We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Morven House Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morven House Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Alness B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June whilst visiting relatives who live nearby. We were made very welcome by Martin and Janet who are clearly proud of what they are achieving here. They have only had the property 19 months but have turned it from (I am told) a run down hotel into a very welcoming guest house, and they clearly have big plans for this place. I for one am looking forward to going back to see what they have done.

The room we were given was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The pubs in the town were a bit of a disappointment so it is very handy that they have a small bar, which we made use of. Martin has turned my wife into a Scottish gin fan.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and I will almost certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review, it was a real pleasure having you stay with us and very pleased that your wife will now enjoy a good Scotish Gin, and I will have to convert you over to the local beers as well. It would be a pleasure to see you back again (have to get more Caorunn Gin in) and you will see how we are progressing.

Regards

Martin & Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
14
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed one night during a long distance cycle trip. The room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable and well equipped. The B & B is licenced which is a real bonus. I was offered the opportunity to get a take away in town and bring it back to eat in the dining room, which was a nice touch. I couldn't quite work out what else was going on at the B & B - it seemed part garden centre and part clothes shop - there seemed to be clothes in poly bags everywhere! That apart, I was made most welcome by Martin & Janet and breakfast was good. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrolutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, even for a short period, just to up date you!! The garden centre is there as we run a small tea room in the afternoon, you need one to go with the other! The jumpers and hand bags etc. are part of Janet's (soon to be built - craft shop) these are on display to purchase. Also with luck an onsite restaurant. Big plans afoot, for the future. We hope you arrived safely at your destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Staying for 1 night for a working trip. First class all round made to feel very welcome !! Will deff go back with the family as they would love it there!!! And great location for a holiday . Food was excellent on quick

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnuslinklater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Although a brief visit due to work it was a pleasure having you stay, glad you enjoyed the area as it is beautiful up here and you are welcome to bring the family at any time, you can cook breakfast for us next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Morven House during a fishing trip to Alness. Martin and Janet were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We were able to use their garage to store our fishing rods, they made us packed lunches and filled our flasks, and stored our fish in their freezer! The breakfast was fantastic, many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJohn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay, and a good couple of laughs had by all with tails of the one that got away, especially when you chase them into the river!!!! We look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed one night with the family. We had two rooms on the first floor both overlooking a well kept garden set back from the main road and with plenty of parking space.
The breakfast room and lounge downstairs are beautifully decorated and the breakfasts were full Scottish and just what you need to set you up for a day in the Highlands.
The bedrooms we had are big and airy and have en suite facilities. The beds were very comfortable and we all had a very good and quiet nights sleep.
The couple who run the guest house are very friendly and welcoming. I would have been happy to stay longer.

Room Tip: You can request a double or twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettenmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay if only for a short visit, we aim to offer a friendly and warm welcome to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The place we had booked was closed (with no warning!), and we couldn't stay here because they were full, but Martin and Janet went out of their way to find us a place to stay, and we really appreciated it. Thank you!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ProfSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
It was a shame we could not accommodate you at that time, however if you ever need a place to stay in or around Alness, feel free to give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed with Janet and Martin for a 3day week-end. They have made such a difference to the place, as we stayed here before with previous owners. Very quiet and comfortable, with attentive hosts. I am sure we will not go any farther than the Morven when we have to be in Alness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was a great pleasure having you stay with us, and hopefully you will visit again in the future to check on progress, the CHEESE was lovely :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alness
2.8 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
14.2 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kiltearn House
Kiltearn House
#1 of 2 in Evanton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tuckers Inn
Tuckers Inn
#3 of 5 in Invergordon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morven House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morven House Guest House

Property: Morven House Guest House
Address: 70 Novar Road, Alness IV17 0RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Alness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin and Janet run the Guest House and offers everyone a warm Highland welcome. Alness is in the North of Scotland, this little known tourist destination, is located just 20 minutes' drive from Inverness, it offers everything that helps to make it the ideal place to explore and discover what the Scottish North Highlands have to offer. Morven House Guest House is situated on the main road into Alness, approached by its own private sweeping driveway, and also boasts a self catering cottage for those who wish more privacy or independence. During the summer months it abound with flora, as does the town of Alness which seeks annually to win the Britain in Bloom competition. We now have a guest lounge and a Bar for those of you that may wish to relax, have a glass of wine in front of a nice roaring fire (in winter) and ocasionally in summer plan your trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morven House Guest House Alness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing