We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Scottish Country House Hotel”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2012

From when you drive up the long driveway, you are amazed by the Stately Home you are about to stay in. The surrounding grounds and view are great too. Inside it is a traditional Scottish Country House Hotel, steeped in history. My room was pleasant and comfortable.
Sadly I didn't dine in the Hotel, as I went to visit friends, but I did have a wee dram of Whisky in the Bar on my return, and had a warm welcome from David, the Scottish Barman.
Breakfast the next day was fine, and then I departed. A memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarnianVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 921 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We regularly attend the Newton for conferences but this was the first time we have ever stayed as a couple. This lovely old house has got so much character and is in such a lovely setting yet has huge rooms that have a modern and practical feel. The internal glass doors are a nice touch and give all the roroms an "apartment" feel and I am sure this is the only hotel I have visited that had a proper bath AND a shower in the room. The bed was huge as well and all linen and bedding was a high standard with ample pillows etc comfortable chairs and everything in the room you would need.
We ate dinner in Chaplins restaurant and it was very good as was the freshly cooked breakfast. This is definetly one we will be going back to.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruaridh_Ormiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Room 105 is not great, beds are narrow and pillows grim. Attended a function and dinner was disgusting. Breakfast distictly average - all but the sausage was cold in the cooked breakfast. Having said that: The staff are really nice!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Room 105 is one of our standard twin-bedded rooms with 2 normal size single beds. The pillows are a mix of regular foam and feather pillows with one of each on each bed. We have not experienced any previous adverse comment regarding this room, however I understand that each of our guests has the right to comment as they see fit. Being as unhappy as this guest appears to have been with this room, I would have assumed that they may have made comment at the time at which point I am sure our reception would have been happy to upgrade the guest to one of our executive rooms for a small premium. I understand that the function to which this guest refers was one which was attended by over 200 people. We have had nothing but positive feedback from the organisers of the event and have no recorded feedback of any negative comment from the evening itself. With regard to breakfast, our style of service provides for all cooked breakfasts to be served directly from the kitchen. If the guest has been served a cold cooked breakfast as suggested, I am sure that our breakfast servers would have been more than happy to arrange a replacement should that have been requested. However, we have no adverse comment recorded from that morning’s service. I was delighted to read the positive comment regarding the staff as we pride ourselves in providing a warm welcome and friendly service to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Myself and three friends were there for a girly weekend last weekend. Excellent service. Everyone couldnt be any more helpful than they were. That was absolutely everyone that we dealt with. The bed was very comfortable although the room was hot so we opened the windows the next night. Food excellent, couldnt fault the service or the excellent breakfast we had both mornings. Thanks very much to everyone for our much needed very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights on the 27th and 28th January whilst attending a family celebration. The staff at the Newton hotel are all superb! Every member of staff in all areas were so polite and very well trained. The bedroom 116 was perfectly comfortable with a lovely outlook. We ate an inclusive dinner on the first evening in the hotel unfortunately they have chosen to go down the "Supplement" route on the -Table-D'Hote evening menu where 75% of the dishes carried a supplement. I would suggest an a la carte menu with perhaps an evening meal allowance towards it?
The grounds of the hotel are beautifull and the building impressive. We ate out on the Saturday at the Aurore hotel in Nairn which has an Italian restaurant. The Italian owner kindly opened early for us and we enjoyed a lovely meal with excellant service definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was our second visit and this time we took our 13 year old daughter for a 2 night day. We had booked 2 rooms and were informed when we checked in that we had been upgraded to superior rooms - must be a very quiet time of the year! Rooms were very spacious and had all usual extras. Not all the tv channels worked - disappointing for a teenager! But the hotel did offer free wi-fi - bonus. Had booked a 2 night package of dinner, bed and breakfast. Breakfasts were excellent with full Scottish prepared to order at no extra charge. Watch out for the supplements in the Chaplin restaurant for dinner! Daughter will usually eat anything but there wasn't 2 much 4 her tastes and there were supplements of up to £7 for some items. On the 2nd night we were given a second menu which seemed to be the bar menu - it had a better choice for daughter but again surcharges. £32 were added to our bill - 4 soft drinks, 2 small wines and the rest food supplements. Not really impressed with that - did query bill but told that it was correct.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeeblondeElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel set in gorgeous grounds and near to a great beach. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and clean and food great. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac8984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
382 reviews
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
689 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: $55 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing