We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Albert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Albert Inn to your Saves list
The Albert Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Street, Nairn IV12 4HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

a bit on the shabby side.Rooms and hallways needs a bit TLC. everything seems to be have been done as DIY and not finished off neatly. doors don't close properly, paint splashes on doors and on woodwork. Saying that, the bed was comfy and it was clean. The food was very good indeed. We had a bar supper and couldn't fault it at all and the breakfast was well cooked, All in all it is a good place for a one night stay but wouldn't recommend it for any longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    14
    16
    18
See reviews for
12
42
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and had a good time. Staff genuinely friendly and helpful, nothing was never too much for them. The hotel is very reasonably priced and you get what you pay for, having read a lot of reviews I don't understand so many negatives, if you are an upmarket client, then go pay more money for a luxurious hotel! This said, the room was nice with TV, ensuite shower and toilet. Bed was very comfortable. The location is ideal walking distance, 10 minutes to the train station, 5 minutes to the high street and about 10 minutes to the beach. Finally the pub itself: having spent 3 evenings, saw a mixture of ages, friendly locals, good variety of beers and spirits at normal prices. I must also highly compliment the chefs for food, very good value, choice and tasted fantastic. Try the BFG Burger (16 oz) if you are really hungry, it will fill you up with quality meat! The breakfasts as well was very good. If like me you only want a nice bed to sleep in and be out all day and most of the evening you will enjoy it. If you will spend most of the time in the room (get a life!) probably try a 5 star hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenixx82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is run down,room was dirty,light bulbs missing,clothes belonging to
someone else in wardrobe.Carpet dirty.Breakfast was good! Staff were friendly.
If someone spent some money upgrading this place it could be a nice little hotel.A little
TLC,could go a long way.Musty smells are not a good sign.Shower? was a dribble.Was
glad for a bath when I got home.

Room Tip: Another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertInnManager, Owner at The Albert Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I must apologise as it seems we have fallen short of your expectations, I have looked into the origins of the odour and I have put steps in place to hopefully remove it. We are redecorating all the bedrooms and to date there is only one room that has not been redecorated, which unfortunately it would seem was your room! From reading various comments in the past we have made it a priority to ensure that the rooms are clean, I am sorry you found your room not to be clean. If you had spoken to myself or any of the staff during your visit we would have been happy to of helped in anyway necessary to have made your stay better.
The shower pressure is something we hope to have addressed at the start of the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairn hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thought this was a great place to stay for the money, good location on the main road and next to the min street with all the shops etc good food, nice room with Plasma TV coffee and stuff and also had en suite toilets and all the staff were friendly, will be staying there if in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

As the saying goes - it is what it is - and is pretty one dimensional. Ideal for a group of male golfers who won't spend long in the rooms and are happy with hot water, a shower of sorts and a clean bed. The welcome is friendly, the breakfast is good and it's decent value for money but it's easy to see how some travellers would be disappointed here.
As for us - next time in Nairn, we'll be back at the Albert - suits us perfectly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Bit of a musty smell when I walked in and ber a bit dark and dingy. Verhy narrow staircase and awkward doorways from bar to stairs. Noticeable funny smell on entering room and presence of at least half a dozen flies. The room made me feel a bit "Grubby" and not comfortable but after 10 hours driving I needed a good sleep. The bed was clean and comfortable but that was the only good thing going for it. The rest of the room was shabby at least and grubby and very warn. I didn't even bother using the shower. The breakfast was ok and was served by a very friendly chap. If it hadn't been for the fact that I was very tired , at the end of a long day, I wouldn't have stayed and would have sought out another place. Overall not a good experience and not one I'll repeat in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

First of all I must say the room was only £40 so I guess you get what you pay for. But! You would still expect it to be clean and odour free. The first thing you notice is the reception is the bar which can only be described as an old mans pub. Once you go upstairs (the tightest stairway in Scotland) you are greeted with your room. The smell of cooking fat greets you as you enter, which instantly made me feel sick. I opened a small cupboard to discover the toilet. What a shock to discover a new stronger smell. Sewage!!!! The 10 airfresheners had their work cutout. I couldn't make it down for breakfast as the smell I endured during the night had completely put me off food. I would suggest maybe spending an extra £20 and stay somewhere else in Nairn unless you want to leave smelling like you've slept outside a chip shop.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badlacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.9 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albert Inn

Property: The Albert Inn
Address: Albert Street, Nairn IV12 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Albert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Albert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albert Hotel Nairn
The Albert Inn Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing