We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here recently and really enjoyed the food.We dined in the hotel in the evenings although we had previously planned on going out. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was just a short walk over to the beautiful beach which makes it easy to go for a walk at any time.

Room Tip: A sea view is good.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

I'm so glad you enjoyed your food while staying with us. Our restaurant, The Bandstand, is open to non-residents and is growing in popularity as an independant restaurant. (I'm grateful to any hotel guests for feedback posted on our other Trip Adviser restaurant site "The Bandstand Restaurant" - much appreciated and helps other "non-residents" hear about the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice hotel, good pub food and good beer- Orkney, Cairngorm etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely, although I didn't sample the cooked option it certainly looked ample!

I will definitely stay again but in a room unaffected by the noise- don't underestimate how severe it is.

Room Tip: Cautionary note. The website does say so I won't go on about it, but please do not underestima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_weegie_burd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. I do endorse your comments about the noise from rooms located above the bar at the weekends. We do explain this on our website as we don't want anyone to have a disturbed night. We do have plenty rooms which are not affected by noise at all, so if you are not planning on joining in the fun in the bar - do phone us and we'll be happy to provide a quieter room if one is available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Just a one night stay at this wee hotel. Very nice location - and decent room. Nice and clean - not the Ritz - but it doesn't pretend to be. What was notable here was the friendliness and attention of the staff. A nice welcome - and special arrangements for an early (6.00am) breakfast without a problem. You will have a nice stay here. Unfortunately I wasn't able to sample the vast selection of real ales - but maybe a return in the future just to remedy this!?

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

I'm glad your visit was a good one. If you would like an opportunity to sample the ales, why not book a return visit during our annual ale festival? It is the largest independant ale festival in Scotland. Next year it takes place 19 March to 7 April. Rooms book up quickly - so do get in touch if you would like to return during this time. Lots of info about our ale festival on our website nearer the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Braeval on a Saturday night while in Nairn for a wedding nearby. We had a lovely spacious room overlooking the park to the sea. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was delicious and the all the staff were very friendly.
At £80 it was a bit more than we wanted to pay, but everything was so nice it was totally worth the money.
The Braeval is a real ale pub and the bar looked very welcoming although we didn't have the opportunity to try it. The hotel is just a stone's throw from the beach and the seafront walkway.
It was a beautiful clear morning on the Sunday and the sunrise from the room was stunning.

Room Tip: Room at the front will let you appreciate the amazing view over the Moray Firth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belindascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Braeval Hotel whilst on our recent charity motorcycle ride around Britain, The accommodation was first class, as was the Dining in the restaurant with an extensive menu.
Being Real ale lovers we really enjoyed ourselves in the well stocked Bar! even tried some of the multitude of whiskeys on offer.
Thank you for your warm welcome and attentive service, I would strongly reccomend this Hotel to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: there are some rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 267davidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I enjoyed a two night stay in the hotel when they had a mini beer festival. The hotel was busy and quite noisy, The bar food was excellent value on the first night whilst the fine dining experience in the Bandstand Restaurant was exceptional. The host and hostess and their staff worked hard to keep everyone happy and managed to do so. The hotel clientelle was a good mix from children to old age pensioners, and nobody was disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was typically Scottish and of the highest quality. I thoroughly enjoyed the range of ales and also the whisky selection which hovered around the 75 choice mark. However, the lasting impression was of the great customer service afforded to all in this small hotel. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Higher floors have no noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oboab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit so much. The hotel was certainly livlier than normal due to the beer festival, but with a lovely crowd of friendly people. I hope you return to see us for our next beer festival in April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great little hotel, though if you think of I more in terms of Guest house, rather than international style hotel, your expectations will be right. Staff were very friendly, Breakfast isn't as varied as a bigger property would be but the quality was perfect (and I left stuffed every day!). We had two dinners in the restaurant, both great, though I preferred the seafood to meat courses. Bar lively and friendly. Spent three nights and felt very relaxed during th whole stay. Bed/mattress was firm without being hard and the bed linen were perfect, fresh and good quality. Perfect location in Nairn... Watching the ever changing weather over the beach, less than 5 mins walk to shops and 10 mins to train station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GumbieBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We are a family run hotel and creating a friendly, relaxed atmophere is exactly what my husband, my staff and I try to achieve. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for letting us know about your experience and I hope to see you back at the Braeval in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: $99 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing