We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel & fantastic food”
Review of Sunny Brae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Brae
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed Friday 13 September as we were competing in the Coast to Coast Event (Nairn to Fort William). The hotel was spotless and fantastic. The owners/staff were extremely helpful and relaxed about leaving our cars til the Sunday. They even got up to provide breakfast at 0500h for the seven of us competing. By the by, they are perfectly located 30 yards from the start of the race and about 100 yards from the race HQ - but I accept that is only a plus for a minority of their visitors!

Dinner was very very good - really high quality. Can't say enough.

Thank you very much indeed. Tempted to come back to do the race next year if only to stay at Sunny Brae.

Room Tip: They are all good but I guess a sea view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you had a great time at the Coast to Coast. We would like to see you again at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here while visiting Nairn.

This little guest house is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The owners obviously take great pride in sharing their home with guests.
We were welcomed and shown to our room on the first floor. We had paid extra for a sea view and this was well worth it. The room had all we needed and we appreciated all the thoughtful, extra touches, especially the dressing gowns and the bottled water. The bathroom was small but had a good shower.

There were 2 armchairs in front of the window and this made a relaxing place to sit after our journey. Sunny Brae has a lounge downstairs but we preferred the privacy of our room.

We ate in the restaurant one evening - this is situated in a conservatory at the back of the house - and the food was ok, but lacked seasoning.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast and the service was pleasant and friendly.

The best things about Sunny Brae are the location - facing the Moray Firth across the cricket ground and the bandstand - the cleanliness and the friendly hosts.
It's a little old-fashioned and would probably suit elderly guests more than younger visitors.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view (and then keep your fingers crossed for the weather!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely detailed review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae.

We are sorry to hear that you feel the food 'lacked seasoning'. Given the opportunity we could have done something about that.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Probably the nicest small hotel we have stayed in. Attention to detail was superb. Spotlessly clean ,very comfortable bed, superb food very well presented. Position just over road from beach , and such a ice promenade to walk on would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea, but any would be ok as a delightful lounge to sit in overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joybelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for the compliments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae.

We would like to welcome you back as our guests at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Sunny Brae. The hotel is perfectly positioned facing the beach in Nairn. Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, with a kettle, tea/coffee, milk sugar and biscuits replenished daily. We were offered a hot drink when we arrived and we also booked an evening meal for our first night. This was super, the service was exceptional and the selection of wines, spirits and soft drinks was better than many larger establishments. Breakfast was also excellent, with a vast choice of cold items including fresh raspberries and blackberries, as well as a good selection of hot meals. All in all an excellent weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for the amazing review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae. Should you be in the area, please come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at Sunnybrae ,,,,, and it was FANTASTIC . From the warm welcome and coffee and shortbread we were given on arrival everything was perfection . Beautiful large room overlooking the seafront , comfy beds , fantastic food and wonderful staff . There was nothing I could find on the negative side . Everything has been well thought out by the owners with nothing being too much bother for the staff . Cant wait to return here .

Room Tip: Ask for seaview ..... beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyann63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments. We are truly delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you again at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in September. Excellent hotel. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Bedroom very clean and comfortable. We had dinner on both evenings, food and service excellent. Very good breakfast choice,lovely strawberries and raspberries. All together a lovely stay and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Sunny Brae.

The berries we get from a local farm and they are fantastic. We are already looking forward to next year's crop.

We would love to have you as our guests at Sunny Brae again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Two of us stayed here for 2 nights the first weekend of September. We were welcomed by John and shown to our twin room on the ground floor overlooking the sea. The room was cosy and comfortable with large fluffy towels and bathrobes.

We had opted to eat in the hotel restaurant on both nights and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and a good range of wine was on offer, some very reasonably priced.

The owners are to be congratulated. We will recommend this hotel to friends and hope to return.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_A55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae.

We look forward to welcoming you again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae

Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: $123 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae is a family run bed and breakfast. We have eight bedrooms and are centrally located with wonderful views of the Moray Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Brae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing