We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming small and friendly hotel”
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Welcoming small and friendly hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just home from a short break at the Braeval. This is a very clean and well maintained hotel with friendly and welcoming staff. Food in the restaurant very good; wide range to choose from and reasonably priced too. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    148
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
52
150
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is a small family run affair. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast first class, whilst breakfast is normally served from eight the owners prepared an earlier breakfast for myself and two others to fit in with our business commitments. The bar has a fine selection of local real ales and the hotel hosts an annual beer festival which should be definitely worth a visit.The owners were very welcoming and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exileiny0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The people are friendly though sometimes it takes a minute to find someone to help as they are running a restaurant and bar also. The room was up a long flight of stairs, so I left most of my stuff in the car and just brought in a small overnight bag. The room was clean with a nice view of the sea. I had to park on the street and I could see how if you got there late it you would have to park down the block in the free lot, but it would be a couple block walk back to the hotel. The location, room and breakfast were all good. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Most of our rooms are located on the first floor and guests are required to climb a staircase of 12 steps. There are two rooms located on the second floor (a further 12 steps). Any guest who is concerned about being located on the second floor should contact us to request an alternative room, if available.

Regarding parking, in addition to the free on-street parking outside the hotel, there is a large free open air car park at the rear of the hotel approx. 200 yards from the rear door of the hotel.

(There are four other free car parks in Nairn all within a couple of blocks of the hotel, so I can only assume it is one of these that the guests are referring to).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great hotel. Clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, good food. Stay in feb 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCC186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed two nights. (Single) Room adequate but bathroom tiny and managed - just. main gripe was I was informed the bar stayed open until 12.30am but I was immediately over it and consequently the noise from below though muffled was still irritating.
A good place for 'real ale' enthusiasts and good value for money - apart from the above.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, check location of room in relation to the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygoluckyNairn, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
I'm sorry to hear this guest was affected by noise. However, we state clearly in all our written materials and every website descriptions that "Single rooms are located above the bar and are affected by noise". It also states that the single rooms are small. When guests make direct telephone booking enquiries, we explain about the noise issue and tell them what time the bar closes. This is because we do not want any guest to have a disturbed night. Where possible we provide a quiet Double Room for single occupancy. We always recommend customers not to stay with us if they are concerned about noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed two nights with my wife and enjoyed excellent hospitality and fine food, well stocked bar and good service, even the mattress was changed when we mentioned it was not 100%, so no complaints for what we paid for two nights.

Only niggle might be the bathroom could be a little bigger in the room we had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a comfortable room with sea view. The staff were friendly especially in the well run atmospheric restaurant, serving good food. There was a good choice of well kept ales served by well informed bar staff.We liked the location of the Hotel, being quietly situated near the old Fishertown and only 2 minutes from the beach. Excellent value!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Property: Braeval Hotel
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing