We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We loved our two-night stay at the Newton Hotel. We thought the food and ambience exceptional. The hotel is set in wooded grounds, which provide a peaceful hideaway as well as a beautiful backdrop. The chef at the Chaplin Restaurant is exceptional and we had superb food for both our nights there. The staff at reception, and the serving staff at breakfast and the evening meal, were always courteous, friendly and professional, and were part of what made this, our first stay, so pleasant. The hotel is situated to the west of the town of Nairn and the approach road is down a very narrow, wooded lane. The hotel offered a special winter weekend rate for this weekend, which made our dinner, bed and breakfast rate exceptionally good value. The design of the lounge and dining areas on the ground floor is very tasteful, blending the antique with the modern to great effect. Our bedroom was toasty warm, despite the chill February winds, and it had just had a fresh coat of paint. Our bedroom, and I suspect others too, could do with a design upgrade to match the beautiful decor on the ground floor. This was a wonderful retreat, providing superb food, service and comfort.

Room Tip: Access to some of the rooms involve stairs and several fire doors, which could be tricky for someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    294
    116
    60
    29
See reviews for
142
472
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at the Newton and a very pleasant experience. The hotel is comfortable and clean, bedroom large with a good size bathroom with separate bath and shower. The staff are very nice and willing to help. Breakfast was very good but restaurant a wee bit disappointing - just not exciting food. However I'd certainly go back for a January deal which was excellent value for money. I must agree with some other reviewers and say that the music should be reconsidered by the hotel manager. Other guests were also commenting on the choice at breakfast (It's raining men!), and I asked that the bagpipe music be switched off in the lounge after dinner (not the right ambiance after a meal and a glass of wine), and thankfully it was. Still, you've got to laugh!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here for the three days over New Year, 30, 31 & 1st. The hotel is very well hidden amongst the houses but it has it's own large grounds which leads to the sea & harbour after a 10-15min steady walk, walking passed the two lovely highland cows.
The three day package is as it says on the leaflet but a couple of observations I would like to mention. Upon arrival when we were supposed to have a hot welcome drink then perhaps the staff ought to know that is what the guests are allowed and that they are made aware of what the package deal consists of. It was a quite annoying that when we ordered the hot drink (tea) and explained that we were on the New Year package that they did not know what we meant. Even when I went to the reception and confirmed that was what we were allowed to have & told to go back to the lounge bar there was no staff around to re-order and it took a good 10mins before someone did come. The other thing that perhaps the hotel will take on board is the lack of sofas/settees in the lounge especially at that time of year and the hotel was fully booked. It goes without saying that with the amount of rooms x two there would not be enough seats.
Apart from that the three days were good, food was plentiful and the staff friendly & helpful. The Scottish dancing on the first night was good, it took me back to my childhood.
Another suggestion for the hotel would be to have a live link showing the count down to midnight to a TV projection screen instead of just listening to the radio. The piper was good and the stovies tasted great.
I did like the fact that they allowed breakfast on the 1st January to be a late one so you didn't have to get up early and that checking out on the 2nd was up to 1pm. Well done for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avpe121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

planned a weekend to inverness wanted a nice hotel and got what we expected and more stayed in december just a romantic weekend with my husband we didnt expect it to be a castle receptionist laura was lovely tryed to follow signs to room found in the end bedroom outstanding came down to bar noone around but then a lady came served us drinks went down to chaplins restarant the service was excellent our waiter rob was excellent food was lovely kitchen looked a far from restarant breakfast was outstanding set us up for the day been to a few hotels but this is 1 i would be coming back the staff espically waiters were outstanding didnt catch names of some of them name tags would be good

Room Tip: excellent waiter staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's a big building, just to the West of the town centre in Nairn. I stayed there once before, almost 15 years ago and recently tried it again. It's a little larger than last time but still high quality with large rooms you can really relax in. Unfortunately, a wedding reception had pre-empted the restaurant so the food menu was being served in the bar and the breakfast was in somekind of ante-room. The dinner was good but the breakfast a little bit more like being in a college dorm than I felt comfortable with: a mass produced feel and pretty poor service. And they lost our booking so I had to have something of an argument before it was found: there were apologies once they did find it, but it was a bit a problem given that the hotel was full that day and we'd just travelled 600 miles to get here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were a party of 3 couples who booked in October for a 2 night New Year break and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms and the unstinting service from the staff. The Hogmany bash itself was a fun night with lovely 5 course meal followed by a very good live band who could turn their hand to both ceilidh music and modern, so all tastes were catered for. The dance floor was never empty, so a great atmosphere. A glass of bubbly was served prior to the bells, and just after midnight a piper brought in the year with a few traditional tunes. The band resumed for a while longer before a DJ took over until 2am.
Breakfast on 1st was substantial and tasty, with a good choice and served until 1pm!! At night a beautiful buffet dinner was on offer.
Rooms were large and comfortable, though furniture is a wee bit dated. Staff were plentiful and always cheerful and helpful.
All told this was a hugely positive experience for us all and we would not hesitate to return for more! Well done and thanks to all at the Newton.

Room Tip: We were in a room in the "newer" end and had a brilliant power shower. Friends in the olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den-1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family friends and I have just spent a leisurely three nights DBB at the Newton Hotel. The staff at the hotel were all very mannerly and efficient. Nothing was a bother to them and they were most helpful with the few queries we raised with them. The Manager himself always seemed to be on the go somewhere in the Hotel and gave a welcoming acknowledgement any time he met you. We have been in many four star hotels over the years and we all agreed it is a long time since we had such efficient and pleasant service. The food served in the Chaplain Restaurant each evening was a 'look forward to experience' and the breakfast served in the dining room first class. Keep up the good work, we will be back.
6th January 2013

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
398 reviews
21.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Property: Newton Muthu Hotel
Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing