We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THere is small - and there is small......” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morven House Guest House

Morven House Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morven House Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Alness B&B and Inns
kirkwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THere is small - and there is small......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

pleasant welcome - but VERY pricey for what was provided. An early start meant no cooked breakfast offered and minimal continental provided, followed by being conversed with during said breakfast for FAR longer than it would have taken to cook and provide the proper breakfast. Warned (and accepted) that room was small but would have preferred a shared bathroom to an "en suite" squeezed into a tiny room, such that except for a wee dividing wall, could have virtually put one's hand down the loo!!!!!!!!!!!!! (Not to mention the folding chair and tine folded table (presumably to "tick" the relevant boxes.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept the small room.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, enlightening considering what was discussed before departure, It is a great shame when explaining to guests what is available and at what cost, If the single room is insisted upon then we have to agree to what guests want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
13
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here one night and found it very comfortable. Met at check in by friendly owner and shown room on first floor. Room a twin which was very spacious, lots of storage space and good quality bedding and towels. The bathroom was new and modern and my only complaint could be the water was extremely hot maybe too hot.
The guest house is set well back from the road, but unfortunately the room was at the front of the house and the windows were not double glazed so the train next to the road could be heard and it rattled the old fashion sash windows. This is my only complaint and that was disappointing.
Breakfast was good, good choice of cereals and freshly cooked hot breakfast.
There is ample off road parking.
There is a few pubs in town for a meal and takeaways, it is about a 10 minute walk into town which is a pleasant high street.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, as always we try to make all our guests stay as comfortable as possible, we note about the windows, however as a listed building and an old free church manse built in 1843 we have to keep with the theme, we are not allowed double glazed windows. Apart from a train or two we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Received a very warm welcome from Martin and Janet.

I stayed in the single room while on my Land's End to John O Groats walk.

I was very satisfied with the accommodation and it was very good value for money.

Nothing is too much trouble from the hosts who sincerely believe in customer satisfaction.

Well done guys. EXCELLENT.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lejogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us on you journey through the highlands, we hope that you finished your walk safe and sound. If I remember right please give my regards to Scoff and we may see you again.

Regards

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped at this comfortable guest house on the second evening of the John O Groats to Lands End cycling adventure.
Our welcome was superb.Hostess Jenna and host Martin very quickly making us feel at home.
The rooms were large and are still 'work in progress' particularly in some of the bathrooms.
My own particular room was excellent. Large double bed , sofa and newly refurbished shower and bathroom.
Secure storage was made available for the four cycles and Martin undertook to wash and dry the cyclists kit.He even gave us a large laundry bag as we left .
The breakfast was served at the required time of 7am.It was substantial and fully met the needs of the cyclists and myself as support.
One particular feature of the guest house that deserves mention is the large lounge area where
the team and myself were able to relax and unwind when we returned from our meal in the town.
I understand that the owners intend to open a restaurant in a currently unused hall-type area adjacent to the hotel. This should certainly be a hit as there are very few restaurants in the town of Alness.
A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go for room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigrodge1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you all stay, and I am sure JANET (Jenna lol) feels the same way, And that you enjoyed Room 4, which you stayed in, this room has been finished, room 6 has a new shower but yet to be painted, wet wall and sundries now ordered for other shower rooms, hopefully these will all be done with new showers this year depending on occupancy levels. Thank you for mentioning the lounge as this is a really nice feature of our guest house, especially in winter when the fire is going. We both hope that you all finished the journey safe and well and maybe we will see you again in the future. We have received final plans for the restaurant, now to be submitted for planning. Hope we get the final finance to make this happen.

Good luck

Regards

Martin & Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for a one night during our 10 days trip around Highlands. The owner, Martin, was really nice and friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was decent. Martin has fully licensed bar at his B&B so you can enjoy a drink in your room. The room was spacious but really needs some updating. The bathroom was remodeled and was clean but the carpet and the furniture in the room were old and worn-out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o_bessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was pleasant having you stay with us for the one night during your tour. We appreciate your comments regarding modernising the rooms, as you mentioned the bathroom has been completed as part of our business plan which is on schedule and final re decoration will commence during the winter months when rooms are not so busy. We will know once we are finished updating as all the carpets in the guest house will have been replaced as mentioned when you stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June whilst visiting relatives who live nearby. We were made very welcome by Martin and Janet who are clearly proud of what they are achieving here. They have only had the property 19 months but have turned it from (I am told) a run down hotel into a very welcoming guest house, and they clearly have big plans for this place. I for one am looking forward to going back to see what they have done.

The room we were given was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The pubs in the town were a bit of a disappointment so it is very handy that they have a small bar, which we made use of. Martin has turned my wife into a Scottish gin fan.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and I will almost certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us and very pleased that your wife will now enjoy a good Scotish Gin, and I will have to convert you over to the local beers as well. It would be a pleasure to see you back again (have to get more Caorunn Gin in) and you will see how we are progressing.

Regards

Martin & Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed one night during a long distance cycle trip. The room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable and well equipped. The B & B is licenced which is a real bonus. I was offered the opportunity to get a take away in town and bring it back to eat in the dining room, which was a nice touch. I couldn't quite work out what else was going on at the B & B - it seemed part garden centre and part clothes shop - there seemed to be clothes in poly bags everywhere! That apart, I was made most welcome by Martin & Janet and breakfast was good. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, even for a short period, just to up date you!! The garden centre is there as we run a small tea room in the afternoon, you need one to go with the other! The jumpers and hand bags etc. are part of Janet's (soon to be built - craft shop) these are on display to purchase. Also with luck an onsite restaurant. Big plans afoot, for the future. We hope you arrived safely at your destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alness
2.8 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novar Arms Hotel
Novar Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kiltearn House
Kiltearn House
#1 of 2 in Evanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tuckers Inn
Tuckers Inn
#4 of 6 in Invergordon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morven House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morven House Guest House

Property: Morven House Guest House
Address: 70 Novar Road, Alness IV17 0RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Alness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin and Janet run the Guest House and offers everyone a warm Highland welcome. Alness is in the North of Scotland, this little known tourist destination, is located just 20 minutes' drive from Inverness, it offers everything that helps to make it the ideal place to explore and discover what the Scottish North Highlands have to offer. Morven House Guest House is situated on the main road into Alness, approached by its own private sweeping driveway, and also boasts a self catering cottage for those who wish more privacy or independence. During the summer months it abound with flora, as does the town of Alness which seeks annually to win the Britain in Bloom competition. We now have a guest lounge and a Bar for those of you that may wish to relax, have a glass of wine in front of a nice roaring fire (in winter) and ocasionally in summer plan your trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morven House Guest House Alness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing