We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muthu Newton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braeval Hotel(Nairn)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Brae(Nairn)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$327
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
414
335
127
63
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
335
127
63
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighland cowscharlie chaplincream teatour groupexecutive roomlovely groundsbeautiful hotelunderfloor heatingwedding partyan upgradeloved this hotelbar menuhuge beda bit tireddining roomevening mealmain course
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 974 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I visited from the US in the summer of 2011 and now find I'm suggesting it to a young couple planning their wedding in Scotland. The staff were helpful and polite and even found me needle and thread one day when I needed. I enjoyed walking the grounds ..even the back entryway is interesting with the ancient trees. and it's only a short walk to the beach and lovely 10:30 pm sunsets. I hope that the three Scottish Cattle are still on the grounds. Enjoyed my stay, the food and staff immensely and I'm remembering it fondly enough to recommend it highly. Phil Enzerra Mansfield OH USA

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Philip,
Your kind comments are much appreciated by the hotel and also I am sure your 'suggestion' and advice will be appreciated by the young couple planning their wedding.Pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff contributed to this.
I sorry to say that one of the Highland cattle passed away early last December from old age.
She had lived to 17 years old and the vet commented that she had looked to have had and enjoyable and stress free time in the field at The Newton Hotel.

Kind regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

found the hotel no bother and an ernest young man courteousley booked us in. The room was clean and well appointed we had the one with the heated bathroom floor , not to be missed. The meal we had later was delicious and served by a cheerful young lady who was a fund of information. I will defineately visit this establishment again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wattieTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments from your recent stay at The Newton Hotel. It was pleasing to note the room was to your satisfaction and you had a delicious meal. Glad to read the 'cheerful young lady' was able to provide you with useful information for your stay. I look forward to welcoming you both back to The Newton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We only stayed one night but we weren't impressed. The staff were friendly but we were very disappointed the night we arrived regarding the dinner. About 40 people from a bus arrived and were all seated for a buffet at the same time. We were told it might be a good idea if we left for a while to let the large group go through and give them (staff) time to "tidy up the buffet". While that may seem logical we were not enthused about choosing from a very picked over buffet...no thank you.
Breakfast was average. The room was average and very noisy as guests around us were in and out of rooms all night...talking in the hallway, slamming doors and so on. Needless to say we didn't get a good night's sleep.
We were told they are in the process of changing names. Hope they change more than the name.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us.
By your comments, I believe you are refering to the Carved buffet served on January 1st.
Sorry that you did not stay for dinner, as you would have enjoyed a well prepared and beautifully presented selection of dishes. I feel that in trying to be helpful and for you to avoid a busy spell at the buffet table you have been given the wrong impression.
Many dishes on the buffet were replaced with new and different platters after the first group of residents had dinner, offering a tasty selection of dishes for later residents dining.
Sorry to note you found breakfast average, as there is many comments complimenting the choices available for breakfast.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a business trip with evening meal laid on.

The property is lovely, full of great features. Rooms very spacious but a full length mirror would be good. Bathrooms clean and functional. Awesome shower!

My only criticism was the lack of imagination in the food generally. To serve tomato risotto for evening meal only veg option and the same again at lunch next day isn't good.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DH_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at The Newton Hotel.
Not sure what room you were in, as regards the full length mirror but many rooms have these on the inside of the bedroom wardrobe.
I have passed your comments on to the chef regarding the variety of food, and I totally agree with your point in respect of a little more thought and imagination on the menu choices.
This will be addressed and you will see the improvement on your next visit.

Regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a night in December when Flybe put us up when the airport Closed.....bus full of folk arrived all at once and it was very organised....Got our rooms and asked to come back to get the menu choice for Dinner, Room was Fantastic, Large, Warm, Super Bathroom with Bath and Walk in Shower, Very comfy beds....went down and got menus and ate in the Bistro as the Lounge Bar was already full, Menu limited 3 choices for starters, mains and puds...but they were not expecting bus loads of people and coped admirably, obviously the chef made up ths menu for speed, whats was at hand etc.....as we were all last minute bookings...The portions were tiny, but again if they are getting a set amount per head, or indeed only had limited supplies, this might be why it was the case, it was all very tasty, fresh and well presented....
Breakfast was lovely, Cereals, juices, fruit, pastries etc....and a lovely hot choice cooked to order, dont understand the Little Chef type breakfast menu, a bit cheap and cheerful, and this breakfast service/chocie etc is anything but...
Staff were all Local, All Lovely...In fact enjoyed my stay so much would consider staying here next time....Lovely Grounds...Lovely Building....Showing a bit wear and tear in places

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan N, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your enforced stay over at The Newton Hotel.
Pleased to note that you many aspects of the hotel to your liking and comfort and overall you enjoyed your stay.
The demands on the hotel can be very challenging, when with very short notice you have a large group coming over for dinner and accommodation. The menus on these occasions are designed for larger groups, but it pleasing to note you found it 'very tasty,fresh and well presented...'
Glad to note you enjoyed your breakfast and the choices available.
Do hope you are able to stay with us in the future, and hope it is under more relaxed circumstances.

Kind regards

Alan D Neilson
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews