We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Run Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braeval Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a wedding we were attending in Nairn.
Great welcome when we arrived, we received an wee tour of the hotel and then shown our seaview room.
After staying the night before in a country club for another wedding the Braeval felt not 'as nice' but after losing the feeling of grandeur of the previous night we were more than happy. The room was fine with a nice sea view, comfy bed and great wee en suite.
I see someone has complained about the smell of food coming up from the kitchen, we go a bit of that but simply closed the window. Not a big deal, ok the room wasn't massive but how big a room do you need??? Also folk moaning about parking, it is on street parking. We stayed Saturday and Sunday and we had no problem parking so don't let it put you off.
Now to the bar.... what can I say?? Ale (amazing selection), whiskey (even more amazing selection). Great atmosphere, very friendly and a favourite with locals.
The restaurant - great menu, great food and a fantastic wine selection. Oh and probably the best mussels I've eaten. Also a favourite with locals.
The full cooked breakfast was also very nice and staff very attentive.

I'd definately stay here again and if you're a member of CAMRA you get 10% off your final bill. Thank god for Real Ale!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defendertd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    140
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
51
145
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I was touring the Highlands with my family and needed a spot for the night. We picked Nairn because of the location and the Braeval because of the seaview. I hit the jackpot. The rooms were great, large and very very comfortable. The ocean view spectacular. The best was the excellent friendly owners and staff who made us extra welcome.

The bar is rated as the best bar in the area and is packed in the early evening.

The food at the Bandstand was easily the best I had in 9 days in Scotland, including some highly rated Edinburgh restaurants which were merely mediocre by comparison.

I wish I could have stayed for much, much longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfromlenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Paid £85 for a Seaview Room. Smallest room I have ever stayed in. Windows were filthy, shower tray mouldy and constant smell of fried food permeating the room, even with the window closed, from an extractor fan outside the window. Last thing you want first thing in the morning ! No extractor fan in tiny shower room and light not working over wash hand basin. No one at reception on check in. Rang the bell twice and then had to go and seek help from someone in the bar area. Would never visit the Braeval again.

Room Tip: Doubt it's possible !"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DistyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
It is regretable that we did not meet the standards expected. I wish the guest had spoken to us and allowed us to investigate and resolve any issues at the time. The guest was allocated to this particular room, because a quiet room was requested and this is the quietest sea view, though not the largest. I have never had a complaint about the size of this room or about cooking smells in the room? We are a three star pub-hotel and our Reception is not permanently manned. We have a notice at Reception which directs guests to the adjacent Lounge Bar for assstance when the Reception is not manned. All our staff, who are identifiable by their uniforms, are trained to check in guests and able to give any assistance required. Giests normally find this quite acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P&K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the staff, particularly the restaurant staff, could not have been better, very courteous, polite, mannerly and cheerful. They really did the owners proud. Accommodation was first class. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodworkerpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We're glad you had a lovely visit. This made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesterhire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Room not properly serviced before we checked in, tea pot had used tea and tea bag in it and the bathroom had a tooth brushing/mouth washing disposable beaker with someone elses minty spit drooled and dried all over it, most off putting and the toilet roll holder fell apart when first touched. i took it apart and put it back together and it was fine after that, but I'd gone on holiday to get away from DIY'ing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpybumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
I am equally dissapointed and sorry to learn about the oversight in the preparation of this guest's room. We are in the process of training new housekeeping staff for the summer season and I routinely check their work to ensure standards are maintained. However obviously the teapot and glass were overlooked. None of our toilet roll holders appear to be faulty however. Some holders have a spring mechanism to allow refilling and so I believe this is normal functioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just home from a short break at the Braeval. This is a very clean and well maintained hotel with friendly and welcoming staff. Food in the restaurant very good; wide range to choose from and reasonably priced too. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is a small family run affair. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast first class, whilst breakfast is normally served from eight the owners prepared an earlier breakfast for myself and two others to fit in with our business commitments. The bar has a fine selection of local real ales and the hotel hosts an annual beer festival which should be definitely worth a visit.The owners were very welcoming and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exileiny0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.9 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Property: Braeval Hotel
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing