) Having grown up in Alness Street Applecross Australia, we felt we should stay in Alness. Couldn't have chosen a better place. Nearly as good as it gets when you're being spoilt at home. Well done Shelley. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCRAD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alness
2.0 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
14.9 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kiltearn House
Kiltearn House
#1 of 2 in Evanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullochard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullochard Guest House

Property: Tullochard Guest House
Address: 37 Obsdale Road | Ross-shire, Alness IV17 0TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Alness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tullochard Was built in 1901 as the local Doctors Surgery & House. We have owned the house since 2011 & are gently upgrading the existing high standards to offer a more relaxed & enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tullochard Guest House Alness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing